124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

FD rates in Malaysia, Which bank offer the highest FD rates?

wyyew
post Mar 2 2009, 06:03 PM

264 posts

i thought is 2% now..
DriedIce
post Mar 2 2009, 06:09 PM

204 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Mar 2 2009, 06:03 PM)
i thought is 2% now..
Depending on which bank la.. Some banks higher some banks lower.. not all banks will be the same but anyways it should be around 2.5%.
b00n
post Mar 2 2009, 06:39 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

The norm now is 2% if it's for less than 3 months. 2.3% if less than 12 and 2.5% if locked in for a year.
Shinichi
post Mar 2 2009, 09:44 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
4,051 posts

QUOTE(wkzvyx @ Mar 2 2009, 06:10 AM)
I have checked online about my eFD, the rate is still remain the same as the time when I open/placement of my eFD and I can see clearly see that online the FD interest rates, whenever I logon to CIMBclicks. Also, I have keep/printed out the online eFD receipts, and I checked back the receipt and it is same as what is stated in the online. Besides, I received the statement of accounts (for all my accounts opened with CIMB) like saving, current and eFD accounts, and also the eFD rates (as well as the amount of FD interest earned or the amount will be earned) are also indicated in the statement also. Those statements are sent to me, whenever, I place/open a new eFD or any of my eFD matured and also year ended. One more thing, for each eFD, the total amount interest will be earned are indicated in the statements also.

My eFD is tenure/duration is 3 months, mature every 3 month, and it will auto renew every 3 months. So, I receive the statements at least every 3 months. Once it matured, it will follow the latest (new) FD rates - of course.

Also, I do have eFD in Maybank2u and I also have current (premier1 account) with them, their statements sent to me, do not indicate the eFD so I could not see the rates and the future interest earned. Just now, I logon to Mayban2u, yes, then I can see my eFD, but there is not nothing indicate about interest amount that I will be earned. Thanks that you all put out an issue here, and I plan to withdraw my Maybank eFD and place it to my CIMB account. Then, when I logon to internet banking, I will feel more comfortable (since the gov keep changing the rates).
QUOTE(keeseng12 @ Mar 2 2009, 07:38 AM)
by right, regardless of eFD or FD, the interest rate will be based on the very moment you open the FD account. therefore, let say you open the FD account at that time where the interest rate is 3.5% per annum, regardless how it rise of drop during/at the maturity period/date, it'll be still 3.5% (according to the interest rate when you open the account)
Thanks for the replies. Gonna check with bank why they pay me few cents less. But don't know why I could not submit online feedback to them now. Will try again tomorrow or when I drop by their branch.
gkl83
post Mar 25 2009, 08:27 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(keeseng12 @ Mar 2 2009, 07:38 AM)
by right, regardless of eFD or FD, the interest rate will be based on the very moment you open the FD account. therefore, let say you open the FD account at that time where the interest rate is 3.5% per annum, regardless how it rise of drop during/at the maturity period/date, it'll be still 3.5% (according to the interest rate when you open the account)

i think your statement was no true right now...

i have 2 eFD in my maybank2u...
first eFD 3.5% (applied mid of 2008),

then apply second eFD is 1 is 3.0% (applied early of 2009)
but first eFD no reduced to 3.0% along...

but i checked both of the interest rate just now...
both become 2.0% ... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

thought the economy recession coming?
usually bank will offer better rate right? to ensure that they can utilize our money can be invest...
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2009, 08:38 AM

52,874 posts

The downward revision of FD rate corresponds to the reduction of the BLR.
gkl83
post Mar 25 2009, 08:54 AM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 25 2009, 08:38 AM)
The downward revision of FD rate corresponds to the reduction of the BLR.

97/98 recession, managed to hit 8%+ for FD and 10%+ BLR...
weird that 08/09 recession were upside down... rolleyes.gif
any clues about it?
andyfriends
post Mar 25 2009, 09:40 AM

2,326 posts

I wonder if the FD that was previously placed b4 the reduction of the interestion will continue to bear the same interest as previously?
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2009, 09:44 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Mar 25 2009, 09:40 AM)
I wonder if the FD that was previously placed b4 the reduction of the interestion will continue to bear the same interest as previously?
Once the FD renewed, it'll be based on the new rate no matter what's the old rate previously

trainee06
post Mar 25 2009, 01:39 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 25 2009, 08:54 AM)
weird that 08/09 recession were upside down...  rolleyes.gif
any clues about it?
Well, this time around is totally difference because just a simple question where the bank can invest? Stocks? Property? Commodity? Insurances? bonds?

the whole capital market is in the mess. The US in deep trouble (I guess some who hate US every much should be celebrating, "US is an evil!" "Boycott US!" Congratulations! dreams come true!).

