1,843 posts

--

This post has been edited by bugb34r: Feb 18 2020, 02:11 AM
bigfatant
post Sep 26 2011, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(bugb34r @ Sep 26 2011, 04:37 PM)

Thanks a lot for your stories. I'm sorry hearing that you already break up with her. I don't think I were able to manage this by myself. I do need help.

I'm trying to be positive, but it didn't work most of the time. Instead, i'm getting more sober.

I don't think my girlfriend was able to tolerate with it anymore. She really think that i'm psychotic. (which i'm not) . She already knew that i'm trying to commit suicide, now she scared that i'm going to harm her. (I will not, and I think you understand how I feel). I just want her support, but now it looks like she going to dump me.

:'(
You really have to be honest with your girlfriend and you have to ask for your family to help more than your girlfriend.

Unfortunately, with girlfriends, you can't force them to stick around unless they really want to.
The more you force them to do something the more they want to reject it.
You can imagine that what advice her family and friends are giving to her at the moment regarding you.

If you are honest with her and she can't accept or be patient with you regarding your condition, you can't ask her to stick with you forever.
Hopefully she can accept you but if she can't accept it, it will only be another issue for you to get angry about it when you're a bit down.

I suggest you be honest with her. I suggest you give her space and distance yourself from her and tell her you need to sort your own issues out first.
Tell her you want to still talk to her as friends even if you can't be boyfriend/girlfriend. Having her as an outlet to discuss your problems will help you tremendously. When she can see your condition has improved, maybe you can continue your relationship.

This website has quite extensive information on bipolar
http://www.winmentalhealth.com/about_bipolar_disorder.php

3/4 of the way down on the above website:

Exercise

One suggestion that has been made as to factors that contribute to BD is that stress can trigger bipolar disorder. BD is "stress related). (Burgess, W., 2006). Vigorous exercise early in the morning can help to keep one calm and balanced throughout the day. Similarly, a brisk walk, outdoors in the evening can work better than a sleeping pill. Persons with bipolar disorder need exercise. Walking, swimming, biking, all affect a person's psyche in a positive direction, forward and with a feeling of purpose. The physical activity helps to burn off the stress which can fuel both depression and manic episodes. Chemically, exercise also has a positive effect on the mind, which can balance out highs and lows in one's mood and can even help lead one to full recovery.

Another website: 50 Natural Ways to Overcome Symptoms of Bipolar Disorder
http://www.winmentalhealth.com/self_help_b...ar_disorder.php

Again, i have no opinion on drugs, but I believe regular daily exercise would help you tremendously.
Consider waking up early and going to the gym, going swimming or just walking around the block every day (the free option!).
Easy to try and see if that helps you out.
baoz
post Sep 27 2011, 12:14 PM

963 posts

The best would be for you to consult a psychiatrist, he/she will know what's best for you.

It's hard to admit that you have a psychiatric disorder, and your friends/family may brand you as "psychotic".. It's just something our society has not come to accept.

Whenever you feel doubtful if you really need help or not. Just flash back to the times you had an attack, and think about the people around you. Since you are only 20, I assume you are not working yet. Imagine in future you had an attack at work, what would your colleagues and boss perceive you as?

If you feel you need help, start early and start young.
insidexjokes
post Dec 10 2011, 08:10 AM

68 posts

Im sorry, what is the difference between Bipolar and anxiety disorder.
I've been diagnosed with Anxiety Disorder.
munkeyflo
post Dec 10 2011, 02:23 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(insidexjokes @ Dec 10 2011, 08:10 AM)
Im sorry, what is the difference between Bipolar and anxiety disorder.
I've been diagnosed with Anxiety Disorder.
It's completely two different disorders. Lol.
Bipolar means you have ups and downs, this includes depression and manic episodes.

Anxiety disorder is to do with being anxious and probably having panic attacks. Get the person who diagnose you to tell you more about it.
Imaizumi
post Nov 29 2019, 01:55 PM

266 posts

I am close to someone with Schizophrenia. Bipolar is not death sentence, everything will be fine. Always be positive, there's always light at the end of the tunnel. smile.gif.

This post has been edited by Imaizumi: Nov 29 2019, 01:55 PM
kd2704
post Nov 30 2019, 02:25 AM

151 posts

Hi. I used to be diagnosed with Bipolar II, and now it's been revised to Schizoaffective (Schizophrenia with a mood disorder present). I didn't manage to read the whole thread (I'm dyslexic, sorry), but I was diagnosed at the same age at you, 20 years old. Now I'm 27 and still on medication since 7 years ago.

There's a support group on WhatsApp called Fire and Ice where bipolars unite. Unfortunately I've exited the group due to some personal conflict, but if you would like to know more, just PM me.

If you really cannot tahan to the point suicide has been an option (which seems like the case), do visit the Emergency unit. They will prioritise your case. I know it's easier said than done, but trust me, they will take care of you.

Are you having a manic or a depressed episode currently? Or mixed?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0168sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:21 AM