Planted Aquarium V7, not just fish with water anymore

LuQEE
post Feb 7 2012, 01:26 AM

66 posts

Hi everyone,
Im luuqee and currently new to this kind of hobby...kinda noob actually

So i have a few questions regarding on how to take care a planted aquarium...(sorry for the terrible english)

1) so i heard about those PH, ammonia, nitrate and nitrite level, why should i buy the test kits?
Which one i should buy first and where? and how much do they cost each?
and what brand should i look for? planning to get meself a batch of RCS so do i need to buy all of them or which one (the test kits)?

2) do i need to get a thermometer? no heater required right?

3) i already set up myself a 5g plastic tank to be used as my first try planted aquarium for a betta tank,
got meself a few aquatic plants, some small soil pebbles( not sure the type and name),
a filtration system and still doing a full tank recycle process thing and adding my bettas into it(bettas seemed to be happy with the new bigger space and no side effect even though havent finished the full cycle)
and install a submersible light rated 16w with white-ish and blueish somesort of flickering light...is it good for the plants?
cant see those small bubbles on the plant leaves, is this means that they cant do photosynthesis?
do i need to buy another extra lighting of the same kind or totally change to a new one?
if change lighting, what would you recommend since i got myself a small tank.

4) So if i was intending to keep a school of RCS army, i heard they (invertebrates) can die even with a little bit of copper. how do you detect copper in water?
im planning of using 10-20% of dechlorinate tap water (for minerals) + 80-90% RO water (to prevent copper poisoning), is this ok for RCS?
how do you get rid of those copper in water? do you use heavy duty anti-chlorine? can recommend me one?
They dont require heater right the RCS?

5) Im still looking for any kind of moss(spiky,java,flame etc) for my tank, anyone know where i can find them in Subang Jaya? already go round and round
in Subang and all moss are sold out >.< . how much do they cost and how large the quantity is it?
also i notice riccia is a very cool plant, greenish(almost all aquatic looks like that lol) colour and looks like an underwater grass field...do you think i can plant those in my 5g? heard they need CO2 injector, afraid it will kill the shrimps in the process and putting extra water pump might make the flow water a bit rough for my schools of bettas. advice?

thank you in advance..

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 7 2012, 01:28 AM
LuQEE
post Feb 12 2012, 02:52 AM

66 posts

got a noob question here,

why should i use ADA soil substrate or any other good substrate and avoid using small pebbles and sands only as my main substrate?
is it got to do with the fertilizer thingy?

LuQEE
post Feb 15 2012, 11:25 PM

66 posts

i got some more questions for the sifus around here >.<

1) anybody can tell me what type of snail is this? currently still quarantine it inside my 'turtles under renovation house'.
found it after heavy rainstorm inside my living, stuck at our LED tv >.<, the slime~!!!! FUUUUUUU!!
can it be introduce into my community tank? still cant find those big old golden apple snail >.<

2) can anyone help me identify these plants inside my tank? asked a few lfs and they give each weird and different name and i cant remember all sigh.
can help me with their local/english name and scientific name?

this plant bears flowers that looks like mini chili after 2 weeks...btw, whats the plant behind it too? yeah the melting one

this is?

3) since i found a few very big Metal-halide lamp as big as a rugby ball(the ones they use for spotlight in warehouse), can they be use for plant lighting? . Also, can those xenon 10k headlight be used as plant lighting too >.< ? saw them piled up in the recycled bin in front of my office( theres a lot of car repair workshop near my office)
im just curious haha, sorry for those ridiculous questions especially number 3

thanx

LuQEE
post Feb 16 2012, 01:25 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(usermode @ Feb 16 2012, 12:14 AM)
1) that snail got clawed by my RES and bitten by my labi labi and the sesungut or the mata tercabut satu..kesian weh,
so i throw him outside again near pokok pandan..also notice alot of that snail usually found at pokok pandan and banana tree.

