Tony says sorry on TV
The fans had waited almost 15 years for an apology from the former Premier League star, and this week, ex-West Ham and Selangor striker Tony Cottee finally laid to rest the controversy that had been brewing since he became the Malaysian League’s biggest ever signing in 1996.
In his recent interview on Astro SuperSport’s Bola@mamak, Cottee addressed many of the controversial remarks that followed him during his football career in Malaysia.
" The last thing I am is a prima-donna but I was just used to a higher standard. When you go to another country and when you question the other guys, that is perhaps why I was pictured the wrong way. Did I enjoy the football? No. Did I enjoy being in Malaysia ? Yes, ” he remembers. “ Different culture…. I had a great time. My twin boys were conceived here. So I will always have great affection for Malaysia ”, said Cottee.
Cottee stunned the sporting world when he went from the Premier League to Selangor in October 1996. Aged 31 at the time, he had scored 182 top-flight league goals over 14 seasons with the Hammers and Everton.
When he returned from Asia in the summer of 1997, Cottee was signed by Martin O’Neill at Leicester City, linking up with Emile Heskey. He got his first taste of the European stage in the UEFA Cup and finally won a major English trophy when Leicester lifted the 2000 League Cup. Eighty-five league games for the Foxes yielded 27 goals, including the winner against Manchester United at Old Trafford in 1998.
Sources : http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=10150406344331111
http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=10150840163715245
http://rizalhashim.blogspot.com/2011/10/to...orry-on-tv.html
░▒▓▒▓▒ M A L ★ Y S I A ▒▓▒▓▒, --- CLOSED ---
Oct 5 2011, 11:55 AM
0.0163sec