Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

razo2
post Nov 20 2013, 10:11 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 17 2013, 01:14 PM)
Try to score band7 in 4 module.
I think Oz gov. wanna squeeze some money from u all coz they're deficit now.
Band 7? what visa is it?

The last time I heard to apply for PR is band 9 for all. LOL.
razo2
post Nov 20 2013, 11:33 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Nov 20 2013, 11:29 PM)
Band 9 is the perfect score.Pretty sure you heard it incorrectly.
I dont know that is what I heard. I got my PR with band 7, that was 3 years ago. They are getting really strict with PR now. Very soon they will close their doors as well.

I remembered doctors need band 8 for all.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 20 2013, 11:35 PM
razo2
post Nov 21 2013, 10:31 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 21 2013, 12:28 AM)
Band 8 will get a maximum points for migration(20 points). But if the occupation board like you said doctor will require band 9 for everything then you have to get all 9 to pass the skill assessment

But band 8 is already sufficient for most of the stuff. Band 9 is mostly impossible even for the English people
I know, that is why I think Immi is crazy to set such thing that even their own Australian cant achieve. From what i had read, IELTS is the only way that the immigration can use to reduce the PR application. I heard that India, people actually pay bribe to pass the IELTS for immigration. Thus, recently there is a new ruling about IELTS taken from India.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 21 2013, 10:32 AM
razo2
post Nov 21 2013, 07:48 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Nov 21 2013, 02:03 PM)
Well, do u wanna listen to a real story happening here?

I heard from a Chinese guy mentioned, some tried to get into Oz but failed due to so many restriction. So, they go thru the working visa 457. They actually look for a company sponsorship to work here. They paid the company on application of visa and even the salary! means they pay salary to themselves in order to get into Oz. After 2 years, they can go thru application for PR. Of course, those days IELTS requirement not that high.

I even heard some rich Chinese businessmen buy watever shit business here as TR. They throw in money to meet the income target for 2 years then sell off to some other guy who will doing the same thing. Once the meet 2 years TR, they can apply for PR. That's y i saw a restaurant owner change so many round here....some even malaysian!

Oz gov now wanted to restrict immigrants from coming in giving you some bullshit requirement. If you have degree, you're already far more qualified than the local Ozzie here coz i know majority construction or project manager dun even have diploma! But they earn $150k/annum richer than u 3 times. It's not about racist, it's more on discrimination on other nation capabilities. But of course, i do saw some Ozzie lazy bump really don't like to work. They'll accept watever salary or shitty jobs u offer. Once they get in, they'll make u fire them so that they can continue claiming centrelink money.

Just made my visit to local public housing (low cost housing) rented to Aboriginal. Damn, nice house turn into shit house. Even got condom in the kitchen basin! All walls got holes, shit inside the toilet. All doors got holes. I even saw an underground hideout. Heard from gov agent said they tend to hide themselves under so that police won't detect them there. Tot there's some corpses being buried there.....and smells stinks!

Got some photo, dunno how to upload it here
Immi is just a bloody people smugling business. I heard alot of stories it makes me sick. I worked there for 6 years. It is getting worst by the day both in jobs and economy. Unless you are in the gas business, dont even try to go there now. Even then, most of thier refinery are converting into terminals. Mining companies are now packing up because they are interested in investing at other cheaper countries. I seen alot of offices closed down due to the ore price drop (that includes gold).

Yes, money is good during the old days where the mining boom was giving good wealth to the country. Now, China dont need that much ore from them. The local community cant allow fracking because it will destroy thier agriculture and water supply.

There are really bad areas in Australia. It is not all green grass and roses there, very often at the city i seen jobless people just going around asking for money. High paid job are usually in contract that they will fire when things goes south. Look at thier health system, even consultants are out of jobs. They fired all the exprience nurses and hire young fellas to do the job. Even my sister wants to work at Singapore after being a consultant.

Interesting fact is most big companies actually send their expereience engineers from other country to work at Australia under the 457 visa. They know the locals cant do shit, most of them are just bullshit talkers. Some have 5 years experience and dont know their engineering well enough to deisgn. I dare say those talented fellas that i had worked are 457 visa holders are from the UK, US, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia and other parts of the world.

