124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

goal123
post Aug 25 2010, 08:09 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:02 AM)
Should not be a problem if you did declare income tax. I did 2.5million banker cheque previously but has no problem.

For FD, it is not advisable to put one piece of 1million into a FD account.
why?
jack2
post Aug 25 2010, 08:15 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(goal123 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:09 AM)
why?
Withholding tax....

How old are you and have so much money ya? drool.gif
goal123
post Aug 25 2010, 08:25 AM

29 posts

i think withholding tax is only for company....?
how does it work?

if i put 1m in fd,i can get 3k per month after a year...
jack2
post Aug 25 2010, 08:26 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(goal123 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:25 AM)
how does it work?

In any single of FD cert, must in less than 100k. Otherwise, the interest earned will be subject to withholding tax of 5%.
den
post Aug 25 2010, 08:43 AM

Plebeian
1,643 posts

each person got limit 10 piece of FD certificate only?
goal123
post Aug 25 2010, 08:46 AM

29 posts

if bonus for one year is rm33000 then 5% tax is rm1000+?

can i separate 1m to 10 FD certificate? <---- how it works?10 fd cert with single account?

MilesAndMore
post Aug 25 2010, 12:03 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(goal123 @ Aug 25 2010, 07:54 AM)
if now i have 1million in my maybank....then i want to put my 1m to affin bank or public bank....i have to buy Cheque at maybank for me to transfer the $ to other bank...than a have to separate the $? if a single Cheque with 1m...government will charge tax?
What you need to buy is a Banker's Cheque. Once you buy the Banker's Cheque (Maybank charge RM5 if i'm not mistaken), deposit it into Affin Bank/Public Bank. When the Banker's Cheque is cleared which usually takes 1 - 2 working days, then go back to Affin Bank/Public Bank to open the FD account. You can ask them to separate it into 10 FD accounts or just put all into 1 FD account.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:15 AM)
Withholding tax....
QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:26 AM)
In any single of FD cert, must in less than 100k. Otherwise, the interest earned will be subject to withholding tax of 5%.
The withholding tax on interest earned from FD has long been abolished. Therefore, it is absolutely not necessary to divide your money into so many FD accounts.

Besides, when the withholding was still in place. People always divided their money into RM100k maximum per FD account to avoid the 5% withholding tax. So it was not less than RM100k.

QUOTE(goal123 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:25 AM)
how does it work?

Please refer to the post above.

QUOTE(den @ Aug 25 2010, 08:43 AM)
each person got limit 10 piece of FD certificate only?
Every banks have different rules. You should refer to your bank. As far as i am concerned, many people i know used to have more than 10 FD accounts at HSBC but not anymore. Not anymore since the 5% withholding tax was abolished anyway.

QUOTE(goal123 @ Aug 25 2010, 08:46 AM)
if bonus for one year is rm33000 then 5% tax is rm1000+?

can i separate 1m to 10 FD certificate? <---- how it works?10 fd cert with single account?
Since the 5% withholding tax had been abolished, you do not have to separate your RM1 Million into 10 FD certificates. Just put everything into one FD certificate. There is absolutely no tax to worry about.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Aug 25 2010, 12:07 PM
jack2
post Aug 30 2010, 06:24 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 25 2010, 12:03 PM)
What you need to buy is a Banker's Cheque. Once you buy the Banker's Cheque (Maybank charge RM5 if i'm not mistaken), deposit it into Affin Bank/Public Bank. When the Banker's Cheque is cleared which usually takes 1 - 2 working days, then go back to Affin Bank/Public Bank to open the FD account. You can ask them to separate it into 10 FD accounts or just put all into 1 FD account.
The withholding tax on interest earned from FD has long been abolished. Therefore, it is absolutely not necessary to divide your money into so many FD accounts.

Besides, when the withholding was still in place. People always divided their money into RM100k maximum per FD account to avoid the 5% withholding tax. So it was not less than RM100k.
Every banks have different rules. You should refer to your bank. As far as i am concerned, many people i know used to have more than 10 FD accounts at HSBC but not anymore. Not anymore since the 5% withholding tax was abolished anyway.
Since the 5% withholding tax had been abolished, you do not have to separate your RM1 Million into 10 FD certificates. Just put everything into one FD certificate. There is absolutely no tax to worry about.
Thanks for highlighting it. Long time didn't follow income tax and didn't realise it.
jessy123
post Aug 30 2010, 09:21 AM

283 posts

Currently RHB has a promotion for step FD rates that are better than other banks. Its for 6 months tenure and works out to an average of about 3.1%.
Stand chart has a FD promotion paying 5% but max is only for 100k. just log on to their websites to get more info.