Nowadays, bank avoiding you all to put in money, because your money in the account is their burden. They need to pay you interest. No income generated. They rather want you get loan from them. That's why for last 10 years, bank very keen on credit card, housing loan and etc. All the product is you paying them interest. Bank need to answer to their boss, the shareholder on the capital return or dividend. Did you notice now bank try to minimise their cost, putting all machine rather than teller. Teller is a cost to them, i.e bank benefits and so on. They most of the bank want sales people and create a lot of marketing company to run the sales. So, these people cannot enjoy bank benefits. (Another way of reduce cost).

Start having ridiculous charges. ie. if you saying less than RMXXXX, they will charges you admin, processing fees (whatever name they like to use). Need introducer to open an account, must have employment letter and so on.

Why interest rates is decreasing? To increase the money flowing into the market i.e want people to spend/invest. (need a period of time to see the results, works or not, I dunno )
Imagine everybody is keeping the money and not spending/invest.

=> companies less business
=> less business => no increment, no bonus, retrench
=> people earn less
=> more people not spending
=> companies no business
=> companies close down
=> unemployment.

Just a basic example. hahaha Any sifu out there can enlighten me if I am wrong. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by trainee06: Mar 25 2009, 01:48 PM
cherroy
post Mar 25 2009, 01:52 PM

25,802 posts

Just to add, why 1997-1998 interest rate sky-rcoketing, because at that time Asian currency was under attacked by hedge fund and most Asian countries were short of foreign currency reserves to withstand the massive sudden outflow of their currency which can bankrupt them, so in order to attract more fund inflow, they need to increase the interest rate.
Also those under IMF aid countries, interest rate increase was part of IMF's "advice".

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 25 2009, 01:53 PM
lwb
post Mar 25 2009, 02:08 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Mar 25 2009, 08:54 AM)
weird that 08/09 recession were upside down...  rolleyes.gif
any clues about it?
one of the factor is liquidity.. what was different then and today is that, there's ample of liquidity in the country now. so much so that banks can generously increased their provisions to offset foreseeable ill performance down the road.

money management is a very interesting subject.. how the inflow/outflow of money affects fiscal policies.
lwb
post Mar 25 2009, 02:19 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(trainee06 @ Mar 25 2009, 01:39 PM)
Well, this time around is totally difference because just a simple question where the bank can invest? Stocks? Property? Commodity? Insurances? bonds?

the whole capital market is in the mess. The US in deep trouble (I guess some who hate US every much should be celebrating, "US is an evil!" "Boycott US!" Congratulations! dreams come true!).

Nowadays, bank avoiding you all to put in money, because your money in the account is their burden. They need to pay you interest.  No income generated. They rather want you get loan from them. That's why for last 10 years, bank very keen on credit card, housing loan and etc. All the product is you paying them interest. Bank need to answer to their boss, the shareholder on the capital return or dividend. Did you notice now bank try to minimise their cost, putting all machine rather than teller. Teller is a cost to them, i.e bank benefits and so on. They most of the bank want sales people and create a lot of marketing company to run the sales. So, these people cannot enjoy bank benefits. (Another way of reduce cost).

Start having ridiculous charges. ie. if you saying less than RMXXXX, they will charges you admin, processing fees (whatever name they like to use). Need introducer to open an account, must have employment letter and so on.

Why interest rates is decreasing? To increase the money flowing into the market i.e want people to spend/invest. (need a period of time to see the results, works or not, I dunno )
Imagine everybody is keeping the money and not spending/invest.

=> companies less business
=> less business => no increment, no bonus, retrench
=> people earn less
=> more people not spending
=> companies no business
=> companies close down
=> unemployment.