Centerlink had changed thier rules now. I dont think they will allow jobless youngsters sucking thier government tits.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 21 2013, 08:56 PM
razo2
post Nov 23 2013, 05:01 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Nov 23 2013, 01:55 AM)
I have already foreseen the bolded in Australia like 5-6 years ago when there was a mining boom. I've already told some friends to avoid going to australia if you think the mining sensation will go on. And 5-6 year later, it was spot on.

The rationale is simple. Raw materials are raw materials and they are roughly sold at the same (assuming same grade) whether mined in Indonesia or Australia. For eg. coal mined in Australia would have the same application and same price as coal mined in Indonesia. But the cost of mining in Australia is about 10x higher of that in Indonesia. Its simple mathematics at the end of the day.

For e.g. A mining truck driver earns AUD5000 p.a. in Indonesia (and its a VERY GOOD pay in Indonesia) and the same mining truck driver would cost AUD150k p.a. in Australia. However the value produced by truck driver in Indonesia and Australia are the same. No difference except for less cost in Indonesia (and hence more profit for the company) and additional cost of mining in Australia (and hence less profit to the company).
very well said. even truck drivers no longer have jobs because they are replaced by automated mining truck that dont go on strike 24/7/30/365 . Instead of going to indonesia most of them gone to Africa to invest.

I am not talking about small/mid mining company packing up. It is giants like Rio Tinto, Xstrata and New Crest closing down thier Brisbane office and other state office to minimise lost. I personally saw New Crest mining stock plungged below market value in one day.

Many big company want to invest in Asia/SE Asia because it is cheaper for relatively same material.
razo2
post Nov 23 2013, 05:20 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(acgerlok7 @ Nov 22 2013, 10:05 PM)
Oh correction to my previous comment...i was mentioning AUs, not USA, commented wrongly. Is mining really that terrible now in Aus...then what industry is thriving in Aus if every industry seems to be in recession?
The only sector that is still running is iron mining. even then I dont think they are hiring alot I got a friend that tried to apply for mechanical engineer for BHP, rejected. He 6 months no engineering job, working at woolies. Mining is going through a really hard time and it is going to be long before the global recession recover.

They do have coal seam gas in Australia that seems to do fine, but anyone can tell you it wont last long because CSG are not deep sea gas. Malaysia gas is all at sea which are compressed, thus the volume is alot more when it comes to atmosphere. My dad say thier gas will only last probably a few years, then dry out just like in America shale gas.

Even then not all projects were approved due to agriculture and water source near those CSG. Local community had rejected the idea of fracking, they even interviewed a manager from Santos. Worst guy to send for defending the projects. Farmers are angry due to dying land and animal. Methane had leaked into thier water supply as well. History repeat itself, just like America.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 23 2013, 05:40 PM
razo2
post Nov 24 2013, 03:59 AM

534 posts

Most Asian have to open thier own business or work as blue collar jobs. Indian are very common to be taxi drivers everywhere in Australia. Malaysian for food,, most of them ended up opening thier own restaurant. No discrimination, it is a fact.

I have met a Pinoy that is an engineer working as a house cleaner for years. He was a cook when he first arrived. My previous cleaner from India died of cancer waiting for PR. 5 years never seen his kid. There is not enough jobs for everyone, even experienced people. That is a fact. If an Asian with the same experience as an Australia, the Australian gets the job first. Even sometimes if they lack of some experience, they still get the job first. Some Australian HR got no choice but to listen thier upper managers decisions.

HR and head hunter are just f*cking around with candidates honestly. Most jobs are fake that dont exist. It is proven by some interview by news.com.au.

Dont waste your time looking for jobs now. Like I said, unless you are in the gas sector. The rest is pretty much down time. Carbon tax is a bloody joke, all the money dont know go where. Building a fiber network across Australia, even rural areas. All those projects are not cheap.

Check whirlpool forums. A lot of them lost thier jobs expecting the mining boom to come back. Some people just dont know how to wake up and see a big recession is coming. A friend of mine 6 months no job and still jobless. Still thinks one day the mining company will call him back.

This post has been edited by razo2: Nov 24 2013, 04:21 AM
razo2
post Nov 24 2013, 04:20 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Nov 23 2013, 05:31 PM)
Discover does not mean feasible for economic development..

same goes the FLNG saga over onshore or offshore.

The answer lies well with offshore, just politician politicized it over and over hope to get it a deal for themself when the W.S CEO said, well we already had the answer. Like it our not, suck it up.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-a...3-1226560401043

That, to develop. Linc Energy need to well, get approval and the other end is that, the overall "process" is it worth it?

