Working in Australia, Experiences working in Australia.

Pete the great
post Jul 28 2013, 05:49 PM

519 posts

I want to ask everybody, since I hear stories of people migrating to Australia, only to end up being cleaners, petrol station attendees, waiters and librarians.

Would taking up SAP certification be a good alternative for migrant? Is SAP consultant in high demand in Australia?

Since malaysian work experience is not considered, it would be good to start career all over again as SAP consultant.

Australia got a lot of school to teach skills, right? So why not take up SAP.

Is this a good idea? Pays well? What you think?

What
Pete the great
post Jul 28 2013, 10:47 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jul 28 2013, 08:01 PM)
To be honest, I never really heard about company looking for SAP in Australia. But in fact, those people who using SAP always like to curse because of the not-so-friendly application.
True true. To be honest, I hate the dominance of SAP. Because of this stupid software, a lot of people got to learn how to use it, and its application is rubbish, it complicates a lot of things. A lot of IT people just don't understand how to apply this rubbish software.

However, since its already out there, you can't beat them, join them.

I don't want to go there to work as a cleaner, if it is so, I mind as well be in Malaysia. So I was thnking of taking up a new vocation. Since they don't consider my msian work experience, I mind as well start my career from base 1. What better way to start than to take up SAP courses. I don't think Master degrees help that much, they are too expensive anyway and too long to take up.
Pete the great
post Jul 29 2013, 01:52 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(maldini @ Jul 29 2013, 11:18 AM)
Hold on there mate. They dominate because they are that good. Why do you think big companies believe in their product if it's rubbish? There must be a reason. It's necessary evil scenario. From user point of view, SAP is too complicated (and the GUI looks hideous I must admit thus not helping SAP reputation). But from top management point of view, it's wonderful to have all the information at your fingertips to make the decision. So it's not stupid or rubbish. If a lot of IT people do not understand SAP, then they are not meant to be SAP consultant.

And the demand looks ok for SAP in land down under. I have couple of friends (with years of experiences by the way) migrated with job secured before migrating recently. But they were some coming back after realizing the salary stops pretty much at 150k/annum for SAP. SAP is growing in Asia, so the demand is way better here hence the salary.
Yeah but from my understanding, that kind of salary is only for the experienced SAP programmers. What about for those green novices who just passed their SAP exam?

Pete the great
post Jul 30 2013, 12:37 PM

519 posts

I don't get it. Why is everybody migrating to Aust?

I hear story of some people taking sub standard jobs. If you have to do that, mind as well stay back in malaysia to work.
Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:15 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 3 2013, 07:13 AM)
I'm settling down yet coz still looking for a job. If within couldn't find a job here might work for nightfillers in woolworth or coles. Pretty bored here if u staying in a house waiting for reply.
I knew one of the housemate who actually work in woolworth for 7 years. Now he's a manager here. Wow, 7 years as kuli but still it's worth it...he's an IT guy, i think he just sacrifice his degree
Nowadays I go to UK/Australia, woolworthes, coles, tesco, mark & spencer, Asda all using electronic counters, only one or two cashiers not like here in malaysia. So want to have career progress in supermkt job also hard.

I also know doctors who migrated there, struggling with 48 hour work.
Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:18 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2013, 07:33 AM)
is not unusual. you can see most of the the fresh graduates working in 7-11 but you can move up from there if you are good. My colleague's friend started as cashier in KFC and now his position is Regional Manager that responsible for KFC in Australia. Good perks and salary.
457 is not that easy as before. Rules were changed on July where employer have to prove that they advertised a position for at least 3 months and give a valid reason why they can't find local people and have to sponsor foreigners. Many employers(including my gf's company) refused to do those paperworks and reject them sad.gif
I don't see the point of migrating there to be a cashier or cleaner.

Like my cousin, an engineer grad, now doing night time magic show. And then another friend of mine who was a senior manager at HP, now working as a cashier.
Pete the great
post Aug 3 2013, 06:21 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(alimony @ Aug 2 2013, 08:56 PM)
hi all. i have been fruitless and frustrated searching for jobs here, so i am seriously thinking about joining my sister in australia in search of a better life there. i need some advice from experienced sifu here (:

firstly, what is the procedure in preparation to work in australia? i have checked via many 'free' assesments and it would seem i qualify for a visa. would i need a job offer already, or can i apply first, go and look for a job later? if the latter, do i need to go immediately upon approval of visa (assuming approved), or can i apply now and go at a later date?

please do share your experiences... hopefully can have a brighter future there.
To be honest with you, Australians don't even consider your malaysian work experience. They think your msian work experience is inferior or probably don't fit their work culture. At least in UK, they do consider your msian work experience because I work there for a while before. I know a lot of msians who work as senior managers here, when they migrate, they work low level jobs like sales girl at the stores, promoters, petrol station attendees.