Just a basic example. hahaha Any sifu out there can enlighten me if I am wrong.  biggrin.gif
what you've illustrated is overly simplistic.. to begin with, spend some time to understand how a retail bank operates (as opposed to other financial entities)..

it's not entirely correct to say that deposit money to a retail bank is a burden.. (where do you get this silly idea in the first place?). you may've looked at it on the perspective of revenue margin alone to hatch this idea, but a deposit from a customer serves more than just a burden/deposit..

the lender(aka bank) relies on leveraging inorder to lend out money. bank can't simply just create money out of thin air and lend it out. federal regulations requires a statutory provisioning or an amount of money set aside in order to secure this lending to the customer..

in summary.. without a single deposit, a bank can't lend out money.
trainee06
post Mar 25 2009, 04:41 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Mar 25 2009, 02:19 PM)
what you've illustrated is overly simplistic.. to begin with, spend some time to understand how a retail bank operates (as opposed to other financial entities)..

it's not entirely correct to say that deposit money to a retail bank is a burden.. (where do you get this silly idea in the first place?). you may've looked at it on the perspective of revenue margin alone to hatch this idea, but a deposit from a customer serves more than just a burden/deposit..

the lender(aka bank) relies on leveraging inorder to lend out money. bank can't simply just create money out of thin air and lend it out. federal regulations requires a statutory provisioning or an amount of money set aside in order to secure this lending to the customer..

in summary.. without a single deposit, a bank can't lend out money.
Thank you for enlighten me! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by trainee06: Mar 25 2009, 05:31 PM
gkl83
post Mar 25 2009, 09:25 PM

8,377 posts

maybe in simple can say like this...

our FD > deposit > bank > lend > customers

less interest from customers = less income for bank = less interest for fixed deposit...

correct me if wrong tongue.gif
ssiapf
post Mar 25 2009, 09:49 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(wkzvyx @ Mar 2 2009, 06:10 AM)
I have checked online about my eFD, the rate is still remain the same as the time when I open/placement of my eFD and I can see clearly see that online the FD interest rates, whenever I logon to CIMBclicks. Also, I have keep/printed out the online eFD receipts, and I checked back the receipt and it is same as what is stated in the online. Besides, I received the statement of accounts (for all my accounts opened with CIMB) like saving, current and eFD accounts, and also the eFD rates (as well as the amount of FD interest earned or the amount will be earned) are also indicated in the statement also. Those statements are sent to me, whenever, I place/open a new eFD or any of my eFD matured and also year ended. One more thing, for each eFD, the total amount interest will be earned are indicated in the statements also.

My eFD is tenure/duration is 3 months, mature every 3 month, and it will auto renew every 3 months. So, I receive the statements at least every 3 months. Once it matured, it will follow the latest (new) FD rates - of course.

Also, I do have eFD in Maybank2u and I also have current (premier1 account) with them, their statements sent to me, do not indicate the eFD so I could not see the rates and the future interest earned. Just now, I logon to Mayban2u, yes, then I can see my eFD, but there is not nothing indicate about interest amount that I will be earned. Thanks that you all put out an issue here, and I plan to withdraw my Maybank eFD and place it to my CIMB account. Then, when I logon to internet banking, I will feel more comfortable (since the gov keep changing the rates).
how do i check my own fd online? with cimb and ambank?

This post has been edited by ssiapf: Mar 25 2009, 09:54 PM
SUSDavid83
post Mar 25 2009, 09:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ssiapf @ Mar 25 2009, 09:49 PM)
how do i check my own fd online? with cimb and ambank?
For CIMB, it should be displayed under Account Summary.
andyfriends
post Mar 27 2009, 12:05 PM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 25 2009, 09:44 AM)
Once the FD renewed, it'll be based on the new rate no matter what's the old rate previously
wah so unfair. but the certificate clearly says 3% and how could they change it unilaterally?

This post has been edited by andyfriends: Mar 27 2009, 12:13 PM
lwb
post Mar 27 2009, 02:29 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Mar 27 2009, 12:05 PM)
wah so unfair.  but the certificate clearly says 3% and how could they change it unilaterally?
the cert has a tenure date.. once the tenure expired, the new rate precede the old one printed on that piece of paper.
the auto renewal mechanism/option allows you to keep that out-dated cert in order to reduce cost of printing new certs..
pretty.vain
post Mar 27 2009, 02:34 PM

44 posts

but i asked Maybank..they told me, follow old rate

124 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:44 AM