olivur
post Aug 21 2011, 11:57 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

grats on v7 :)

ninja edit*

lil reporting in -

QUOTE(EugeneLowPNG @ Aug 21 2011, 11:14 PM)
Sifus,

I just checkout my hedgehog and there is spikes everywhere.

He is not really botak and i can't find any mites.

So i think its quilling period for him.

Is there anything i should take more caution??

Thanks!
check some of your hog's quills. see if it still has the follicle on it, if there isnt, it's a tell-tale sign of mites. sigh of relief otherwise :)

This post has been edited by olivur: Aug 22 2011, 12:04 AM
olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 12:27 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

then your hog's just quilling x)

try giving it an oatmeal bath, drying it then applying some ointment. he'd be comfortable enough to sleep for 20 hours a day i assure you, with minimal to no scratching at all :P
olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 03:03 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

well then! i don't think there's nothing that needs-a-doin so you could quit worrying! x)
olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 12:09 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

does she annoint herself after biting you? try faking a soul shattering wail the next time she does that. some hogs responds quite well to.. a certain level of human animation afaik :P
olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 12:41 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

no! by wail i mean, okay i know what i said but what i really meant is try to get her attention by showing that you're really hurting xD

while a gush of the wind to the face might be more of "let go, now" a soft wail might be more of "you hurt me ;-; how could you!". i remember reading how an owner did that before and the hog stopped biting altogether :P
olivur
post Aug 22 2011, 08:30 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(shukri77 @ Aug 22 2011, 04:57 PM)
When yr hedgehog bite u, dont pull your hand away as this can cause more injury. I have been bitten several times but not more than 10 times and the biting never cause bleeding.

Several tips to avoid biting, avoid put your hand or finger at her face when she is not in good mood. Make sure your hand is clean and odourless/ perfumeless. When she start sniff your hand, quickly put your hand away as biting is imminent after sniffing and licking or without licking. I always call my hedgie name to wake him up as he dont like to be disturbed while sleeping. Just be patient, I also had the same problem, maybe he was in bad mood last month because of quilling process.

Now after i bathed him last two days he become more calm. The last time i was bitten was last 2 days during the time i dried him with towel after i bath him first time.

My Hedgehog  now can sleep on my lap while i watch tv but i must hold him with my hand or close him with my shirt.  rclxm9.gif
tak cucuk perut ke ._.

olivur
post Aug 28 2011, 09:14 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

2 days of an avatar marathon (the animation, not the homosexual life action remake) and i'm already missing all this O_O?

telileti! dibs on pinto!
olivur
post Aug 28 2011, 11:31 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

my hog's poop somewhat doesn't really stink but her pee.. OH GOD ALMIGHTY Dx
olivur
post Aug 29 2011, 07:13 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Aug 29 2011, 03:14 PM)
LOL, there'll be bits of dry poo & pee everywhere, plus on the wheel.
My female hedgie poos & pees in one corner so the excrements mix together to the consistency of diarrhoea. Ew.
lil came up with a habit when i placed more items in her playpen.

she'd usually only pee and poo on the shavings around her wheel. (ive always placed her wheel in a box with shavings) but recently since there're more items in her playpen, she'd poop and pee in a somewhat hiding box i placed.

with their powers combined (poo & pee), sweet mother of nature.
olivur
post Sep 4 2011, 11:29 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(-XIII- @ Sep 3 2011, 11:50 PM)
I brought my girl out to the garden today! she had alot of fun i think, cound't stop digging here and there, and ate alot of dirts  laugh.gif
monitor her closely. i do the same with mine and this one time i caught her gnawing on a rogue pebble that somehow ended on the grass bit of my garden x_.

and mine mainly just stays in a circumference of 1 meter annointing grass and soil still lol

olivur
post Sep 5 2011, 07:12 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(-XIII- @ Sep 4 2011, 10:30 PM)
I think he meant feeding his hedgie with live insects  :sweat:
because I too find it hard to feed mealworm so occasionally I feed them kibbles/chicken/pork/salmon and fruits, I curi it from my dog's dinner  :P

