Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
Oct 28 2013, 05:27 PM
121 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Nemesis there seems to be some hostility with the government there. you have to understand that they have to protect their citizens first if it comes to immigration and jobs to foreigners. though they are not doing too good of a job with the boats arriving... don't bash them too hard
Nov 5 2013, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Nov 5 2013, 01:41 PM) Pls don't be stupid and esp. if you are currently living a privilege life in msia. To give it up and settle for a life of mediocrity in aus and using yr children education is pathetic. People migrate to have a better life not one that is worse than what you are currently enjoying. Further at 40 yr chances of landing a job in a different career path will be close to nil. I' agree with robertchoo's view if its' for your kid's future. There will be a possibility that you won't be able to land a job in Australia, therefore you won't be able to raise your kids in Australia as there won't be any income coming in. you can't survive mainly on Centrelink benefits the whole time if there are really no income coming in. Better to cash up in Malaysia if you are doing well and send your kids over to get their further education and then PR if they want to, then they can apply for you to go over with themselves as sponsorsAs for children education you can always send them overseas to study. As you have a decent pay and prospect in msia i don't see why not. And if you think aus is "affordable" for the same living std you are enjoying in msia, you must be dreaming. And if you are considering lowering yr expectation and living std why bother migrating in the first place? Children education? See above. Future? Unless you are in natural resources, i foresee none for aus. Yr children will live in a very bleak future in aus if they are not in the natural resources industry. Unless if you have already landed a better job in Australia then by all means go for it... else why not try Singapore? it's not too bad there and being close to Malaysia, there will still be friend and family that you can have access to I myself have received my PR and worked in Australia for a few years and being transferred to regional office in Singapore and I am actually more amazed at what Singapore has to offer. Though I understand it is arguable as it may differ for different individuals. Whatever it is best of luck for those who are giving it a go to work in Australia. I shall return back to Sydney mid of next year and we can catch up then if anyone is interested |
Nov 8 2013, 09:33 AM
Nov 13 2013, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(GreenJellyBean @ Nov 13 2013, 03:55 PM) My sis is there for a few years already and with rented place so I will not have to worry much about lodging. Its more about job offers, as I am already doing well in MY IT line. Lets just see how it goes, life is full of surprises. what visa will you be on? you seem to be going for a vacation... and when will you be in sydney? I can meet up with you and bring you around King's Cross which suburb you going to be living in? and no don't go staying in Penrith as per Nemesis |
Nov 14 2013, 10:12 AM
lane cove is not near king's cross ... but bout 15 mins should be okay give and take.... good suburb and if you play badmintons, i think the group is still going on every wednesday from 6 - 8pm at lane cove RSL. I live in Waitara which is pretty close by to lane cove.
i'd suggest if you are wandering into King's Cross for the first time, go in a group or someone to lead. a wrong turn / right turn might end you up into ladyboy sections |
Nov 14 2013, 03:50 PM
haha GJB, some of the lebanese's (no i am not racist!) normal hit will feel like a king hit... i actually do not fancy King's Cross... Only been there twice to be honest. Once for Mardi Gras therefore there are heaps of people around and the other time was unable to sleep about 2am, my housemate and myself decided to walk out and decided to walk around king's cross.. Unfortunately have not entered to any of those strip clubs coz while we were walking we can see the skanky ladies but looks are really bad....
and it's true, there's no need for a reason for anyone to hit you. just wrong place and wrong time. if you are alone there, most of the time is the wrong time (after dark) though i may be exaggerating. as i mention i haven't been there all too often. Talking about jobs, it may take some time to actually land one therefore i would also suggest you can get some casual work while still applying for a full time job eg working in restaurants, cleaners etc if willing or else take RSA license then have opportunity to work in pubs / clubs. Of course just suggestions |
Nov 15 2013, 11:08 AM
actually i just don't know where to look
But if you wanna go for pubs, there's quite a cheap one in the city called Charlie Chan's which is in Chinatown.... then after you can stroll about 5 minutes down to Harris Street, near UTS Haymarket campus along where there's a Korean happy ending massage place (blue building with heaps of security cameras around it) few doors down to quite a popular Malaysian restaurant called Kopitiam. Price based on what I was told is about AUD150, but that was some years back and may have increased. Seems like I am going slightly offtopic from the title of the thread... |
Dec 2 2013, 05:23 PM
i don't understand why are Singaporeans deemed to be arrogant? I have been in Singapore close to 2 years and I do not seem to find the arrogance that has been depicted or maybe I have not seen Singapore enough.