2) hurm...ok.. but how did you ...remember the scientific names? shocking.gif

3)will upload photo on friday, tomorrow MC.hehe

QUOTE(kurangak @ Feb 16 2012, 12:35 AM)
from my observation and from my opinion(if wrong pls correct me la..still learning and catching up with the sifus)
well, my tank is about 40cm in lenght or long (the panjang, not the lebar or tinggi..pening with the aquarium demension already)
and i used to use(before rosak last week) 2 CFL light bulbs with both at 6500k daylight,
one at 65w and another one i dunno. (got them from my office workshop)
now just using cheap aquarium lighting sold at lfs consist of 1 CFL 7w. the colour temperature dont know but will change to 6500k or more.
watt in my opnion is for the amount of electricity it uses, if u want lower ure electric, take the least watt.
higher is better, but too high = high electricity bills + temperature will rises + % of algae growth greatly incresed.
it also depends on ure plant, what type plant r u using?
moss and some other plants dont require high lighting so my cheap 7w is just enuff for me tank..(now they are melting, maybe too hot, 30-31C or no CO2 yet or need to change to better lighting hahaha)

consult all the sifus and gurus in the thread for ure answer.. >.< im not sure my answer is 100% correct

LuQEE
post Feb 16 2012, 12:47 PM

66 posts

im very curious on where you guys buy those feeder/ghost/glass shrimps?
already pusing all subang and they say "no stock" and "we dont sell them anymore"

LuQEE
post Feb 16 2012, 01:31 PM

66 posts

alright...this time im going to look for rundown type of lfs...
wish me luck >.<

LuQEE
post Feb 16 2012, 04:12 PM

66 posts

aiyoo... i want to go to the farm u guys talking about >.<

no wonder the cabomba plant thingy hard to die...
already many time chop off and replant still not mati mati haha..
from 4 strand now 15 strand haha...and fast growing too..

@Shoot@M3
bro, know any LFS in Labuan? wanted to go see what do they have here b4 ciao back to KL.
malas to go to KK since far and time consuming to go la.

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 16 2012, 04:16 PM
LuQEE
post Feb 16 2012, 08:48 PM

66 posts

just realized after painstaking info hunting in the web and in WiKiPeDiA,
i just realized my third plant is not from the cobomba plant.
also realized i got cabomba plant b4 getting this 3rd plant and it died a few days later or slowly rot in time.
the plant name is Dwarf Ambulia; Ambulis; Asian Marshweed or Limnophila sessiliflora >.<

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 16 2012, 08:20 PM)
btw kimimaro_kun just for xtra info, theres 2 look alike plant which is really look alike with that Cabomba Aquatica / carolina.
Its the Ceratophyllum demersum or hornwort, rigid hornwort, coontail, or coon's tail.
In my case, cabomba is hard to jaga in my tank bcos the leaves easy to tercabut, and clogged the filter >.<.
Also, they seemed to easily die and rot if the temperature is high like in my case too.
but this doesnt happen with asian marshweed which im loving it very much lol (no need cool temp, low lighting also can, stem plant and very very fast grower haha)

wonder if Taiko Sisaiko got them, planning to buy afew

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 16 2012, 08:50 PM
LuQEE
post Feb 17 2012, 02:43 PM

66 posts

no job in KK currently >.<
just miri and labuan for the time being.

cant seemed to find that Metal-halide bulb im talking about b4..maybe someone already took it.
but i found these and can i use them? brows.gif
(will it burn my room? 400w so hot!!)