So, if you find you struggle here in malaysia, australia is much worst, unless you don't mind a 7-11 job.

Sorry i don't mean to sound rude and inconsiderate, i understand that you are struggling to find job and I symphathise with your situation but I don't think Australia is tthe solution.
Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:38 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 3 2013, 08:49 PM)
You got me wrong.

What I meant was many fresh graduates can't find a proper job in Australia and end up become a cashier/waiter but if you really can impress from there, you might have a chance to shine from that field instead from what you have studied
Shine from a cashier/waiter?

Who wants to make a career out of a cashier/waiter?

If the company employs me as an administrator of a bed & breakfast, a web designer or a golf course caretaker, maybe there is a career to be made from there.
Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:55 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Soony @ Aug 4 2013, 10:41 AM)
Well, I understand where you're coming from. It's like those with degree should do decent work in their respective fields.

I guess you can say not all degree holder would do what they study in the end, especially in the times where the economy is that bad now.

The most available jobs are the cashier/waiter nowadays. It pays good though, can go up as high as like $25-30 per hour, better than some engineers locally.
If like this I would rather work in UK, the $$$ is better.

The community there is more tolerable. Nowadyas, I see many black guys holding hands with white girls in UK.

Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:15 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 4 2013, 02:13 PM)
as below:
Like my colleague used to work in Sushi Sushi in Melbourne and become store manager after that but in the end he has to leave because of the pressure from upper level.

Also, waitress in the fine dining restaurant could earn more than you back in Malaysia. basic is low but the tips are hefty. She doing part time in one of the world's best restaurant called Attica and can earn $50-55k annually including the tips which is tax-free. So don't ever look down to those waiters/waitresses
You seriously don't know the economy in UK(or Europe) is much more worst than Australia huh? There are not enough jobs for them and they have to get a working holiday visa to Australia to hope for a sponsorship.
Economy maybe bad in UK, yet I see half their workforce are foreigners. I just came back from a 3 month secondment in London .

Not the first time, Australians seem to like to pressure their asian workers. I don't know if its because they are high performance (but i heard that Aussies are lazy, is that true?) or they just hate Asians. I got a friend who migrated there, worked as a migration lawyer, he was doing ok, except for the incessant scoldings and pressure from his white lady aussie boss, then another friend who works in a bank - she tells me taht because she's asian - she frequently get excluded and the work culture there is whoever is the most popular survives (like Hunger games) and another friend who work as a surveyor tells me that he work for his aussie employer for 3 years but they only made him do paper work for approvals and photostating job - prevent him from going out to do field work because they had more favour for their white workers to do the favouraite assignments.

Oh yes, $50k annually is really high salary, sure my earnings can't match that but cost of living in msia is much lower than Australia. Last time I stayed in Australia was 10 years ago so I don't really know the cost of living there these days. But if you are living in a one room studio apartment, renting for $3000 per month, say in Melbourne, $36k goes to rent annually. We haven't even gone into food cost, transportation, clothing, GST and taxes. $50k ain't a lot for Australia standard.

Pete the great
post Aug 4 2013, 10:20 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 4 2013, 11:30 AM)
Well, all the occupations you mentioned have their own regulatory bodies. As my friends from the US say, too much regulation. Breaking out of your current job scope usually entails a significant investment of cost and a lot of uncertainty.

Plus all the jobs you mentioned need you to deal with people face to face, that is another issue as Aussies generally have a hidden streak of "politically correct" racism and a general aversion to newcomers.
Hey, you could make it from there to restaurant owner. It happens quite regularly as you learn the tricks of the trade. People switch vocations quite often over here. Our sales consultant used to be a fitter mechanic, our production manager an electrician and so on.

Australians don't have a really rigid "job expectation". The night manager at the IGA I used to clean at was a psychologist.
Money is definitely worse by a mile in the UK. Plus how do you even get a visa these days?
How to get a visa? Work for a british company where the HQ is in UK. But hey I am not that lucky.

I don't mind changing careers, from my vocation to become a restaurant manager but what if suddenly Australia go into bad recession in 10 years time? Then I've been a restaurant manager for 10 years, out of job, can't find a job? Then have to come back to Malaysia, i find myself in a different league. Restaurant manager aint a big thing in malaysia unless I plan to open my own signature restaurant.

