Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.
c8twoman
Sep 18 2014, 08:21 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 18 2014, 12:24 PM) Yeah,mentality is the key. I found many ppl came here with extremely high expectation on living here like paradise. The fact is not! Very depending on what's your objective coming here and stay focus. I'm working in construction industry here and the working culture here is very similar to malaysia so i would say making no difference at all. Good thing is you don't have to work on Sat & Sun. However, the working culture here is pretty ah beng ah seng. That's why the law has been put up to make sure they don't play silly. It's something to enforce but normally ppl don't really go to that extreme unless you really piss em off! MAS has the great factor of benefit such as business but you'll be losing children's precious time together (not all) I realised 1 thing we're paying almost the same price in Oz with the same items but food and cars in MAS are definitely overpriced  This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:15 PM
c8twoman
Sep 18 2014, 08:32 PM
For those who want to work in Australia - make sure you think carefully especially those who aim to study first in Australia. Make sure your course is SOL listed (again, this doesn't guarantee it will be the same... they keep on changing the list on and on again) same with their VISA rules. But of course, you are welcome to apply for student visa. As for PR, it is very hard at the moment. A lot of people struggle to get PR - even my mates who have studied here failed to get PR/extended visa. Of course you can get a company to sponsor you, but things will turn upside down if the company went bankrupt. And yes, you can't stay in Australia if this happens, pack your bags and leave the country. It's a lucky country and if you can stay you re one of the luckiest people
c8twoman
Sep 18 2014, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Sep 18 2014, 09:05 PM) Actually what I've experienced and observed is that it's actually quite easy, with the right degree. You don't need a lot of time or a lot of cash. You don't even need good grades or the right kind of job. Once you get a PR, finding a job is infinitely easier. But finding a job with PR can be quite hard. I assume it will get worse, it's just the current government has been slow to implement changes. This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:14 PM
c8twoman
Sep 18 2014, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(LightningFist @ Sep 18 2014, 10:04 PM) I've seen many examples, including people I know, who very recently got PR without work experience. Most of them were not old either. It can be done, and quite easily in fact. It's just hard for most people because they don't have the right qualification. But when you do it's a piece of cake, and if you don't it's not a hard fix. ISIS wtf This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:12 PM
c8twoman
Sep 19 2014, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 19 2014, 08:53 AM) I'm working with a builder as scheduler via estimator. Dealt lots of tradies and they're crook! Especially brickies and plumber! Hate dealing with them. Bad working attitude and giving you empty promise....ALWAYS! This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:12 PM
c8twoman
Sep 19 2014, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 19 2014, 08:59 AM) Yeap, recently i knew some guys who graduated and working 2 years (TR) later getting PR. Oz is great place for young ppl to start off with new family providing both working. This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:11 PM
c8twoman
Sep 19 2014, 02:54 PM
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Sep 19 2014, 02:21 PM) Well, as i said it's a bit of ah beng ah seng here. My boss told me heaps of stories gangsterism and construction industry in Perth. Sounds so familiar in KL. Boss ask me to talk to them in 'good manner' not too harsh somemore. If not, let him deal with them. Probably the industry is a fast profit making biz. Some supplier or builder big boss are actually triads taiko locally.  This post has been edited by c8twoman: Feb 12 2015, 10:11 PM