QUOTE(tothebest @ Oct 3 2011, 07:35 PM)
Buying Gold As Investment V3 - $1950?, Gold rush brings windfalls and warnings
Oct 3 2011, 08:10 PM
4,720 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Oct 5 2011, 10:58 AM
Oct 5 2011, 05:27 PM
already go below 1600...now is 159x....
interesting.... |
Oct 10 2011, 10:56 PM
At this moment, gold up a bit but currency drop... End of the day, not really gain...
Unless price of gold jump more than currency drop... Otherwise... It is the same to me... QUOTE(buysell @ Oct 10 2011, 05:05 PM) |
Oct 11 2011, 01:01 PM
Oct 21 2011, 12:36 PM
No such thing as long term investors who can afford to wait xx years... No one can predict when you will need the money..
I am not cursing anyone but who knows something bad happen and you need money? Maybe the only real truth i personally know is no one has a crystal ball and no one(at least normal working class ppl like me) can predict what will happen... If long term guarantee can get rich also i sure will participate.. Those of you invest 2002 maybe can earn from current price... What if those invest in 1992 and wait 5 or 8 years? At those period, got really earn a lot? If you mention invest long term, are u willing to wait 10-20 years if gold price suddenly stagnant? Just some food for thought... I am not rich... So my words not really qualified as a good advice... |
Oct 21 2011, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 21 2011, 01:32 PM) To that i will point you back to So prophetjul, what's next? what is the point of your questions?a)!st and most important ?Why are you in gold? There are many many other assets classes out there. Are you here because its the flavour of the season? Ans: I'm assessing if Gold is worth the investment for capital appreciation, as what you say, besides other assets like property. The only way Gold can earn is through capital gain and not side income like getting rental, or passive yield. I'm focusing more into gold now because suddenly for the past few years, the price simply just surge up and there are big gains, yes, gold caught my attention, can this be considered as flavour of the season? Am i into gold big time? not really cause i only maintain 10g in my account... b) Next what do you know about gold? Ans: Not much. I know the basic stuff like what i read in forums. Want me to list out all i know about Gold? in short, maybe it's just another type of commodity trading? Unlike other stuff, gold has value in the sense people commonly accept gold as some sort of 'currency' as well? Why Gold and not stones? i dunno, maybe gold is scarce and not easily available unlike other minerals out there? as long as there is demand, the price will continue to go up? basic supply vs demand stuff? as the price movement still goes up and down...heck, probably it's also like stock market or shares..instead of buying a share in a company, we're just buying gold, which itself can act or represent as 'company' ? |
Oct 21 2011, 10:00 PM
thanks Goldchan...
good points and inputs there...i will take it and try to understand further... QUOTE(GoldChan @ Oct 21 2011, 05:40 PM) from all my reading, until 2001 we are starting to run out of oil. In the period prior to 2001, there are still plenty of oil, so you can focus on growth such as property , stocks, etc. Economy need oil to grow. period. No more oil then economy grow will slow down. The only way is to print $$ to support the economy, to keep politician elected, to keep things going until suddenly everything collapse. As long as they print $, gold will go up. Up to maybe USD5000/oz. in 2014-2015 everything sucks, stock, property, etc. Even precious metal sucks especially if you have brought at USD49/oz or USD1900/oz for gold For gold to go down, a) some of the printed $$$ must disappeared quickly. To do that while having your government elected etc is almost impossible. so inflate or die. or b) new world order where the elite managed to get together and forum world new currency back by gold SDR then the cycle repeat itself for another 5-20 years. c) Or WW3 lah. food has more value than gold lah. or sudden appearance of attractive class of investment d) e.g suddenly double storey house in Bangsar become 300K, you sell all your gold buy bangsar house or e) Maybank share = RM1. |
Oct 24 2011, 02:26 PM
i think nothing is sure in this world and even if that person tells you it's safe, will it really mean anything? no one knows in future what will happen...it might drop, the price might be stable flat...or it might rush up again...
QUOTE(tcken @ Oct 23 2011, 12:47 PM) |
Oct 26 2011, 12:45 AM
if gold is for long term..there's no point for discussion here already in forum wor...everyone just buy and keep long term...
hehe happy deepavali folks !!! |
| Change to: | 0.0417sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:00 AM |