Already the boom in China is slowing down. A forumer is telling us that Perth is experiencing some slow down and he plans to move to other Aussie cities to look for job. Things seem to be unpredictable at the moment.

Pete the great
post Aug 11 2013, 04:22 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 9 2013, 10:37 PM)
Some recruiters are nice and some very tiao geh. I really wanna screw them sometimes.
They keep on repeating you don't have Ozzie experience. When i checked with my friend who worked here, they mentioned that our MAlaysia experience is far better, thanks to cover mountain cover sea concept...haha
My friend telling me if the Ozzie work in malaysia in lower level, they'll die sooner....
I used linkedin too. Seems no many opportunities inside. Try to go through the network but unsuccessful
Then argue back, tell them that you worked for MNC in msia which the work culture very different from msia china man culture. Tell them that the job appraisal system is similar world wide.

Btw when you got your china co work job, is it what you were looking for? Is it in line with your job expectations/skills?

For eg, you are IT grad but you working as a cook (not in line with job skills)

Pete the great
post Aug 11 2013, 11:25 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Aug 11 2013, 07:56 PM)
Sometimes you have to see things from the employers point of view.

Its like if you're an employer in M'sia looking for people and a you see a CV of an indian person with MNC experience but from some region in India you've never heard before, comes looking for a role in M'sia, you will have the same scepticism, wouldn't you?

Its the same there.
Believe it or not alot of aussies think of Malaysia as a tourism country like the truly asia ads.
Well, that is what the interview is about...is where you sell your talents to your potential employer.

So justify to them and put out their doubts with your persuasive skills.

Just like how a salesman would try to push his product to his potential customer, you do the same too, because this is your chance.

But if the interviewer still not convince with your points, then let it be, at least you tried.

I've seen indian programmer from bangalore, do a great job but its just that they got bad accent, nobody can understand a word they saying. I've worked in an europe country for a few months, and I can tell you, I've met some colleagues from Africa, Asia and Eastern Europe who can do a better job than the White man counterpart.
Pete the great
post Aug 11 2013, 11:26 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 11 2013, 07:47 PM)
lol.yu can't even get into interview but you want to argue back?
I thought you say in an earlier post, you got an interview, the Aussie employer told you that your msian work experience is "inferior".
Pete the great
post Aug 13 2013, 08:39 AM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 12 2013, 10:42 PM)
Hi guys, came back from 2nd interview. They have yet to confirm the employment coz the project have yet to secure. So, they're saying will confirm to me this week.
It's a small builder company but seems not many project on hand thats why.
The GM showed me some of the drawings of the housing project. Well, it's simple and easy. Even SPM holders can do. I'm not to bluff that i'm good or what. Just that when i look thru, it's totally easy and i think i can used half day to do the whole project including pricing and submission.
Building is simple and easy. No complication. I checked thru the websites, the salary for doing this can simply get AUD70k - 80k /annum.
I'm just wondering, wat's really so important on Oz local experience?
I was lucky coz 1 of director is singaporean. That's y got chance. If not, ang moh don't even look at ur CV.
the answer is simple, its called discrimination n double standards.

aussies thks they r superior to Asian but they actually know crap.
Pete the great
post Aug 18 2013, 03:54 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 18 2013, 03:25 PM)
It very depends on what profession u're in. Some easy, some damn shit hard.
Sub-standard job easy to get. But u'll be miserable coz it's not the job u want.
However, it's very depends on individual. My housemate who's in IT but end up working in Woolies as nightfillers. Working 7 years and now he's a branch manager with salary app. 70k. Company giving him lots of benefits and allowance. Not bad.
What about accountancy? Is it hard to find?

After 7 years and earning $70k is not exactly the dream job for a migrant who is IT grad. Rental already cost about 20k a year. And we haven't included tax, transport, food and others.
Pete the great
post Aug 18 2013, 05:29 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 18 2013, 04:11 PM)
Accountancy now is surplus. Came out in newspaper recently. My friend who's ACCA grade who has working exp in KL can't find job for 8 mths. I kinda worried too coz my wife is an accountant. She might hardly get her dream job. However, it's all depend on ur effort and luck. If u keep on sending job applications and keep on calling and knocking their doors. Sure u'll get it one day. I did mine tat way and get my job in 2 weeks.

Yeah, 70k is not high but it's around average Ozzie earnings. Rental is a damn shit. Now i'm thinking of buying instead of renting coz after the calculation, it actually might as well u buy 1.