It has been thrown around a fair bit, mind to share how this selfish / arrogance are shown? edit: I have lived in Sydney for 7 years and to me there are pros and cons in both places This post has been edited by witchx: Dec 2 2013, 05:26 PM |
Dec 17 2013, 08:29 AM
what kind of advice you are looking?
Dec 17 2013, 11:42 AM
accommodations for rental are divided into fully furnished / partially furnished / not furnished. For pricing purposes of rental, you can check out these links.
http://www.realestate.com.au/ - Can check out the Rent or Share tab http://www.domain.com.au/ If you feel that rooms are too expensive, you can find accommodation to be shared. Some of the people sublet rooms / share rooms etc and they would include the utilities charges usually. Though most of them based on experience will seek females only (based on those bill postings on random traffic lights). Before you actually look for a place to stay, do check out where you are working first as your job location may actually be far out from the city and if you rent a room in the city it may be a bit inconvenient and a tad pricier as mention by some transportation. If you are living in other suburbs, along the train lines will be better. |
Dec 18 2013, 08:20 PM
what kind of IT position you looking for? its quite vague as it ranges from IT support to database etc etc.... i'm no expert but maybe some people may be able to help
Dec 19 2013, 12:44 PM
I found a couple of jobs from SEEK (http://www.seek.com.au/) before you can give it a try... of course as per every other job search websites, they may not provide you a response.
most of them require appropriate visas but if you have the right experience some of them may consider to offer you something? |
Dec 30 2013, 02:08 PM
QUOTE(jemmysan @ Dec 29 2013, 06:40 PM) Effective 24 December 2013, applications for New South Wales nomination for the subclass 190 visa were closed. i was studying in NSW previously and also obtained PR under 457 . I believe this has been changed to 189What a waste of effort as they will reopen on July, 2014. Anyone had experience entering Australia as student and then managed to get a job as well as PR ? Landed a job prior to PR approvals as I did the mass resume handout and possibly got lucky. Note: obtained PR 5 years back, application submission to approvals took about 7 months. many of my mates submitted their applications about 6 months after I did back in 2007 and had to wait 5 years for PR to get approved. Had to go through 2 rounds of police check, medical. |
Dec 31 2013, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(jemmysan @ Dec 31 2013, 07:24 AM) Sounds good, thanks. It seems the chance to find a job is much higher if you are graduated from Australia University, and then subsequently get the PR. One of my relatives insisted me not to study there, according to her, it's impossible to get a job within few months so she returned to Malaysia. Just an additional info: she studied IT in Charles Sturt University in Melbourne. Recently, she left from her permanent job in Malaysia and has been unemployed for more than 6 months. Unfortunately I do not know anything about IT postgraduate programs as I have not done any research and do not want to provide incorrect information ....Any university could you recommend for IT postgraduate program? Did you apply before or after graduated? I think 457 is still there. 190 for NSW is already closed, then I check subclass 489, but all IT occupations are not eligible for all their counties, some are even suspended. Were all of your mates studying in NSW too? Did they all manage to obtain the PR? Thanks for sharing. For PR application I have applied after graduation as during the studies I do not have enough points to qualify for an application. In regards to your relatives' advice, they do have certain point on jobs difficulties, but then again it happens in various other countries as well. You are going for your postgraduate soon, do you have some experience prior? It will also help as well to get some part time / casual jobs in between your postgraduate studies that will help you out in your resume with local experience which may assist when you try to seek for jobs after graduation. I have mates that has been unemployed over 6 months too and then landed a job though not in the job they were hoping for but at least its a start. 1 of them were actually on TR and then was even offered PR by the company that hired him. Most if not all of my mates are from NSW mostly graduated from UTS and UNSW and USYD If your relative does not mind, she can start off with IT support / helpdesk / Customer service to begin with and then try to move up the ranks in the company. At least try and get one foot through the door. |
Dec 31 2013, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(sendomike @ Dec 31 2013, 09:04 AM) Once again I am not sure, I believe there are still demand for it. I am not in the IT line therefore can't really comment. As you may know there are also different kind of IT subcategories and there will of course be different demand in each of them.However you can check out seek.com.au which i have done a basic search for some of the ads being published there for Sydney with ICT category http://www.seek.com.au/jobs-in-information...ick&searchType= or just head over to www.seek.com.au to find other categories or more details. |
