QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 24 2011, 06:28 PM)
Now many thongs from china, anythings is is possible
Added on August 24, 2011, 7:16 pmOzak, i understand from SS supplier (doing the hawker stall, stove), they cannot guarantee it will not rust. Just last much longer only.
A pure ss plate is softer and not strong as steel. To reinforce the plate stronger, probally laminate a metal material layer with ss. Ss layer to prevent rust while metal layer to strengthen the plate. In this way too will lower the cost which if using pure ss, would require more thicker plate to have same strength. That cost more.
If you want to experiment ss to see if it will rust, I can give you plenty to try. You want plate form or block form also ada.

mostly sus303 and sus304. You want titanium to chew pun ada.
Added on August 24, 2011, 9:11 pmQUOTE(zheilwane @ Aug 24 2011, 08:40 PM)
conclusion : Stainless steel will rust. The higher the grade the more resistance against rust. However, for household use 304 grade is good enough to prevent rust.
What ozak said is true also, some manufacturers put a thin layer of stainless steel while the inner part is steel which will rust. Sometimes u will c rust but after wiping it, then it is shinny again. Some rust, even u wipe it, it will still b there.
That is residue rust from the GI pipe carry by water to the ss tank. Once dried out, leave the rust stain on the surface. That is why when wipeout, nothing there. If really rust, you will find some small rust hole eat into the plate. You can't wipe but need sandpaper to sand the rust.
This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 24 2011, 09:11 PM