9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V14

starrynight
post Apr 11 2013, 07:28 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Apr 11 2013, 01:59 AM)
Hey, I see you guys like to put the wooden accessory in your cages. Wouldn't the sharp wood splinters like, cut into the hamsters? ><
And how do you keep the wooden stuff clean cuz I think it would grow fungus or something right?

I'm having my holidays and I promised my girl that I'll make a playground for her this week.
Make sure there's no sharp edges on the wood before giving it to the hamster. Also make sure your hamster does not pee on it. I sometimes soak it in hot water for a while when I'm cleaning his cage but unlike other things which can be dried and given back to him, I let the wooden ones dry for a day or two, check for fungus and give it back to him.
starrynight
post Apr 11 2013, 07:32 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(yuuyee @ Apr 10 2013, 10:44 PM)
Ya, they might still be territorial even though changed to a bigger cage. Hmmm... and now they are sleeping soundly and living happily in their own separated place~ I really love your storage box cage, maybe will consider to have it after this biggrin.gif
Yup, there's more space for them to roam around actually and since hamsters are active at night, the large area provides them a space to run and dig around, closest thing they can do like in their natural habitat. Give them a good amount of bedding as well - they would love to tunnel around.

Don't try to put them together since one is afraid of the other and the other just bullies. They want their own space. Although just to check, you sure both of them are females?
starrynight
post Apr 11 2013, 07:36 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(FatCatLaLOT @ Apr 10 2013, 11:24 PM)

My hammies inside the wooden home, sleeping like in a coma.  biggrin.gif
Lovely home you have there for the hammies! biggrin.gif

Looks like we have the same wooden bridge. I used the plastic corner bowl as well but my hamster bites the side so now I switch to ceramic bowl. Just a q though, is the masking tape safe for the hamsters? I wanted to use it but afraid my hamster will get his whiskers stuck to the glue or toxic if he licked the glue.
starrynight
post Apr 13 2013, 08:52 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(pieplushie @ Apr 12 2013, 10:48 PM)
Hmm.. so I can just go to a park and bury it? Am I allowed to do that? o:
I'm not sure about that but if you do bury, dig deeper. In case dog dig the area. Or you get a big plant pot and bury him letting the plant grow back into nature
starrynight
post Apr 18 2013, 11:34 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Apr 18 2013, 12:10 AM)
Updated my thread on the used hamster for sale. Feel free to PM me to discuss anything  icon_rolleyes.gif
sad to see you quit. you seemed to be quite knowledgeable about hamsters to give them the best care nod.gif
starrynight
post Apr 18 2013, 05:42 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Apr 18 2013, 11:39 AM)
Moving to bearded dragon haha. Actually anybody can be knowledgeable & give the best care to their pets too. Just matter of how much effort they want to put in reading info regarding the pet they want to keep. Best way is to get a book & read it up like what I did (and online research)...

Just got myself bearded dragon book using the book voucher laugh.gif

ohai bearded one! lol .. the thing is ppl dun put effort to know more .. some more most ppl see hamsters like rats .. throwaway pets .. shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif
starrynight
post May 10 2013, 03:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ May 9 2013, 10:14 PM)
Ah yeah, I saw her food there that's when I got a little worried.
Blow? Hamsters hate that right :/ Hmmm but I like it when my girl sleeps there, she looks very calm there.
I'll take a picture soon and post it here~
Just to add. The blow has to be the gentle breeze blow. Not the full force blow. I heard guinea pigs can kena seizure if blow but dunno how true or got effect on hamsters or not la.. but soft breeze will do. Enough to wake them up
starrynight
post May 13 2013, 11:27 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(rhianova @ May 11 2013, 06:48 PM)
Actually when I was in the pet shop the store assistant told me not to get sand bath, she said that so far she's seen it makes their fur drop out so she recommended I buy some anti-odor spray instead. Is this true?  O__o

Also right, what is the minimum size wheel for dwarf hamster? The one I have now is like the size of...you know those RM20+ wire cages they sell in pet stores, including running wheel? That's the size of wheel I have, but my WW hammy doesn't seem to be running on it, so I'm scared it might be too small maybe? D: Thinking of getting him a bigger wheel if that's the case.
I personally would not use any spray on the hamster. Who knows what chemical is in the mix. My hamsters like their sand bath but you should monitor yours. If got fur drop, let's discuss the solution. Maybe it's the sand?

