Electrical Question asoo, new guy here.. pls dun shoot la k..

TSSohlan
post Aug 26 2011, 01:49 PM, updated 15y ago

241 posts

Well, im a student, and im moving into a new rental house, and im installing my own ac in my room(1 hp Midea) But the thing is, there's only 1 power plug in the room. Is it safe to use a multiplug and plug the ac, a mini bar and my laptop to the one power plug? and another room, my friend is taking, can one power plug power an ac(also 1 hp and a water heater.)

Im not too sure about the wattage of each item, coz ive not gone to the house yet, going tomorrow.

Thanks in advance.. =)

papaya2
post Aug 26 2011, 01:56 PM

387 posts

ac + laptop/pc = ok
ac + water heater = over
TSSohlan
post Aug 26 2011, 03:23 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(papaya2 @ Aug 26 2011, 01:56 PM)
ac + laptop/pc = ok
ac + water heater = over
er.. the first one is also + mini bar fridge. still ok ke?? ac + water heater no go huh? hmm...

thanks papaya2. =)
brutalsoul
post Aug 26 2011, 03:50 PM

A goal without a plan is just a wish
1,484 posts

sure will over bro
Jo_da48
post Aug 26 2011, 04:02 PM

1,529 posts

dont over stress the current...
if you rent the house, guess somewhere you could put your mini bar, and the water heater good to run independance, as you may not know what will be happen if A/C heater ON together.

TSSohlan
post Aug 26 2011, 10:05 PM

241 posts

zzzzzz... guess need to pull wire from downstairs like dat... thanks a lot though!! =)
NelsonBoy
post Aug 27 2011, 10:20 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

bro

wall power plug for a/c ?

u cant just use those normal wall power plug !

aircond power should tap direct from MCB.

those wall power plug cannot withstand the a/c amperes.
u will burn the live plug !

unless you are talking about portable aircon.

water heater should tap from MCB too.

for fridge u may connect direct to plug.

weikee
post Aug 27 2011, 10:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Aug 27 2011, 10:20 PM)
bro

Not a problem, for 1HP to 1.5hp is not a problem. 1HP it only use less than 4 Amps Now most AirCond are build in starter. Some a/c without good circurt, may have few second start up current spike, but that happen only few second and won't cause anything.

A normal hair dryer drain more power than 1 to 1.5hp A/C
Jo_da48
post Aug 28 2011, 12:17 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(NelsonBoy @ Aug 27 2011, 10:20 PM)
bro

Hmmm...my 2HP a/c are direct pull from power plug, done by the aircorn folk...I guess it also depend on whether you power socket are looping from somewhere or direct from MCB(ELCB). Normal original house build most Room power socket are direct to MCB, rights?

vatiore
post Aug 28 2011, 07:58 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 28 2011, 01:17 AM)
Hmmm...my 2HP a/c are direct pull from power plug, done by the aircorn folk...I guess it also depend on whether you power socket are looping from somewhere or direct from MCB(ELCB). Normal original house build most Room power socket are direct to MCB, rights?
Sure all 13A socket outlet is from DB, but is depend how many point they loop to. If 2HP, would advise direct from DB and not sharing with other. if no choice for sharing, then have to see what you share.
Normally air-cond folks dun care one la....
weikee
post Aug 28 2011, 08:47 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(vatiore @ Aug 28 2011, 07:58 PM)
Sure all 13A socket outlet is from DB, but is depend how many point they loop to. If 2HP, would advise direct from DB and not sharing with other. if no choice for sharing, then have to see what you share.
Normally air-cond folks dun care one la....
If you know the load per mcb is good enough. Normally trip the mcb, you know what socket are connected to the specific mcb. Most important don't overload.
vatiore
post Aug 28 2011, 09:02 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 28 2011, 09:47 PM)
If you know the load per mcb is good enough. Normally trip the mcb, you know what socket are connected to the specific mcb.  Most important don't overload.
agreed. So, have to understand or calculate yourself. Be Smart then.
Jo_da48
post Aug 28 2011, 10:01 PM

1,529 posts

All,
You are right...my electrician warning me about my new house..."Dont be small and turn all 6 aircond together"...because I'm using one phase not three phase wires smile.gif

vatiore
post Aug 28 2011, 11:45 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 28 2011, 11:01 PM)
All,
You are right...my electrician warning me about my new house..."Dont be small and turn all 6 aircond together"...because I'm using one phase not three phase wires smile.gif
Gang, it does not matter either 1-phase or 3-phase. Its depends on the load. 1-phase have 63A, if load sufficient then not a problem. In addition, I don't think you can switch on 6aircond together in 1 sec. smile.gif

e.g. 3phase 63A = 63A x 3 = 189A you have. Means you have plenty of load to spend.
pky
post Sep 2 2011, 03:47 AM

558 posts

QUOTE(vatiore @ Aug 28 2011, 11:45 PM)
Gang, it does not matter either 1-phase or 3-phase. Its depends on the load. 1-phase have 63A, if load sufficient then not a problem. In addition, I don't think you can switch on 6aircond together in 1 sec. smile.gif

e.g. 3phase 63A = 63A x 3 = 189A you have. Means you have plenty of load to spend.
Please do not mis-guide ppl here. 1-phase doesn't mean it is 63A. depends on what the developer's design, 1-phase could be 30A, 40A, 60A, 100A or other depending on the design and what you apply from TNB.
Open up your Distribution Board cover and take note of the ELCB or Incomming Breaker size to determine how many amps you are supplied with. If possible, do take note of the incoming cable size as well.
If your ELCB rated at 60A but using a 30A cable size, there's possibility of the cable burning up before the breaker/ELCB detect the overloading.

It could happen if all your family members turn them on simultaneously. Btw, In-rush current of air-cond could last longer than 1 sec.
valor89
post Sep 2 2011, 03:54 AM

210 posts

eh ur case sounds like my house case also la. rental house also lolz. i gonna use extension plug to pull electric from downstairs since no 1 using. my hsemate say he sleep downstairs on the bed in the living i dunno why =.= so i use extension to power everything leave power upstairs for water and aircond wakakaka
pky
post Sep 2 2011, 04:12 AM

558 posts

if you opt for extension socket for AC, normal extension plug from supermarket is not advisable. Initially, everything is ok, but in the long run, u will find the socket melted.

0.0213sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:58 AM