Jan 22 2014, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(xsaintx @ Jan 22 2014, 12:48 AM) I've done all research and still in dilemma whether to get my skills assessed.. I'm an architect and to get assessed the fees is AU$1050! And my degree from UK is a bit different with Australian degree.. So dunno if I should take the risk sigh. If the assessment fails then that's it my hope and money gone ha have you spoke to a professional migration agent? I would suggest you do so. They should be higher qualified than most people on this forum and able to save some time running your own research which may not draw a conclusion. If there's a chance and you really want it badly, take the $1,050 as an investment unless if the agent says you have no hope. Consultation with agents may be cheaper as well than the full $1,050. If you do it in Australia it costs about $50 - $100 per consultation. |
Jun 5 2014, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Jun 3 2014, 04:31 PM) I'm happy, yes. Moving to Sydney (where 99% of these jobs are). when will you be moving to Sydney? and what is the location of your reporting officeOn that second part, actually I would consider myself equal. You can never tell with graduates. I've seen some who weren't outstanding (but didn't do poorly) still find work really easily. Virtually no employer will sponsor a grad in my field - there is just no need. Hopefully I won't need it either, and if I do down the line hopefully I can get it. I don't mean extra, but the total hours in general. I think in my field nobody pays for OT. Package always includes super as far as I can tell. We can meet up for drinks in Sydney possibly |
Jun 6 2014, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(Soony @ Jun 5 2014, 06:03 PM) what dates would you be around? i will be relocating back to Sydney from Singapore with my flight looking to be 27th JuneThis post has been edited by witchx: Jun 6 2014, 08:33 AM |
Jul 31 2014, 06:50 AM
QUOTE(carefree @ Jul 30 2014, 04:52 PM) Hey Everyone, I have just returned from Singapore and loved the life in Singapore though most will disagree. The public transportation, convenient access to food, close to home. Too many happy hour sessions there are people seems to dislike to go home/I am hoping that those who are already working in NSW could share some opinion on my case. I am currently working in Singapore and am already a SPR. But recently there’s a company in NSW (suburbs) that offered me a job with a $75k package. I have always wanted to go to Au to work but the thing is, the salary package offered is actually lower than what I get in SG (even after taking the currency exchange into account). Well of course there’re many other factors to consider apart from salary package alone such as House, Car, Living Expenses, and Lifestyle. So my question is, will 75k suffice in Au? There's a large number of suburbs in NSW... anyway that's not the point. There's so many factors to consider to know if it will suffice or not as everyone lives a different lifestyle. 1) Housing - Depends on which suburb you choose, number of bedrooms, bathrooms, parking, in a unit, a house etc. This will have different impact. If you want to own a huge place right smack in the city when you are living alone then of course it can be pricier. If you were to stay further away depending on suburbs, the price varies. If you think you dont stay home much & do not have much furnitures and belongings that you are bringing along, you can also consider sharing a unit which brings down the costs significantly. Plus points if you score sharing units with ladies, where they will keep the place clean and may cook for you as well. 2) Car - if you live near your workplace and in walking distance, why bother with a car? Good to be near train lines and / or buses. Therefore if you go out and party and get a lil drunk you still have transport home. else catch a cab, but overly priced. You can get a second hand car for a decent price if you definitely require a car. Is it really necessary? 2) Living expenses - Food shouldn't set you back too much though it is pricier than food court / hawker center pricing in Singapore. Average price around my work area is about AUD9 for a good lunch meal in the food courts. If you cook at home this will bring the price down significantly 3) Lifestyle - If you are into the clubbing scene, whereby most of the spots are in the city or King's Cross, a good night will set you back possibly 100 - 200 a session. If you are into fishing, get a license online and head to the many fishing spots in NSW. ferry wharfs are legal fishing spots too. Fishing license I believe is AUD30 for 3 years or some sort. haven't checked it in a while 4) Savings - Should be plenty if you spend right and not waste them away and visit places like "Mastige" |
Aug 11 2014, 06:49 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 10 2014, 09:45 PM) what is a suitable job? Some classify working in Mcdonalds is a suitable job. If so, then yes he definitely will be able to get a suitable job If he is looking for a job, likely there's a chance in Australia. If Director of sales is potentially a specialised highly required job in Australia, then there's higher chances for him but I highly doubt it. Try looking in those employment seeking websites, maybe even migration agents to give you a hand. In short, No. |
| Change to: | 0.0384sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 01:10 PM |