LuQEE
post Feb 17 2012, 09:19 PM

66 posts

haha... i guess ure both right,
in the end after using it, ill be darkly tanned as a Latina Guy with lots of sunburns and of course a burning wallet~

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 17 2012, 09:20 PM
LuQEE
post Feb 20 2012, 04:39 PM

66 posts

^ i thought ure scared of their legs hehe tongue.gif

LuQEE
post Feb 20 2012, 05:11 PM

66 posts

bro, still cant find meself feeder shrimps haha
all those apeks and nyonya said, supplier wont sell them now since not untung..sell CRS,RCS and tc are much untung ..haha
so i gave up and kumpul duit for my army of CRS..haha..but still expensive woo

LuQEE
post Feb 20 2012, 09:29 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Feb 20 2012, 06:24 PM)
wat to do lah, really depend on the shop if really got sale or not
mine here I went back to the shop, all habis dy last sat

Shrimp are more sensitive towards water PH and stuff so need to learn more bout them. well, i'm not into any of the shrimp and expensive ones but maybe just the feeder cos they are cheap biggrin.gif

prolly u can start small amount first then upgrade from there smile.gif

true, when i first set up my plastic tank,, just 2 days old, already bought CRS haha (Noob here), then without acclimatizing them, just campak them inside (sigh)
1 died on spot, a few seemed to have copper poisoning since they always jump and jump in water and baring sideways... after a week, only 1 remained >.<
thats y desperately looking just a few feeder shrimps.. need to lvl-up my shrimping skills.. sigh

LuQEE
post Feb 23 2012, 12:23 AM

66 posts

i envy you guys who got soo soo much cash to spare drool.gif lolol

btw, need all the sifus and you guys and girls comments so i can make my DIY fan+holder design much more efficient and nice hehe(cant afford the real thing tongue.gif )
*warning, they look horrible since i dont have time to apply aesthetics values and most of them still need more designing to do haha* biggrin.gif

also, anyone have successfully DIY their own solenoid regulator? i find that 200+ for it is too damn expensive shakehead.gif , planning to get anyway though, but will like to try to make one if i can get the individual part cheaper >.<, manual regulator is about RM30-50 right? and the solenoid valve itself is between range of RM100-220 right?any successful modders able to create one?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
EDIT*
what about DIY lily pipes? cant find any store selling acrylic tube or clear high grade plastic tube near subang, care to point me where?. got no heat gun, but I have very big tank torch gun, can i use that?
also, i see potential usage of laboratory apparatus as a substitute for those kickass ADA lily pipes, but the the shape will be a bit different than normal..what do you all think?

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 23 2012, 12:33 AM
LuQEE
post Feb 23 2012, 09:15 AM

66 posts

haha..
alright, its back to drawing board i guess
thanx for the comments..forgotten about safety stuffs shocking.gif my fishes!! and my house!!

going back to my home back now sigh to cabut them back

LuQEE
post Feb 23 2012, 09:40 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 23 2012, 09:19 AM)
2. java moss - i tied it on the DW. cannot see meh??  doh.gif my skill sux
haha

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Feb 23 2012, 09:19 AM)
maybe u can use binder clip
hurm still cant think anything to attach that binder clip with the fan..

anyway, i find that my temp drop alot using this cooler fan, from avg 29-31 to avg 24-26.. alot of difference hehe is this good? so i can get RCS now ? haha

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 23 2012, 09:41 AM
LuQEE
post Feb 23 2012, 11:21 AM

66 posts

i want come to workshop too..
wonder it will help me if my tank set are low end budget stuffs?

LuQEE
post Feb 25 2012, 01:03 AM

66 posts

hehe, ppl low budget like me still dreams when we can get ourselves an Eheim filter to own and cherish~
currently still using an old but cheap china made RM20 internal filter for my 5g. this filter is already about 5 years old or so hehe..still can use

This post has been edited by LuQEE: Feb 25 2012, 01:04 AM
LuQEE
post Feb 25 2012, 03:16 PM

66 posts

err.. anyone knows where i can find CHEAP algae wafer? how much is it and what brand is it?
possibly near subang..
kesian my otto, all perut kosong + overdose puasa

btw, anyone have any issues who always lepas geram at submersible thermometer?
one of my female betta always tonjol her berried belly, butthead and libas at the thermometer lol...
scared it will break, then merkuri poisoning pulak haduh~

LuQEE
post Feb 26 2012, 01:15 AM

66 posts

*sigh* during this no xtra money period la all brand doing kaw kaw promotion...damn weh

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0246sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:48 AM