QUOTE(jessie86my @ Dec 4 2014, 06:37 AM)
With a valid working visa, you might be able to get a job but I would say is tough..because I have friends who are PR and trying to look for job here from Malaysia but got no response..now waiting for headhunters to help..and my local colleagues mentioned that even their friends who are local SAP consultants also jobless
Wow. Sounds like the job market is way worst den Malaysia.
QUOTE(divine061 @ Dec 4 2014, 07:19 AM)
Cause Australia's infrastructure is really 10, 20 years behind even compared to Malaysia.
And cause you'll most likely be starting over again if you move here, why is that a career advancement? Career opportunities are there to grab, but it is less compared to most countries and it will be harder for you since you'll be taking a step back before moving forward.
Just trying to set your expectation right, then you can appreciate and enjoy the new life here.
I see. Well glad to know this new information. Thanks for the info. Btw are you working there currently? If yes as what?
QUOTE(shazam7 @ Dec 4 2014, 12:01 PM)
A few main points:
- No PR, no job.
- Alternatively get a company to sponsor you for 457 visa.
- Forget about applying jobs offshore. Competition is tough. Once they see u not local, go to bottom of pile.
- Be prepared to tahan 6 months w/out job if not applying for 457 visa.
- Rent expensive. Be prepared to pay $200 a room/week in Sydney, fro $400 for an apartment.
- Tax higher, about 25% for mid-range salary (60-80K a year). But subsidized healthcare, and after 2 years, unemployment benefits for PRs.
- Maybe consider SG as well. Lower tax, high value of currency, international class jobs.
Ya, Singapore is in my list as well. =)