CLOSED

chiangeg
post Jul 30 2012, 10:05 PM

192 posts

Hey Guys,

Got a question regarding Dell U2312HM and Dell U2412M, about the ratio..

Wanted to get Dell U2412M because of 1inch bigger and more height + extra 120 pixel, but my math sucks and don't know whether I will lose the width or not.

Which one correct?

Edit:Dell U2312HM is 23inch and Dell U2412M is 24inch

This post has been edited by chiangeg: Jul 30 2012, 10:27 PM
chiangeg
post Jul 30 2012, 10:38 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(cybersans @ Jul 30 2012, 11:17 PM)
U2412M:
Preset Display Area (H x V)
20.3 inches (518.4 mm) x 12.7 inches (324.0 mm)
Pixel Pitch: 0.27 mm

U2312HM:
Preset Display Area ( H x V): 20.04 inches (509.2 mm) x 11.28 inches (286.4mm)
Pixel Pitch: 0.265mm

do the math wink.gif
U2412M 20.30 inches (518.4 mm) x 12.70 inches (324.0 mm)
U2312HM 20.04 inches (509.2 mm) x 11.28 inches (286.4mm)

So, I don't lose any width biggrin.gif? but keep hearing people said in game can lose "Field of Vision" , but since both width almost same size and same width resolution and its 16:* too...so why I can lose vision?

QUOTE(Ips3Ds @ Jul 30 2012, 11:23 PM)
right pic korek
This is why I need to ask the sifu here, I got many answer from different people sad.gif ... some said both same width but with better height and some said the right picture correct.

chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 12:31 PM

192 posts

Ok thanks for the confirmation biggrin.gif

I read from other place, if 24inch 16:9 vs 24inch 16:10 will lose about 11% Field of Vision, but now is 23inch 16:9 vs 24inch 16:10 ...so it will be even less than 11% FOV.

Btw, already paid full amount Rm879 for Dell U2412M rclxm9.gif ..stock will arrive tomorrow and I go pick up... also got FOC Razer Arctosa with 1 year warranty ... but I probably sell it away at Rm130-140 to relieve my wallet a bit.
chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 02:37 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 1 2012, 02:58 PM)
Those comparison is actually mis-information, the numbers is not accurate since 24" 16:9 is also 1920x1080p, which means it's a comparison between 1080p vs 1200p.
I won't take losing that little pixels as losing a game in FOV, serious FOV would take something like AMD Eyefinity or nVidia Surround.
Some hardcore gamers even use CRT... hey.. that's 4:3 or 5:4, you lose even more FOV???!!  doh.gif  sweat.gif
The only concern now not many game would support native 1920x1200 ohmy.gif ... many games would either run as 1920x1080 and stretched to 1920x1200 or black bars on top/bottom or black bars on left/right.

I already have a quite good 23inch 1080P TN panel LCD, but I specifically bought Dell U2412M because I want to get better graphic in Guild Wars 2, I want more visual enhance excitement biggrin.gif (as my current 23inch have mediocre contrast) .... but ArenaNet told me GW2 currently does not natively support 1920x1200...I would get stretched image or black bars in the game. I wanted Dell U2312HM at first but no stock, and I impatient and bought Dell U2412M instead, hope no major drawback for me.
chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 05:18 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Aug 1 2012, 05:59 PM)
That's weird for games that does not support 1200p and it can support 1080p, maybe I haven tried 1200p monitor yet (darn my wallet, come on... ).
But I'm sure most modern games able to support any resolution, just 1080p has become entertainment industries standard due to Full HD movies standard, this is especially the TVs, we're all just following the TREND. whistling.gif
Precisely because of 1080P has became a standard in entertainment industries, some game developers also exclude native support for 1920x1200 in their resolution implementation (to cut cost and save time?), thus have to play games in either stretched or black bars for those without native support.

For example Guild Wars 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlUBqU4cZAE

"Thank you for contacting NCsoft Technical Support.

At this time the Guild Wars 2 client does not have the option to set your resolution to 1920 x1200 and so if you try to play with your native resolution you may encounter the black bars or stretched video on your screen as seen in the video you provided. At this time we do not have any information on if and when this resolution will be supported.

Please let us know if you have any additional questions in regards to this issue.

Regards,
Ashe
NCsoft Technical Support"

This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 1 2012, 05:21 PM
chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 05:56 PM

192 posts

QUOTE(Livstar @ Aug 1 2012, 06:39 PM)
Where do you get the deal... drool.gif
As far as I know these 2 people are giving similar price + FOC Razer Arctosa keyboard

Either

CyntrixTech
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2282020&hl=

Or

Hikari85
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1572520
chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 07:33 PM

192 posts

Screen on Galaxy S1 , S2 and S3 is not LCD biggrin.gif ..its Super AMOLED.

and Super Amoled is VERY EXPENSIVE to produce, few years ago 24-30inch OLED screen cost almost RM100000 and only few produced.

But recently the OLED technology cheaper already, LG got produce TV using OLED. No more ghosting or viewing angle problem anymore smile.gif.

Btw my 2 years old HP 2309M 23inch can produce very vivid color, but have poor contrast on dark area. I give it 9/10 for watching Korean drama thumbup.gif

QUOTE(law1777 @ Aug 1 2012, 08:26 PM)
samsung has glossy led lcd ok? try search on youtube.. linustechtips got reviewed a few of them

btw i've already ordered the HP x2301 ultra thin full hd led for RM562. this mon i saw at KK HP retail shop. its so clear and smooth demoing devil may cry

Added on August 1, 2012, 7:28 pm
omg means my old 1920 x 1200 mon will have black bars playing GW2???
Yes !!! .... see the youtube video sad.gif ... even NCSoft personally confirmed it doesn't natively support for 1920x1200.. Very pity .... cry.gif

This post has been edited by chiangeg: Aug 1 2012, 07:41 PM
chiangeg
post Aug 1 2012, 08:24 PM

192 posts

But for GW2 do not support 1920x1200 ...I think I can set the game as 1920x1080 @ 16:10 ...and it will stretch the video to fill up bottom and top black bars, hero/characters will be slightly taller (120pixel only) .. not too much..I think I can live with that tongue.gif.
chiangeg
post Aug 4 2012, 12:56 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(mrkenn @ Aug 3 2012, 06:28 PM)
Hi guys. Should i choose DELL 21.5" ST2220L(Full HD) or DELL 23" ST2320L (Full HD)?

Hmm.
House or office? If at house I sure get bigger one...entertainment more fun.

0.0464sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:24 PM