As for wheel, since your WW is a dwarf - it needs at least 6.5 inches in diameter to prevent backache. Don't get this wheel

As it will cause bumble foot and hurt your hamster's feet. A good silent wheel will be more expensive but quality in a long run. I bought mine for RM 45 + I think. You can also get the wodent wheel but that would be RM 70 or so.

Here's how my wheel looks like .. similiarly

The huge one obviously is for syrian, the medium one (make sure 6.5 inches diameter) is for dwarvies. Not quite sure about robo though.

I bought my storage box 345 square inches for RM 50, transparent case. Tall enough to not let them (WW) climb out.

This post has been edited by starrynight: May 13 2013, 11:28 AM
starrynight
post May 14 2013, 11:51 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ May 13 2013, 03:15 PM)
oh my gawddd I feel cheated by Tesco lol.
Anyways infernoaswen, when my girl's in the sand, do I blow until she comes out of it, or only to wake her up?
Starrynight : I use the smallest green wheel for my robos, they seem fine, but the medium should be more comfortable for them.

yes, it depends on your hamster .. but make sure their back don't arch else it'll be painful for them to run ..

i usually blow my hamster till they wake cause they will auto shift someplace else after that

your robo has such a cutie face , i want to cubit laugh.gif
starrynight
post May 15 2013, 04:19 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ May 14 2013, 04:19 PM)
I tried to blow my girl when she was in the sand, she just look at me (angrily of course) and move to the other corner of the box lolol. But I blew her when she was biting the metal supporter of the wheel, she stops after a few seconds.

Thanks starrynight smile.gif That's Chub-Chub, he was the chubbiest among the 3. Unfortunately he just passed away a couple of minutes ago. My fault, forgot to refill the water bottle ><
oh no! ohmy.gif
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 10:00 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jun 6 2013, 04:54 PM)
Newbie here looking forward to my first hamsters. wub.gif

Which mall you people prefer to shop for these cuties?
So far I know Mid Valley, Paradigm and The Mines have this Pet Shop.
my advice to you is to get the hamsters from those who have less hamsters in the box.

Any hamster will do but do know that if you get a grown up female, it might come home with you pregnant.

Signs to look out for healthy hamsters

+ eyes clear and no discharge
+ belly clear and no weird coloring
+ fur smooth and not ruffled
+ does not look sickly
+ does not charge or attempt to bite you when you put your hand in

what species are you getting ?
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 11:07 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jun 7 2013, 10:33 AM)
Ah alright Paradigm is a 10 mins drive for me.  notworthy.gif
Alright will take note.  smile.gif

Most probably robo.
I prefer hyperactive stuffs.  tongue.gif
tongue.gif

I would advise you against robo if this is your first encounter with hamsters.

If they happen to escape, they run very fast and can slip off your hands easily due to their size.

First timers are best to get a syrian
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 11:43 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(takkicom @ Jun 7 2013, 11:38 AM)
Yes

DONT BUY ROBOROVSKI,
this is the "shitty" hamster, fear of human, i keep them for 3 whole mth still nonhuman friendly, now i let it be whatever they want, never play with them anymore just left them alone
Djungarian hamster
so far these white brown etc is very friendly, you can train them by feeding and play around, the see me so happy everytime i get home XD, food machine is back
I have to disagree with you being shitty hamster. It all depends on their personality and robos are known to be the hamsters to watch, not hold. They are the last hamster species to be domestic while syrian is the first.

There's no stereotyping hamsters with behaviors. It all depends on their personality, just like humans.

That being said, robos are actually more to a watching hamster and harder to tame. I seen people with robos who like to cuddle up with them but would not recommend for first time owner.

