Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

ilineZ
post Jan 27 2013, 08:29 PM

99 posts

i planning to move oz in my mid 20's, it means between 2-3 years from now.
i go through the point system, i could pass 60
but my big concern is my skill is not in SOL. i graduate n work in media, i dun think so it will be listed in SOL ever!
i aware that the PR rule keep changing every year,
but is there anything i could do now to prepare?

i dun mind to work in any field and will not be too picky at first few years..
do u think i should pick some new skill like acounting or other on-demand skill?

i love countryside life, more natural places around
for long term, oz will be great i guess
ilineZ
post Apr 18 2013, 07:30 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(darkhorse_86 @ Mar 12 2013, 06:12 PM)
Yep as annielee pointed out you are subjected to a waiting period of 2 years in order to access centrelink benefits ie newstart allowance. Even if you could access that, you will need to fulfill some tests ie assets test in order for you to receive the allowance.

If your first language is english (ie you speak english at home), obtaining an 8 in all bands is not unachievable. However, don't be overconfident either. Just practise on sample ielts questions before the exam, especially writing. Also becareful not too screw up the speaking test (it's the easiest to fumble amongst the four by saying all the 'las' 'mas' and 'niamind') You should be lucky if you're taking the ielts in Malaysia. This is because I heard that taking it in countries eg Australia and UK is much harder (probably stricter judging and marking on the writing and speaking tasks) compared to in Malaysia.
btw, where u guys usually take ielts? british council KL??
i was wondering, this thread says alot about getting 8 on IELTS
and wikipedia shows that Malaysia is top country with highest average.

is that means that taking IELTS in Msia is easier - at least for speaking part,
or ppl in Msia memang good hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ilineZ: Apr 18 2013, 07:30 PM
ilineZ
post Jul 15 2013, 02:05 PM

99 posts

wow..such a full story both + and -
mind to share which media field are you in?

many people think that oz is a greener field, do u think so?
will u consider to come back to msia after a while, or is it worth to stay there for there rest of ur life?

soli, just ask for certain opinion notworthy.gif
QUOTE(kiyomizu @ Jul 15 2013, 12:44 PM)
I followed my husband to Australia a year and a half ago, he's an engineer.

I used to work in media industry back in Malaysia. It was very hard for me to get a "proper" job as I'm only on a business visa, not a PR or citizen. And my profession is not required here, the employers would rather get someone reliable (those who sure can stay long) and with local experiences.
AND... I do think they choose candidates based on skin color too. That's normal everywhere though. Like we won't hire bangla as our office clerk no matter how high qualification they have.

Ok. So I started as a waitress in Japanese restaurant, teach Chinese to Angmoh, do part time data entry jobs, enlarged my social circle and made connections. Finally working full time as a marketing exec for a local association (the president is a former Malaysian Chinese). Lucky me to even jumped to another higher paid position few months later...
anyway now i'm unemployed again, preparing for the next relocation.

I would consider myself to be lucky because i've met plenty from Malaysia or Singapore that couldn't even get a job here. Especially the wife/girl friends following their partners (usually engineers) here. They used to work high post. like managers, seniors in corporates but now not even a chance to attend for interview.

I could get a job at the very begining because I "lowered" myself to work as a waitress, i don't care about the status. Other people would.

I'm now one of these poor and sad housewives staying at home, doing the house chores, waiting for hubby to have dinner every evening.
Yea sometimes i live like a fortunate tai tai too.
But if i could choose, i want to work. I don't want to waste my work experience, i want to go out and meet people, being treated fairly, being independent.

So before coming, both husband and wife need to discuss about it thoroughly. How your life would change and what are you going to do if you're retrenched and have to go back to Malaysia and start over again.

To me, life in Perth is boring. I'm not an outdoor person and i enjoy colorful and vibrant city life.

Some Malaysian SIngaporean famillies came ten years ago. Hoping to give the "Better Education" to their children (they were in primary school). Some are doing good now, some are not.

Due to peer pressure, they intend to not using the native tongue and only speak in English. They use fxck words in the conversation with parents and do not want to further study as the salary as working in subway is good enough for their living. Government is generous, they don't really need to think about the future.

Not like in Malaysia, we struggle hard.

Anyway it all depends on individual smile.gif

0.0571sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:27 AM