Hedgehog Corner V7, Come all hedgehog lovers

rexeren
post Jun 30 2012, 06:39 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 30 2012, 09:25 AM)
all hedgie lovers here, i think i got skin irritation from grabbing my gal from falling, my palms now got bintik bintik like kena nyamuk gigit oni >.< why can this happen? Leo no problem with me though or maybe hedgie will release some tiny amount of stuff at the edge of their quill while falling?
I don't get any bintiks when I play with cottie since day one. But I do get them when Kirio pricks me. Makes me itchy scratchy. I always thought that it was because Kirio is dirty but even if I gave him a bath it's still the same.
rexeren
post Jun 30 2012, 08:19 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 30 2012, 06:46 PM)
same condition, play nth, kena prick whole hands itchy, why hah? any expert?  rclxub.gif

They are born with some poisonous mini substance on the tip of their quills XD
rexeren
post Jul 1 2012, 11:21 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jun 30 2012, 11:16 PM)
This is my naughty gal  tongue.gif

[attachmentid=2922406]
[attachmentid=2922411]

and how relax she sleeps after having her dinner  laugh.gif

[attachmentid=2922408]
Any nice pics of them together gether?
rexeren
post Jul 3 2012, 01:34 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jul 3 2012, 07:45 AM)

bath? use warm water, put in a basin, then put a few drops of dettol inside, put hedgie in, hold him, the use a toothbrush to brush his back, wipe him and use hairdryer to blow him (USE THE MINIMUM setting) don't get too close to him biggrin.gif thats all  rclxms.gif
hair dryer! i'll definitely try that on my Cottie !
rexeren
post Jul 6 2012, 02:04 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(TeliLeti @ Jul 6 2012, 12:02 AM)
Lol, he won't be hanging around any lady hedgies, that's for sure. Don't want more accidental baby hedgies popping out. wink.gif

I have yet to hear from the vet since he called to notify me that the X-ray shows that his eye is definitely ruptured and must be removed. I shall call in the morning and check up on them.

I seem to have a whole lot of bad incidents occurring before my exams this year.. one before mid-term and now this one before finals. Oh boy.

Hopefully Huffster's a lot nicer to me than he was before (even the vet asked me if he's usually so mean or not). He did sniff my finger earlier before I left him there. He usually just puts his 'visor' down and huff at me.  blush.gif

Thanks for the words of encouragement. smile.gif
Hope your hedgie recover soon telileti !

rexeren
post Jul 13 2012, 12:13 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(ddr3 @ Jul 13 2012, 10:47 AM)
can anyone suggest me on what to do with my gal to be interested in my boy? she sleeps all the time though the boy is around her, what a weird situation >.< is my boy too old enough to hav ahem ahem with my gal? he is more than 1 yo ald >.<
I'm not sure... but put them together for days? blush.gif
but anyway, I'm having similar problem. Like my gal is interested always giving hints to ahem ahem, walking around him to check him out, but my boy prefers to be alone and spikes up when she sniffs him.

QUOTE(Noobish @ Jul 13 2012, 11:28 AM)
Hello all, just like to update on my hedgies. I took in my cousin's hedgie, and though I face few problems to keep him, I managed to get hold on him smile.gif

Roll is doing fine. He's really outgoing, won't sit still, and explore places and play like crazy. Play really loud with his hidebox during the night that I have trouble sleeping. He loves to sondol and pusing2 that thing from inside. Keep begging to be let out, and in the morning everything is a MESS! Give me headache. Even poo in his sleeping area. Probably because his cage is too small (inserting wheel leave no space for him to play). He's really tame, and since he's an explorer nothing seems to scare him. Pretty smart, too. He seems to respond to my voice when I give small warning so he'll not to venture to places he shouldn't, though he'll ignore it when he gets too excited. Seems to enjoy bath now for mealworms that come after. Looks like litter-train won't be easy for him. Messy eater, leave crumbs. Won't groom if he's already dirty. Treat me like his slave >.>''

Fossil (my cousin's) is more open up to me now. He's a cuddler, and have potential to be potty-train. When I put him outside, he goes to a corner with newspaper and pee poo there, and move slightly to drier place to do business again. His bite turns to nip now, doesn't hurt much. He's such a cutie, when I put him down with feed bowl between him and me, he cross the feed bowl so fast to get to me, wetting his feet in the water. And when he sleeps under my blanket, he'll slowly crawl up from my knee to my chest, with his face turns to me <3 he even willing to sleep on my palm, unlike Roll who just can't sit still >.<" and Roll would turn his head away when he notice he would see me. Nowadays Fossil turn up his spines for show only, do it also half-heartedly. Rarely hiss now, would stop once he notice it's me. He's also a neat eater, won't leave crumbs unless he didn't notice it.

One thing I notice is that they don't seem to mind each other's presence. They would pick lepak spot near/next to each other under my blanket, I test this many times. If not Fossil, Roll will go to the other. So cute <3 Probably because they were together in the petshop and face hardship together TT.TT I put Roll in Fossil's cage once, and since they have the same kind of hidebox, he go sniffing at the entrance, but doesn't enter because Fossil's inside. Before you got mad it's just for few minutes while I wipe his cage dry, and I put his hidebox and food bowl in as well in Fossil's cage that time.

