SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V12, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

KimRoss
post Aug 20 2011, 02:31 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Hello everyone. I'm going to be acquiring this phone in the very near future, and I'm curious how many of you got it from Maxis or from dealers.

I've found a very kind seller here, but just recently checked out Maxis' packages for the SGS2, very competitively priced (tho only 1 year warranty to the standard 2 SME).

My question is, Maxis sets good to go? Because it seems I save at least RM 200 but the warranty half of what I would get if I buy from certain dealers.

Thanks yawn.gif
KimRoss
post Aug 22 2011, 06:37 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Just got my S2 today from one of the LYN sellers biggrin.gif

IM IN THE CLUB /!
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 06:37 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Since we're on the story of battery duration per charge, how well is it working for you guys?
I'm on wifi since 7am with constant smsing and whatsapping.

On 75% now. Didn't flash anything new since acquiring the phone yesterday.
Just turned off the auto sync + Screen brightness to the bare minimum which, IMO is still pretty bright

=)
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 07:32 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

my ultra silke feels very powdery. was it the same for you? I'm not sure if its supposed to feel that way.
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 07:59 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(luvskyy @ Aug 23 2011, 07:55 PM)
only on wifi??... wat about data??... 11 hours just 25% dropped tat is very very good... your screen brightness bare minimum do u mean slide all the way to left??...
only on wifi. my network data is off, yet to get data plan, still evaluating options, digi is cheapest but i keep hearing complaints about service and stuff...

and yes, slide all the way to the left. its still good indoors, but outdoors abit too dark, was out earlier and i realized. smile.gif
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 08:31 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(luvskyy @ Aug 23 2011, 08:13 PM)
ooo... will try experiment it one day... but all the way to the left is really a waste for amoled screen... but anyway... user preference is the most important... smile.gif
yeah i know it's a waste of amoled screen, cos it really looks awesome. but have to prepare for times when i might be away from an electrical outlet for an extended duration of time.
so abit of sacrifices is needed to prolong battery life as much as i possibly can.
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 09:20 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

Oddly my SME phone supposed to have 2 years warranty but i just checked by sending PC<space>IMEI to 62002, and it states I have only 1 year warranty.

Hmmmmmm. Any idea how I should go about sorting this out?
KimRoss
post Aug 23 2011, 10:08 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(nicregi @ Aug 23 2011, 09:54 PM)
No wor. However, first time (brand new) could feel that. I always wipe the case before putting in. So never encounter that. Maybe just...first feel? laugh.gif
could be man. the case is only a day old. hopefully it doesnt maintain being so powdery for long. i worry the whole thing will slip from my hand when im holding it sweat.gif not a good feeling trust me
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 11:32 AM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

I think its pretty much the same as other AP phones. Warranty for AP is under a different company + you might have to go back to the shop you purchased it from to claim, wherelse ori SME you bring it to Samsung Service Center?

Original SME/Samsung Authorized Dealer should be 2 years warranty . AP 1 year?

*Disclaimer : I bear no responsibility for this input biggrin.gif please go ask properly about the warranty and all.

Added on August 24, 2011, 11:36 am
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 24 2011, 12:11 AM)
SME sets come with 1 year warranty only .... ONLY purchase from SEP entitle u for a 2 years warranty ... Initially , prices is the same for both as SEP is selling at RRP . Now , SME sets are going for least than 2k yet SEP is still selling at RRP price with a little free gift maybe . Check out your warranty card in your hp 2 understand more
Hmmm, what's SEP btw? btw it's a minor mistake on their side. My phone is supposed to get 2 years warranty by right. Will be rectified by today.

rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by KimRoss: Aug 24 2011, 11:36 AM
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 12:51 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

I'm still on maxis =( haven't jump ship yet. now just depend on wifi, cos I can't seem to make up my fickle mind on which data plan to take. 3gb data plan for maxis + 50 principle line = sakit .
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 12:55 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

kl bro. kl - pj - subang on a daily basis.
from maxis postpaid jump to umobile prepaid ka?

Added on August 24, 2011, 12:56 pm
QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 24 2011, 12:53 PM)
Go for Digi, like myself using 8-10Gb/mths, even not downloading any porn
If signed with Maxis I will be broke.
Holy crap.. 8-10 gb. you marketplace camper? icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by KimRoss: Aug 24 2011, 12:56 PM
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 01:04 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 24 2011, 01:01 PM)
y not? i fly away from digi prepaid+ discovery 68 package.
with digi my speed can reach maximum 3.5mb, with umobile i tried 7mbps.
500mb is more than enuff for me as my home n office oso got wifi already  smile.gif

the only downside is when going back mlk i have to get used to with the 6(.)4kbps celcom roaming doh.gif
oh. that's good stuff man. i totally didn't know about that. must look into it..

any idea if they allow prepaid to keep original number? yawn.gif
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 01:12 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

adoi. very inconvinient. basically gotta go maxis center > umobile center.

I'm on umobile's site now. the postpaid plan of RM 68 = 3GB a month + but the voice plan abit low. = 150 minutes umobile to others / 100 sms. after that will kena charge D:
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 01:17 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

You sir, have a great point. I'll look into that soon.

Go missing from all my contacts for 1 month to test usage.
KimRoss
post Aug 24 2011, 05:12 PM

The.Architect
1,715 posts

is there any way to "lock" the power button ? i tap it once and put in my pocket, it always seems to go off on it's own. when i pull it out of my pocket, constantly have to key in the pin.

0.0468sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:43 AM