Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

carefree
post Jul 30 2014, 04:52 PM

132 posts

Hey Everyone,
I am hoping that those who are already working in NSW could share some opinion on my case. I am currently working in Singapore and am already a SPR. But recently there’s a company in NSW (suburbs) that offered me a job with a $75k package. I have always wanted to go to Au to work but the thing is, the salary package offered is actually lower than what I get in SG (even after taking the currency exchange into account). Well of course there’re many other factors to consider apart from salary package alone such as House, Car, Living Expenses, and Lifestyle. So my question is, will 75k suffice in Au?

carefree
post Jul 31 2014, 01:24 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(witchx @ Jul 31 2014, 06:50 AM)
I have just returned from Singapore and loved the life in Singapore though most will disagree. The public transportation, convenient access to food, close to home. Too many happy hour sessions there are people seems to dislike to go home/

There's a large number of suburbs in NSW... anyway that's not the point.

There's so many factors to consider to know if it will suffice or not as everyone lives a different lifestyle.

1) Housing - Depends on which suburb you choose, number of bedrooms, bathrooms, parking, in a unit, a house etc. This will have different impact. If you want to own a huge place right smack in the city when you are living alone then of course it can be pricier. If you were to stay further away depending on suburbs, the price varies. If you think you dont stay home much & do not have much furnitures and belongings that you are bringing along, you can also consider sharing a unit which brings down the costs significantly.  Plus points if you score sharing units with ladies, where they will keep the place clean and may cook for you as well.

2) Car - if you live near your workplace and in walking distance, why bother with a car? Good to be near train lines and / or buses. Therefore if you go out and party and get a lil drunk you still have transport home. else catch a cab, but overly priced. You can get a second hand car for a decent price if you definitely require a car. Is it really necessary?

2) Living expenses -  Food shouldn't set you back too much though it is pricier than food court / hawker center pricing in Singapore. Average price around my work area is about AUD9 for a good lunch meal in the food courts. If you cook at home this will bring the price down significantly

3) Lifestyle - If you are into the clubbing scene, whereby most of the spots are in the city or King's Cross, a good night will set you back possibly 100 - 200 a session. If you are into fishing, get a license online and head to the many fishing spots in NSW. ferry wharfs are legal fishing spots too. Fishing license I believe is AUD30 for 3 years or some sort. haven't checked it in a while 

4) Savings - Should be plenty if you spend right and not waste them away and visit places like "Mastige"
Hi witchx, thanks for your reply.
Yes, the main factors of holding back my decision was the location. Au is very far away from home (I still love Malaysian food). Okay, to answer your question, I have done a little bit of survey already before this...

1) Housing - The house price for a 3-bedder, 2-bath and 1 garage house will cost anywhere around A$350 - 600k around the suburb of that company. This will mean I have to set aside around 2 - 3k a month for a loan of 15 years. And that's half of my monthly salary gone already.

2) Living expenses - Although it's more expensive than in SG, I plan to cook my own food so should not cost more than 1k per month for two person.

3) Lifestyle - Travels a lot, so might need some amount of money to cover petrol expenses every now and then.

4) Savings - Taking into account the few above items, I think at most I can save only around 1k+ per month which is alot lower than I would be able to save here in SG.

Does not look like a good deal to me... in the mean time, I have to wait 3 yrs before I can buy a resale hdb in SG... bummer.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jul 31 2014, 09:14 AM)
How old are you? How many working experience you've got and what profession are you in?

This would justify the income and the your expectancy in Oz.
I'm 30 this year, and am in a mixed profession of Engineering (manufacturing) and Software Programming and I have close to 10 yrs of work experience.
carefree
post Jul 31 2014, 03:19 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Jul 31 2014, 02:53 PM)
Well, if the salary is lower than yours in SG, then following are suggestion:-
1) better don't come down under, tax is high and if you're single, nothing but a dull place here.
2) if you intend to buy house here, better have some cash in hand like 5-10% of the property value. If not, you'll have to save for it but the house inflation is picking up faster than your savings.

If you have something else in mind, like more time, layback, enjoy sunshine, following another few suggetion:-
1) better come down under, getting cars and some of your technology gadgets pretty cheap as well
2) intend buy house here, get some housing scheme from government. WA giving 10k for new house or 3k for established home.
3) If you got gf who buying house with government scheme, means that you got 2 house per household and leasing 1 out.
4) cars is cheap. far cheaper anywhere else nearby.

No long term job here. Any staff who worked more than a year in a company means long enough.
Yeah to comment on your points:
1) Yes I know what the tax is like over there, way higher than what I am paying now.
2) Been working for 10 yrs now, down payment for a house purchase is not an issue.
3) Cars cheap - yes, IT gadgets? Can always use Amazon.com if it's too expensive in local stores.
4) & 5) Can't comment but will look into it.
6) Yes cars are cheap over there - this point I like!

shocking.gif Are you sure working >1 yr in the same company is considered long there? I have friends (Aussie) who worked in the same company for like... 4 or 5 yrs already?

Anyway for my case, I think I won't make the jump over just yet. Figured I could save more here and have better job security.

0.0658sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:19 AM