Food, transport and others after my calculation, it's really depends on ur standard of living. I bought Toyota Corolla at AUD700 as working car. Yeap, it's an old car with 1.50L 250k mileage but engine is damn good. A bit wear and tear, absorber and engine everything so good. I fixed the car DIY and it's ready to run, no problem. 
Aiming to buy camry as family budgeting AUD10k. Will serve me for outstation or shopping....car is cheap in Oz...damn!

Food is cheap providing u cook or tapao to office. U seldom see angmoh actually lunch eating out. Everyday sandwich....yuck.
Miscellaneous is like entertainment, clothing and others won't cost u much. Look for sales item or surf gumtree for their unwanted goods which still workable, not the junk that totally rubbish.
I don't know, man. Lets just say, your wife is an accountant, she lived 7 years in Australia, but not as an accountant, as a supermarket branch manager instead. Then suddenly China economy down, just like in 1997, Australia starts retrenching people, all the PR go back. Your wife returns but she has zero accountancy experience in Australia, she tries to find a job in Malaysia, her job experience is discounted...

These are the dilemnas a PR has to decide. That is why is always safe to stick to what you to best. If you are a lawyer, make sure you work as a lawyer in Australia, else if anything bad happens and you spent too long in Australia, at least come back to Malaysia, you can still practice as a lawyer.

Can I ask you, what is your vocation? Did you managed to get the job that is in line with your specialization?
Pete the great
post Aug 18 2013, 05:44 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(divine061 @ Aug 18 2013, 05:32 PM)
$70k  is not low, even with 10 years experience in IT, there are a lot of people getting such rate. It depends on the type of IT work and the role you are in though. It is like people getting rm3k - 4k after 10 years in IT in Malaysia, there are more of them out there that you think.

And if the family is on a dual-income with $70k each, you are already better off almost all people here.

The only thing is that when you migrate, you start of from the ground again. Like working in Malaysia and trying to get a property using that money, is really hard. And when you are comparing it to people that started at 22/23 yo here, you will feel that difference. But with the skills, experience and the correct attitude, you'll catch up pretty quickly though.

And really, I don't think you should change your lifestyle just because you moved here. If you have a decent job but became frugal only after you moved here, I would really question your reason on why you want to sacrifice that way.

As for me, I still eat out every day and shop when we need it cause I don't compromise on food and household items are here to stay, so why not pay more for quality, which is what I would do back home anyway. However, I drive a cheap car, but my car in Malaysia was even older and cheaper.
Its low considering that graduates in Australia start pay is 60k. Aiyah cannot compare to malaysia lah, in malaysia cost of living here is much lower. Yes cars in malaysia is expensive but food here is still comparably cheap. I have lived in cambodia, trust me, malaysia is still cheaper in terms of food and rental.

Yeah that is true. I have a PR but its like I am waiting for it to expire. I am wondering why do I have to go there and struggle to find job for half a year, if I am lucky I find a job that is not my vocation. What is the point for me? I know, people scold me because I don't try. But I wonder if its worth the risk because not one of the story of my friends who migrated there came out success.

I am not saying my job is decent, always got disatisfaction but going to Australia to work? After hearing the nightmare stories, I dunno.

But there are big sacrifices to make if I were to go...like I really miss the food here, the familiarity here, my family at most, my gf who refuse to follow.

I lived in Australia 10 years ago...but the Australia yesterday is no longer the Australia today. The whites are not so friendly anymore. There used to be a time when I sit down at a tram stop or a train station, some friendly Aussie would come by and strike a conversation with me about politics, economics, religion and life. No more, no more, I get very angry looks, as if telling me why are you here? to steal our jobs?
Pete the great
post Aug 18 2013, 11:22 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 18 2013, 07:19 PM)
My wife is chartered accountant. Problem with australia is no local experience, give u shit of reason. Your scenario given is what normally happens to everyone here. Saw a few cases here.
Yeap, the job i found is a multinational builder and it's my industry line. I was very very lucky getting this job. Thank God on that. It's very miserable and stress when u can't find ur job.
My housemate now working in contract role which will end this month. Even with local experience still hardly get a job too. Double master somemore
How is it working there so far?

I have a PR fren who work for an aussie builder. But they refuse to give him the job, so he was relegated to doing documentation and photostating. After 2 years, he quit, and went back to malaysia for good.

I hope you don't get the same thing, hope your boss is a kinder person.
Pete the great
post Aug 28 2013, 01:49 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(tatagal @ Aug 26 2013, 03:14 PM)
I think in general, it is not too good since cancellation of Browse.
What is browse?

0.0709sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:18 PM