The next phase will be GAS economy, still going strong.  whistling.gif
Finding oil doesnt mean it is good flow of oil. Compared to Saudi and Malaysia, thier king of kings oil field have very good flow, maturity and pressure.
razo2
post Dec 18 2013, 10:19 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 18 2013, 10:05 PM)
could try to apply bhpbillioin?
wah BHP. Dont think they are doing too well in the current mining situation.
razo2
post Dec 18 2013, 10:50 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Dec 18 2013, 10:45 PM)
or banking industries. i know they need IT guy
Banking is better for IT. Mining outsource their jobs to other IT companies like HP. Just like Rio Tinto. Only call when needed, can save money from the bleeding lost.
razo2
post Feb 3 2014, 10:34 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Jan 31 2014, 12:06 PM)
Question:

If my PR going to expire, can i ask for extension?

If my PR expire, I want to reapply...would i be permanently suspended?
To apply for extension you need to stay at least 2 years (cumulative) out of the 5 years since your PR had been granted.
You must meet 2 years, you cant miss by even a few days.

Reapply might not be as easy I think.
razo2
post Feb 4 2014, 01:37 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(snoopdog17 @ Feb 4 2014, 12:25 AM)
Is it really cumulative? I highly doubt that. I have an uncle who is a pr and flys back to malaysia every year very often for business. He is still a pr btw. So whats your source?
It is cumulative of 2 years throughout the 5 years period, no less. I am an Australian PR as well for 6 years. I been told many times at immigration.

http://www.ausimmigrate.com/australia-visa/pr-renewal/

Unless there is a new regulation about PR renewal. I am sure this rule is still the same.
razo2
post Feb 4 2014, 05:21 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Feb 4 2014, 12:00 PM)
I assume that when you say "my brother helps to sponsor for my PR", you are using the Remaining Relative visa (subclass 115) pathway, as the usual pathways (189 et al) no longer take family into consideration.

Remaining Relative visa (subclass 115) visa holders CANNOT sponsor anyone to migrate to Australia.

Have a look at the "What this visa lets you do" section (under the "Visa Holders" tab) of the Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) page and compare it with the Remaining Relative visa (subclass 115).
How about 885 visa? I had sponsored my parents to Australia last 2 years via online.

As far I remembered we are only allowed to sponsor one directly blood related family member per 885/886 visa granted.

Kinda worried when they always change the immigration rules like that.

This post has been edited by razo2: Feb 4 2014, 05:29 PM
razo2
post Feb 4 2014, 05:29 PM

534 posts

For those applying for PR visa you need to read your terms and conditions to the letter. These kind of information is ready available in the documents that you apply from the internet.

If you want to live in that country you better make a habit of reading every bloody document because Australians are very detailed at their paper work, especially immigration.

Everything you do is on black and white. You dont read, it is your problem.

This post has been edited by razo2: Feb 4 2014, 05:30 PM
razo2
post Feb 5 2014, 05:28 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Feb 5 2014, 12:13 PM)
crap, mine is expiring next year. i haven't done the 2 years.

reason for me staying put is because my dad had a sudden near death experience, luckily i was around to take care of him.

if i reapply also hard, right?
It depends. I dont know since I dont work for immigration brows.gif
razo2
post Feb 5 2014, 05:42 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Feb 5 2014, 05:32 PM)
job market in Oz sucks. i got CPA friends that migrated there, can;t even get stable jobs. My cousin who is engineering grad in Melb, could not get an engineer job, end up doing waitering.

Thats why i delay going.

But now i see our economy like sinking ship. Cost going up, GST coming in and subsidy cut - migration looking more feasible.

Some more BN encouraging us to migrate - tak suka, hijrah la.
It is not a good time to go there now.

The Australia recession starts and will last for the next 5 years at least. It is a mining bust now.

So, go else where and gain professional experience is way better than bugger flipping skills in your resume.
razo2
post Feb 6 2014, 07:26 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Feb 5 2014, 06:09 PM)
when economy booming hard to find job, when economy down even worst. I remember when 1996 recession in Oz so bad, that my uncle who lived there for 10 years had to return back to msia with his family because couldn't find a job. Back then unemployment rate was 20%.

what is affecting Oz? Is it because USA Fed is drawing down their bond buying? I know China is slowing down a lot and concentrating more on local demand.
Booming is not too hard to find a job. Now it could be more then 20% unemployment.