Added on September 4, 2011, 10:40 pm

Yup I moniitored her closely, I don't want anyone accidentally step on her.. :stars:
mine run around very fast and then dig dig dig. When it was time to go home, I put my hands near her want to carry her, but she keep making the hiss sound like dont want to go home, so cute  :lol:
be sure not to feed her any grapes or raisins :d - while toxic i've read that if you accidentally feed them those, they simply become lethargic. depending on the amount ingested.

mine loves to chew on soil D: she'd keep annointing different batches of soil and by the time she's done she'd look like an s&p lol

QUOTE(MalaM3ntula @ Sep 5 2011, 01:57 AM)
I may just mate with a super duper ugly human if i'm caged up all the time and that's the only time i meet someone of the opposite sex!!  :hehe:

Ever heard of guys in prison doing it with other inmates coz their just too horny?? Thus term "don't drop the soap.."  :sweat:

Added on September 5, 2011, 2:03 am

Hey Mav, I've put them for mating for 4 days now...and yet no attempt at all by the male,

but my female has been following him around the cage  :hmm:
that's the problem! you're making it too easy! place him in a separate compartment next to your hog. before you know it he'll prolly be in your female hog's pen :P

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 5 2011, 07:15 AM
olivur
post Sep 5 2011, 02:55 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(MalaM3ntula @ Sep 5 2011, 01:56 PM)
Ok, thanks for the tip, i'm keeping him in separate cage now but right beside the female..

Added on September 5, 2011, 1:59 pm

A week is too long for them to be alone..2 or 3 days can lah..
i was mainly joking but if you think about it, it might just work ..right?
olivur
post Sep 8 2011, 01:28 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

my brain seized to function while attempting to catch up on posts in this thread ._x

i see clorox bottle!
olivur
post Sep 8 2011, 05:18 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

while a hedgehog itself could get cancer, how could it transfer it to you?

unless if you plan to do something really freaky with it, even a bite couldn't infect you ._x
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 01:43 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

QUOTE(Skinny01010 @ Sep 11 2011, 10:47 PM)
just wondering, how much do you guys set aside as emergency money just in case, JUST IN CASE, your hedgie has to visit the vet?
those ang moh websites keep saying exotic vets charge quite expensively, I'm wondering, how much do they charge in Malaysia?
i've heard a simple visit itself could set you aside rm50. so i guess that would be the minimum?

codicil*

telileti, i see that dib's not for sale. came to our senses have we :P

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 12 2011, 01:45 AM
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 10:51 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

as much as i know you love huffy and chubs, you know the lil pinto claims your affection the most. hence he calls shotgun (or dibs) on your affection.

ehh ehh? lol i'm just messing. but you gotta admit it does have a nice ring to it :3
olivur
post Sep 12 2011, 11:13 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

lil doesn't mind being picked up but not to the point where she balls up :(

/still thinks i'm missing out on an essential hog characteristic
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 01:55 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

and lil still wont eat mealworms ;-;

she is how she is, i guess tongue.gif

also, quotes self for telileti to reconsider the name dibs. i should start a petition or sumn. lol

QUOTE(olivur @ Sep 12 2011, 10:51 AM)
as much as i know you love huffy and chubs, you know the lil pinto claims your affection the most. hence he calls shotgun (or dibs) on your affection.

ehh ehh? lol i'm just messing. but you gotta admit it does have a nice ring to it :3
olivur
post Sep 13 2011, 07:12 PM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

he's so puuuny ._.

how much does he consume daily? kibbles that is
olivur
post Sep 16 2011, 12:48 AM

ollie ollie oxen free
1,273 posts

something totally bizarre happened ._.

lil CLICKED at me and curled up for the first time ever when i tried to carry her just now.

codicil*

prolly cause i smelled different since i used super glue on a cut i had on my palm :s

This post has been edited by olivur: Sep 16 2011, 12:57 AM

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:46 AM