Jess
http://www.howtobuyaninvestmentproperty.com
Gen-X
post Aug 30 2010, 11:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

No need buy banker's cheque. Just ask MBB write RM1m cheque in your name, Then go Affin Bank and you can straight away with the RM1m cheque open a new FD account or multiple accounts with different tenure and or amount. No need wait 1-2 days for the cheque to clear.

MilesAndMore
post Aug 31 2010, 12:18 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Aug 30 2010, 11:30 PM)
No need buy banker's cheque. Just ask MBB write RM1m cheque in your name, Then go Affin Bank and you can straight away with the RM1m cheque open a new FD account or multiple accounts with different tenure and or amount. No need wait 1-2 days for the cheque to clear.
Do we have to pay for the cheque ? I usually buy a banker's cheque from them when withdrawing my dividend earned from ASNB products and their banker's cheque is very expensive compared to Public Bank, CIMB Bank etc.

rendezvous_pc
post Aug 31 2010, 09:22 AM

45 posts

bros.. which bank offers highest interest rate ya?

Gen-X
post Aug 31 2010, 10:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 31 2010, 12:18 AM)
Do we have to pay for the cheque ? I usually buy a banker's cheque from them when withdrawing my dividend earned from ASNB products and their banker's cheque is very expensive compared to Public Bank, CIMB Bank etc.
Yah, nowadays the stupid banks charge few ringgit when ask them write cheque. Not sure about MBB but HLB charges RM3 for cheque if I recall correctly.

QUOTE(rendezvous_pc @ Aug 31 2010, 09:22 AM)
bros.. which bank offers highest interest rate ya?
Agro Bank followed by Affin Bank.
yiivei
post Aug 31 2010, 04:06 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

bro, the witholding tax still applicable for oversea bank like uob... you all can rest assure with it on local bank...
MilesAndMore
post Aug 31 2010, 05:10 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Aug 31 2010, 04:06 PM)
bro, the witholding tax still applicable for oversea bank like uob... you all can rest assure with it on local bank...
Overseas bank like UOB Bank ? I think not. I am never a customer of UOB Bank so i am not sure why they told you otherwise. Anyway, major foreign players such HSBC, Standard Chartered and OCBC Bank told all of their customers that the 5% withholding tax had been abolished. The rule is regulated by LHDN and it shouldn't be any different for UOB Bank.

yiivei
post Aug 31 2010, 06:43 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 31 2010, 05:10 PM)
Overseas bank like UOB Bank ? I think not. I am never a customer of UOB Bank so i am not sure why they told you otherwise. Anyway, major foreign players such HSBC, Standard Chartered and OCBC Bank told all of their customers that the 5% withholding tax had been abolished. The rule is regulated by LHDN and it shouldn't be any different for UOB Bank.
Hmm... i juz apply for a FD for my co. recently. The staffs (UOB) told me that the first FD should be lower than 1 mil to avoid the witholding tax, and the 2nd slip onward does not cap to the 1 million mark.

Anyway, i will get this clarify with the LHDN anytime soon and feedback to you all.
MilesAndMore
post Aug 31 2010, 07:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(yiivei @ Aug 31 2010, 06:43 PM)
Hmm... i juz apply for a FD for my co. recently. The staffs (UOB) told me that the first FD should be lower than 1 mil to avoid the witholding tax, and the 2nd slip onward does not cap to the 1 million mark.

Anyway, i will get this clarify with the LHDN anytime soon and feedback to you all.
Oh ... it's the corporate one. May be that is why it is different. The 5% withholding tax that was abolished is the individual one.

yiivei
post Aug 31 2010, 07:27 PM

~WooLaLa~
1,933 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Aug 31 2010, 07:21 PM)
Oh ... it's the corporate one. May be that is why it is different. The 5% withholding tax that was abolished is the individual one.
Oh ok.

So, the 5% witholding tax for individual placement was abolished.
Gen-X
post Aug 31 2010, 09:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Anyway, for individiual to be safe or thinking forward, wise to place your FD less than RM1m or even less than RM100K as our flip flop government always changes policies and may go back to 5% witholding tax policy tomorrow.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 31 2010, 09:53 PM
michaelho
post Sep 28 2010, 07:12 PM

546 posts

Currently I have invested in HLB JUNIOR FD at 5% pa for the tenure of 4 years. So far so good . smile.gif

This post has been edited by michaelho: Sep 28 2010, 07:14 PM

124 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0515sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:03 PM