There is NO guarantee in investments. If an agent can promise u things, u better ditch him/her.
Public Mutual v3, Public/PB series funds
Jun 10 2012, 10:12 AM
16,872 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
There is NO guarantee in investments. If an agent can promise u things, u better ditch him/her.
Jun 10 2012, 12:07 PM
Jun 18 2012, 01:02 AM
Parliament dissolved - down
BN win - yea up up up PR win - down due to uncertainties, but will go even further once things settle down |
Jun 26 2012, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 26 2012, 08:48 PM) Paper or not, a lost is a lost. A value is meaningless in isolation, do share with us, how much was your investment capital?(And not to mentioned the opportunity cost if I have had put the money in FD or EPF.) Can only hope to be more cautious and recover the lost in near future... and with the support and experiences shared in this forum, it should not be too difficult to achieve. It's all stated in some of my previous posts since I joined this forum... read them carefully and you should be able to figure out all my mistakes I made. If your capital was 1m, 23K lost is only -2.3% If your capital was 50K, 23K lost is -46% |
Jun 27 2012, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 27 2012, 02:01 PM) Take a guess... do you think I would be like this dun tell me it's 50%+/- Take a look at any of the performance charts for China & Far East funds. It's almost near the bottom of 2008. The question is whether it's already at the bottom for 2012, or will it go down further to 2008 level, or worse still, beyond that bottom! Take into account that dark clouds is still looming overhead... Take a look into the fund prices if you want to make a switch... when the market goes down, all funds except bond & money market funds go down, just differences in the percentage of the drops. ======================================== BTW in hindsight the best time to pull out was April 2011. Would have then trim the lost by 12k. The major mistake I made was assuming that it can crawl back to the peak as like the local bourse. China bottoming yes, it's obvious from the charts...but how long will it linger there? |
Jun 27 2012, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jun 27 2012, 02:38 PM) How high or low the percentage does not really matter when there's plenty of stuff you can do and buy with 21k, but now have to skip. That's why Dow/S&P did better than the rest of the world recently Don't be too sure with the assessment, their internal economy could be doing well, but if the yuan goes the way like the rupee does, it won't be helping us much. Secondly, it is the hedge funds and foreign investors (ie. Euro & US) that drives up the market. Will they be betting their funds elsewhere when there are easier pickings back home? |
Jul 1 2012, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jul 1 2012, 11:07 AM) Are you trying to start a debate whether distribution increases the NAV of the fund? Please don't... just ended one over at the other thread. Come I join u here But a good distribution does shows that the fund is showing returns for the year... if you have been holding it for some time like a year or more... it's so much more exciting than holding a dead fund that shows negative returns. Let me add a useful point to consider A unit trust fund can have 3 types of gains: (1) Income from dividends received and interest received. Often, these are received in the form of cold hard cash. These are REALISED INCOMES. (2) Net gains from disposals of investments (proceeds from disposal LESS cost of sale). This is also a REALISED INCOME. (3) Fair value gains i.e. market value/"paper" gains. This is an UNREALISED INCOME. AFAIK, a fund can only make distribution/pay dividend from its REALISED INCOME. Thus, it can be said that, only a fund with healthy operating cash flows can make distributions. BUT It does not necessarily mean that a fund with healthy operating cash flows is better than one without. Why? Let me answer using an example/illustration... XYZ Dividend Fund received lots of dividends during the financial year, and so it is in position to to declare dividend for the financial year. It did not dispose any of its equity holdings during the year. Its portfolio of investments registered a paper loss of -30% due to adverse market conditions. NAV movement for a fund with such performance is likely to be negative, but it still can declare a dividend. ABC Dynamic Growth Fund received zero dividend and just a little interest income during the financial year. It does not declare dividend for the financial year. Similarly to XYZ, ABC did not dispose any of its holdings during the year. Its portfolio of investments registered a paper gain of +18% due to its superior stock picking in the volatile market conditions. NAV movement for such fund is likely to be positive i.e. NAV should have risen by about 18% during the past 12 months. Get it? |
Jul 1 2012, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Jul 1 2012, 09:32 PM) Not this AGAIN Bro, I humbly invite u to read the recent series of examples, illustrations and explanations on what dividends/distributions mean to investors Here, read from Page 119: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/690951/+2440 This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 1 2012, 09:40 PM |
Jul 2 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 2 2012, 10:40 AM) Really, please link me to the other thread, I will be absolutely interested to join the debate. Not necessarily. See my posts.Well, you can easily see if the fund is showing return by seeing if the NAV/unit has grown. If the fund is showing negative return, you won't even be getting distribution... |
Jul 2 2012, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Jul 2 2012, 12:53 PM) oh, more people is joining my personal boycott campaign... I've nothing against PM or any other UTC for that matter, but I believe that we investors should have informed knowledge of UT. Pink Spider got the link in previous page... the debate was over when I called it kindergarten stuff and another poster got upset. forgot to add... well done on the long post yesterday. Cheers. Happy investing, everyone. Till we meet again. j.passing.by is just passing by... |