Winter white are okay, I have them as my first official hamsters. There's also a stereotype that they are bitey hamsters but my fur balls are just so sweet but yes, bites are something to be expected from them as a owner. I been bitten 4 times by my sweet boy as they are still animals that goes by instinct.
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 01:13 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jun 7 2013, 12:58 PM)
Haiyaa like that ar.
Maybe winter white then.  hmm.gif

Gonna get a pair of same sex-ed.  wub.gif
with ww hamsters le, make sure they are the same sex else you're gonna get new set of worries if there's babies.

ask the shop people. i personally prefer sstwo mall pet shop cause less people and you can take your time to learn and ask properly. the sales lady there even show me how to see which is which.

ww hamsters can live together but if they begin fighting until there's blood or injury, you have to separate them. they can get territorial. so be prepared for another home when that happens.

extra info :

syrian is solitary. only one hamster per cage. they live alone and will be stressed if put with another.

ww can be put together but once fight like mentioned above, separate them

robo are more social but get them in 2, not 3 or else they might gang up on one

what kind of cage are you getting?
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 02:35 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(V-Zero @ Jun 7 2013, 02:16 PM)
Most probably those fish tank acrylic ones.
Just surveying and research-ing for now.

SS2 Mall is even closer to me.
Will go there instead! biggrin.gif
If you have any question, feel free to ask or add me on msn/skype smile.gif

be happy to help. if you get to ss2 mall, find this tiny specky tudung lady. she will be able to assist and help you
starrynight
post Jun 7 2013, 08:38 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jun 7 2013, 05:59 PM)
if you plan to get acrylic fish tank, get the 2FT size. That will give your hamster sufficient space, in fact I was using 1 for my syrian. Still have it haha, bought for RM55.

Best part about acrylic/plastic storage box is that you can bring carry it to the toilet & wash it with water. Simple, easy, fast & cheap. Those cages made for hamsters are harder to clean, pre-attached tubes, metal bars etc requires scrubbing.
Exactly. Hamsters need more floor space rather than tubes
starrynight
post Jun 12 2013, 02:25 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(wenten @ Jun 12 2013, 12:37 PM)
Hmmm mine 2 male in the same house

but as they grow up

one become larger thus bully small one  rclxub.gif
robos are more social creatures but if they do fight (with the evidence of injury or blood) then have to separate them de.

because they became territorial of their space. male or female also same.
starrynight
post Jun 15 2013, 09:23 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Jun 15 2013, 09:09 PM)
Hi again people....

My hamster is dying. On a Saturday night.....

I think she's broken her bones a day ago since she was moving very VERY slowly yesterday. But she still insisted on looking fine last night. Eating and drinking as normal albeit slower.

I came back today to find her eyes bulging, she laid on the floor not moving. Her poop piled up indicating she has been on one spot for at least whole day. Bracing for the worst, I opened her cage to find her still breathing. I placed her in a shoe box and tried to feed her water but she was convulsing the moment water entered her lips. As of now she's been breathing heavily (no sound) like somebody with an asthma attack, every 3 minutes maybe. Once awhile she'd cringe and look like its gonna be game over.

She's Syrian, female about 2 years old.

Question:

1) How do I take  care of her till tomorrow?
2) Does anyone know any vet that's open on Sunday or 24/7? I'm in Damansara.
3) Worst come to worst, I'll have to part with her. Any advice till then?
I'm so sorry this is happening to you but the best you can do is now is to try to feed her water. Do you have the drips to feed her water bitt by bit? Is she cold? You can put a cloth on your lap and slowly massage her to keep her warm.

I think there is a vet in usj. Not sure if Sunday is open.
starrynight
post Jun 15 2013, 11:27 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(zenyusof @ Jun 15 2013, 09:39 PM)
about 1.5 yo robo hammies.

They're robos. So should I just left them all alone by themselves? Really kesian. Try to introduce them back but still fighting.
It's best not put them together again. Don't need to kesian them because when you think about it, they are happier in their own and not fighting anymore.

The biggest evidence is blood shed. That's very serious as they no longer want to share their space and gotten territorial.
starrynight
post Jun 22 2013, 03:28 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(nova_freak @ Jun 22 2013, 12:56 PM)
Any brand that you recommend? Since I am a beginner, I prefer to give high quality food, to prevent uncessary troubles...

Mixed seed contains corn seeds, kuaci, some yellow and brown nuts...
by far, the best brand I can find in msia

http://www.hartz.com/~/media/products/lrg/...1108_large.ashx

The protein is a little low but the fibre and fat are just nice. JUst have to remove the kuaci ( 5 - 6 should be given a day, not more as it is fattening), corns (flattened and the bits as they are high in sugar),

Do you have a dwarf or a syrian? Carrots are fine for syrian but sweet for a ww. Salad meaning lettuce? If not iceberg lettuce, then it should be ok

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0293sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:47 PM