Sorry for the essay smile.gif I'd take more pics of them, and then I'd share with you guys smile.gif Now cannnot le, using cikai hp only to surf this forum.
hey hey my gal's the same too! Overturning plates and toys at night very noisy! She used to step on her own poop, messed up the place and wanted to come out but now she's fine already. I put her in the play area in day and put her back in another box at night. She doesn't pee or poop the whole day and wait till night to do her business.
rexeren
post Jul 13 2012, 11:43 PM

18 posts

@ddr3: I envy those who have hedgies that sleep in their hand while picking them up sleeping XD
rexeren
post Jul 14 2012, 08:10 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(wilsongunawan @ Jul 14 2012, 08:00 PM)
that is what happen to my hedgie. my AC is 23 degree.. is that sounds to cold?
If too cold they will curl up into ball while sleeping since too cold. My hedgie did it around 23C
rexeren
post Aug 10 2012, 01:37 PM

18 posts

Hyper little girl u have there ddr3

My cottie also bites on every near shirt I wear and tries to anoint herself with it
rexeren
post Aug 17 2012, 05:00 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Carmein @ Aug 17 2012, 10:54 AM)
I lost touch with the breeder right after I got my hedgehog from him. I tried searching him a month ago after I found out my hedgehog has WHS. I fed him medicine around 2.15 am this morning and he took it well. But a few minutes later, his mouth started gasping for air rapidly. From that moment, I knew that he will leave me anytime. When I woke up at 7.30 am, he was already gone.

Thank you all for your encourages.
Sorry to hear about the loss of your loved one.
I'm sure your hedgie knows much you loved 'em
rexeren
post Oct 25 2012, 03:28 PM

18 posts

Hi all, sorry for the late updates.
I've seen some users asking for photos of their hedgie's homes, so here's mine.

Basically my hogs' homes are divided to 2.
1) Basic Toyogo box home - sleeping, eating, pooping etc

2) Play pen made of corrugated plastic board + C & C cupboard(Link)
Reassembled to look like a play pen

And finally, a picture of Cottie sleeping behind me while I'm working on my work ^^
She earns a special spot on the chair since she can sleep soundly while I move around

This post has been edited by rexeren: Oct 25 2012, 03:30 PM
rexeren
post Oct 27 2012, 10:42 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(Noobish @ Oct 27 2012, 12:42 AM)
can i know where you get the C&C cupboard?

got it from tropicana city mall Carrefour

This post has been edited by rexeren: Oct 27 2012, 10:42 AM
rexeren
post Oct 28 2012, 01:10 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(efariz @ Oct 27 2012, 10:54 AM)
is C&C cupboard bite, scratch & water resistant?
in case if hedgie poo or pee on it, can clean easily.??
It's made of plastic/pvc things, so pretty water resistant, you can clean off the poop easily if discovered fast
so far they never bite it so i'm not sure about that part...
rexeren
post Oct 30 2012, 01:36 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(Miko_Chan @ Oct 30 2012, 01:17 PM)
Uh, i read a bit about hedgehog la... i think the colour is salt & pepper...
I don't even know how to hold it, so I have no idea the sex of it..
Looks like african pygmy that is sold in petshops?
I have no idea how this happen in malaysia... found on the road side... housing area..
maybe someone's pet... then they lost it or so...
Irresponsible owner didnt look after his/her pet well enough...
it is bigger than a tennis ball...
not sure if there are any injuries as I don't even know how to pick it up!

Gave it green bell pepper yesterday but it didn't eat...
Just keep sleep in the cardboard box, i put bedding and newspaper and tissue paper inside... shredded tissues...

I have to keep it alive and full until I find someone to adopt it or so...

What should I feed it?
I've read somewhere to feed it cat dry food, cat biscuit like royal canin or so?
Where can i get affordable cheap food for it...
I don't want to spend too much on it since I'm just fostering it for now, not gonna take it in as a pet since i already have my hands full
You can temporarily feed the hog with dog food, but crush it to smaller pieces first.
They don't eat much (as your dog) so don't worry
rexeren
post May 18 2013, 07:23 PM

18 posts

Hey guys
I wanna share some news about my pinto. Just 2 weeks ago, he lost the ability to walk using his hind legs, his forearms are still fine. I brought him to Dr Dev for a check up, but there is a rare chance that he can regain mobility again. It wasn't an injury or twisted leg. The cause currently suspected may be due to the kibble he eats. His legs werent very good/agile since I bought him but I guess it worsened after eating the food.

I'm still taking care of him though he started showing signs of eating lesser and preferred mealworms. Since he was not able to lift up his back, he is constantly dragging his back legs while walking. No signs of WHS "yet" since he's strong and ain't wobbling (according to dr Dev)

But just today, a few hours after I left him to sleep, my brother informed me that he was bleeding badly. I checked on him and it looked like he bit his own left hind leg. He became very fierce and started biting when I carried him. Sometimes in my palms he would try to bite his injured leg a few times but I stopped him.

Has this happened to anyone before? Your hedgehog hurting themselves
rexeren
post May 19 2013, 10:48 AM

18 posts

I didn't apply any cream/oil on him. He just suddenly bite himself out of nowhere. Since the bleeding didn't stop I applied flour on his leg to stop it

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0503sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:56 AM