Jul 2 2012, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(karhoe @ Jul 2 2012, 02:32 PM) I'm aware that there could be negative return due to unrealised losses, but my point was whether there's any difference to distribute or not to, (I guess tax credit is the only one benefit) Going forward, this reason would be no longer relevant cos more and more companies are distributing tax-exempt dividends nowadays. |
Jul 3 2012, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 3 2012, 04:12 PM) Please refer to: Wong Sifu, we are "killing" all those "dividend salesmen" http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/690951/+2380 onwards Heheh - repeated umteenth time at that link.. and recently too, thus, don't let it go to waste |
Jul 4 2012, 01:27 PM
I can sense another lecture of "what is dividend/distribution" coming
Jul 4 2012, 01:33 PM
Jul 4 2012, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Violet Ling @ Jul 4 2012, 02:39 PM) yes i want switch because of distribution. i kinda beginner in this. so it is a wise thing to do? NOT THIS AGAIN lets say my fund A got RM10k with NAV 0.2500 , after distribution how much i get? assume the gross distribution is 2 cent.. pls read the link given by kparam |
Jul 4 2012, 02:56 PM
Jul 4 2012, 03:16 PM
Jul 4 2012, 06:39 PM
QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Jul 4 2012, 06:32 PM) sorry for the noob questions.. Fund Reports > Fund ReviewI didn't see any holding details on the report... mind to enlighten me which session should I browse through ? See those PDF links? I'm not a PM user/agent, took me less than 1 minit to see them Again, u r not going to see the full list, only the major holdings. Only inside the annual report u can see the full list. |
Jul 4 2012, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jul 4 2012, 06:45 PM) If client's portfolio is not performing, agent's commission will be lesser when the client sells the fund. Since dividend fund is not something profitable then why would the agents introducing these funds to clients? 1st, your writing is seriously wrong.There is a difference between a DIVIDEND FUND and a Dividend-PAYING Fund A Dividend Fund invests in high dividend-yielding equities A Dividend-paying fund has as its objective, to distribute most if not all of its income to its unitholders I presume u are talking about the latter... Well, at least the client has BOUGHT the funds, commission is pocketed when the client buys, no? Not all dividend-paying funds are bad. Similarly, the fact that a fund can pay regular dividends does not necessarily mean that the fund is a strong performer. Obviously u have not read the recent discussions at Fund Investment Corner. Please spend some time to read from Page 119 onwards, any question, ask. Added on July 4, 2012, 7:03 pmA UT investor who monitors and tracks his portfolio will see that dividends are pointless. It is those passive UT investors who BELIEVED that dividends are a "bonus", "additional gain", "weath enhancement" etc etc etc. Why? I illustrate and example of the latter... - Ah Beng invested RM10,000 in PB Growth Fund. - Ah Beng never track and monitor his investment. - 11 months later, his account value actually shot up to RM11,500. But he won't know cos he never go and check his units x NAV price. - Month 12, dividend is declared. Ah Beng elected to receive dividends in the form of cash payment. - Distribution is paid. Ah Beng received a cheque for RM1,000 - His account value is now RM10,500. Dividend or not, at Month 12, Ah Beng's investment is already worth RM11,500. Dividend - RM10,500 in units + RM1,000 in cash on hand = RM11,500 No dividend - RM11,500 all in units FAHAM KA??? This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 4 2012, 07:03 PM |
Jul 4 2012, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(debbieyss @ Jul 4 2012, 07:48 PM) Pinkie and Mr. Wong, thanks for replying. Yes, I was referring to the dividend-paying fund, sorry for not able to specify it. Well, I have read the previous pages but it doesn't mention what I wanted to know. That statement is flawed and very wrong. If one chooses to reinvest, he/she could have bought more units at lower NAV, which is also a way to leverage down the price that he/she bought earlier on. Aiyo forgot to add on something Refer back to my earlier example... Dividend or not, at Month 12, Ah Beng's investment is already worth RM11,500. Dividend - RM10,500 in units + RM1,000 in cash on hand = RM11,500 Dividend REINVESTED - RM11,500 all in units No dividend - RM11,500 all in units Why can't u comprehend the many examples and illustrations given? BEFORE dividend, u have 4 pieces of moon cakes, totalling 200g x 4 = 800g AFTER dividend, your 4 pieces of moon cakes are cut into quarters each, making 16 pieces. 16 pieces x 50g = 800g PLEASE UNDERSTAND THIS ANALOGY Dividend only makes your holdings become smaller in value, and at the same time "giving" u more units. At the end it's back to zero... It's exactly like, u own 50% in ABC Berhad. ABC Berhad has net assets of RM100m, which included RM10m cash. So, ur stake in ABC Berhad is worth RM100m x 50% = RM50m If tomorrow the Board of Directors decide to pay out a dividend of RM10m, u will get cash of RM10m x 50% = RM5m And your stake in ABC Berhad will become RM90m x 50% = RM45m How much u OWN now? RM45m in shares and RM5m in cash, total = RM50m Then u decide to reinvest into the company (and assuming the other shareholders do the same) The net assets of ABC Berhad will now go up to RM90m + RM10m = RM100m And u own RM100m x 50% = RM50m now Dividend in unit trust is just like that!!! I need to see a heart specialist This post has been edited by Pink Spider: Jul 4 2012, 08:07 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0601sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:33 PM |