Australia was expecting the mining boom to continue from China as their biggest client. But last year China has slowed down their buying due to America 17 trillion debt drama. The boom became a bust. Most metals (except iron) and coal are affected by the bust.

Not to mention a lot of IT jobs had been outsourced to India. Manufacturing is closing down as well. Only booming industry is their LNG/CSG projects. So dont really think it is a good time to go there now with their major source of economy being bust.

The forecast of the unemployment is expecting to rise this year. So, if anyone wants to join the crowd and even compete for a burger flipping job, be my guest.

This post has been edited by razo2: Feb 6 2014, 07:27 AM
razo2
post Feb 6 2014, 11:01 AM

534 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Feb 6 2014, 09:43 AM)
I've been saying that about australia for some time now.
Next to go down are the banks coz of their abnormally large exposures to mining sector. Then it will be a domino effect unless the RBA steps in and do zmtg drastic. Expect further retrenchments
No surprise there. Even the government wont bail out Qantas, dont expect them to bail out these puppies as well.

Wait till the housing bubble burst as well. That will be a bigger problem.
razo2
post Feb 7 2014, 03:11 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Feb 7 2014, 12:54 PM)
Yeap, with no local experience will push you to the casual work. Not all jobs are that way.
Accountant is surplus in Ozzie market. Same goes to IT or engineers.
If you really wanna come here, die also wanna die here then take a bricklaying, electrical or plumber course. Get TAFE or cert 3 or 4 will give u a bigger chance to earn huge here.
There's some wrong perception given back home saying anyone come in Oz will live happily ever after.
Bear in mind, things is cheaper if earning here and got more opportunity provided u need to work hard to get it.
Not saying u migrate here and goyang kaki, money fall off from sky.
For me, i put in the same hardwork from malaysia to here making me stay put and competitive that i can do more and knowledgable than locals.
If you're looking to make big cash money, sorry, this is not the place.
If you're looking for family raising place, orientated and spend more time with family, this is the place you're looking for.
What's wrong for engineers working as waiter? CPA graduate working as working casual?
As long u have household income exceed 80k with stable job, u be able to buy bungalow here.
Who cares u're working waiter or garbage collector. It's still a job.
Dun laugh at garbage collector, their wages is far higher than phamacist @ $40/hr

They have surplus of those TAFE. They are no better then fresh graduates from university.

Yes, I have to agree with you that many people think that going over to Australia is an opportunity for easy life style. The ugly fact it is not. There are somethings that is beyond your control such as recession. Better think 100 times before you embark your journey to Australia.

I can tell you the best way to get into Australia is to work for a big company and get transferred there. At least you dont cry when you run out of job.

I dont see how you manage to logic that out. What is the point of taking up the degree when the person ended up working as a waiter, garbage collector?

Maybe you are forgetting the fact that educated people want to climb the cooperate ladder. Or open their own business.

I dont believe waiter and garbage collector have any form of huge increment in salary. It is pretty much a dead end job. If you dont want to work for that price, they will have plenty of mule to work for them.

Also. I dont even think you know how much those waiter are really paid. Go down to that level and you will understand.

This post has been edited by razo2: Feb 7 2014, 03:12 PM
razo2
post Feb 7 2014, 03:32 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(Dharma123 @ Feb 6 2014, 06:11 PM)
Yeah, i can't imagine going there and working with 21 year olds, just graduated, earning same pay as me and same level.

I have a friend who worked for PWC as manager for 5 years, when he migrated, he took up a job as a one man account manager, do bookeeping use MYOB system. Not bad, earn AUD100k a year. But it is kind of a low level job. If let say any big recession were to happen in Oz, he is forced to find job in msia, his experience won't count for much.

I am very sure though those with more experience are better adept to critical thinking tthan fresh grads. The only advantage the fresh grads got over the experienced ones, is maybe they are more tech savvy.
I can tell you straight up most of their IT skills sucks.

Lets take Excel for an example.

How many people that you worked with knows how to program VBA in Excel? Can count with your 2 fingers.
How about macro? Can count with 5 fingers.

Some experienced fellas still using Excel manually. I really cant understand why these people bother to do that. Excel is a program which they can use to do programming, they still use it like a mule. In my dad's days, I can understand. But now no bloody excuse not to know, Google is a huge database to learn.

Talk about troubleshooting IT problems. Dont worry they already outsourced the job to India.

0.0348sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:46 AM