4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hardware Stylist Ultra Thin Notebook, The New Dell Vostro V131

TScowithgun
post Aug 19 2011, 12:23 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 19 2011, 11:46 AM)
hao liao must wait de.. not u use also.. ur gf nagging already???
ya, i probably only got to use it for a day to test and setup stuff for her. will install Plants vs Zombies... should be able to run at 60 FPS. AKAKAAKKAAK

Another shallow review:

http://www.laptops.co.uk/models/dell/dell-vostro-v131.html

i wanna see temperature!
TScowithgun
post Aug 19 2011, 12:34 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 19 2011, 12:26 PM)
she play zombies vs plants meh??? hmm.gif u should dl the link i gave b4..

the sora aoi & can watch 2gether! she waited for months.. she ok meh?? u said got 2 gf.. another 1 how?
yup, she likes that game. she plays that a lot on my ipad.

i never say i have 2 gf!!!! not true!

sora aoi... why do i got the feeling this is related to the link u share on your FB? wub.gif
TScowithgun
post Aug 19 2011, 12:48 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Aug 19 2011, 12:43 PM)
on ur ipad.. she at kl took mba?? but the post gone liau.. sora aoi damn cute.. i just wanna hug her! not 2 mean more than 2 lo~ i 1 also dun have T_T!

u stick with 11.8 official driver?

since sifu lee help me so much i goin to repay him with this

http://www.facebook.com/debbie.xuan

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001748024693
notworthy.gif u r so kind to sifu lee. ya, he also help me a lot. i oso want to replay him with this:

wonder which one is sifu lee taste?
TScowithgun
post Aug 21 2011, 01:33 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(wan_109 @ Aug 21 2011, 12:22 AM)
Yeahh, but I think the silver one is dull haha. Red one then?? tongue.gif
I ordered the Red one, just add RM14. It's for a girl, worth it.

Worry about the screen brightness too. My 3820tg is bright, with above 200 nit. By comparison, I think the V131 screen will look dull. Hopefully with less reflection on the matte screen will earn it some point. As of now, the screen could be it weakest point...

Here's a user comment on the screen: sweat.gif

"The screen isn’t that bad (But NOWHERE near as amazing as the Radiance)"
TScowithgun
post Aug 21 2011, 09:31 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 21 2011, 01:51 AM)
@cowithgun, you always 3820TG with full brightness ?

and I can't get it down to 6xxMB memory usage at startup laugh.gif
Right. I seldom use full brightness in 3820tg. But having the option is nice. tongue.gif

Ya, 6xxMb seem crazy for Windows 7! Not sure I want to disable that many service though. I really like Aero and stuff. Windows memory management will automatically page rarely used memory into hardisk to make room for new applications. RAM is super cheap these days. Still, it's nice to know that it can be done. Again, having the option is nice. icon_rolleyes.gif

Notice another small and slim notebook in Notebookcheck: E320 but looks like pricey at 740 € ~ RM3100 and the screen is also not good...

V131:

E320:

TScowithgun
post Aug 21 2011, 03:22 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(aie.unwell @ Aug 21 2011, 10:49 AM)
ollo, newb here. Cow, i'm going to order v131 too but...i want the backlit kb. can't find it in online order. So....what? Order through phone call? Through chat? Through email? This is going 2 b my 1st online purchase, and it's a rm2500 laptop? Kinda nervous though... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
having same problem as u. no option to select backlit. not even when using SG site. apparently, only the US website has the backlit by default. the options in Dell website changed a little over time. there is no longer option for i5!

instead of order online, you should really call the 1800-333-1888. i call and get a free bag biggrin.gif if your bargaining power is better than me (i suck at bargaining), you probably can get something more. alternatively, you should PM viper88 in this forum and get instant discount! see if they can help you to secured a backlit keyboard. i suspect more option will be available over time...
TScowithgun
post Aug 22 2011, 11:37 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 22 2011, 11:01 AM)
add color no need $ if u got add warranty. if u din add warranty also can bargain.  icon_idea.gif
damn, i m suck at bargaining. Updated first page with a more worthy review for V131. Highlight:

- Street Fighter 4 benchmark: 36.6 FPS! (on 1280x720) (sarcasm hehe)
- Red look damn nice!

http://www.ringhk.com/news2.php?id=4282

@aie.unwell: if you can wait, please wait, September seem interesting with Ultrabook coming out! Acer might beat Asus in coming out the first one:

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2011/08/ace...r-air-about-it/

( USD $770 - $960 ~ RM2310 - RM2880 )! No VGA though...

In my case, I can NO LONGER WAIT!

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 22 2011, 11:38 AM
TScowithgun
post Aug 22 2011, 11:52 PM

2,248 posts

Finally, a worthy review of V131 from Notebookcheck.com (in German):

http://www.notebookcheck.com/Test-Dell-Vos...ok.60036.0.html

As suspected, the temperature is not of concern in this notebook. This is Furmark + Prime95 running for 1 hour 23 minutes:

Max CPU Temp: 77C. thumbup.gif
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 12:08 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 23 2011, 12:01 AM)
Surface temps on the bottom seem quite warm at 42C.
Agree, at that temp, I will not recommend putting on your lap too. But when I look at other notebook, this is still lower than most, including the most recent Macbook Air 13" (with ULV). Here is a comparison:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=44728480

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 23 2011, 12:09 AM
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 12:15 AM

2,248 posts

For comparison purpose, here is the max temperature of MacBook Air 13" with ULV CPU:

Duration: 1 hour 27 minutes of Furmark + Prime95
Max Temp: 99C

Yes, there is throttling at 99C, CPU slow down to 799Mhz.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 23 2011, 12:16 AM
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 09:34 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Aug 23 2011, 09:10 AM)
What was the room temperature?
Room temperature has a bigger or a more direct impact (on our system temperature) in our climate.
@joanneway:

Both tests conducted by NotebookCheck.com:

Room temperature: 23C
http://www.notebookcheck.com/Test-Dell-Vos...ok.60036.0.html

Room temperature: 23.4C
http://www.notebookcheck.com/Test-Apple-Ma...ok.59563.0.html

Will test it in both in-door (air con) and out-door once I get my Vostro!

TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 09:37 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 23 2011, 01:31 AM)
SSD gone up to 59 degrees on  MBA? is that even safe?
Hey Eugene, seldom see you around. How's UK riot? You snatch anything big? brows.gif Just kidding.

BTW, good question, I did a bit check up, found this:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/253029-32-heat

The spec sheet for my 1TB Western Digital Caviar Green drive reads:
Temperature (Degrees C) - Operating 5 to 55, Non-operating: -40 to 70

The spec sheet for the Intel X25M-G2 drives reads:
Temperature - Operating: 0C to 70C, Non-operating: -55C to 95C

Look like SSD can tolerate more heat.
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 11:06 AM

2,248 posts

My OldTiam removed by moderator. Guess they dont like the idea... too bad...
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 11:49 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 23 2011, 11:13 AM)
lucky u din kena ban! where is the vostro??
Ya, they kind enough to just let it go. biggrin.gif May be because I always helpful to people here. *ahem*

Just call them again, she says may be next week. =.=
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 04:27 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 23 2011, 04:17 PM)
Haha I stopped coming during my final exams last time, then after exam went to Europe travel and stuffs, busy with finding new place to rent, then after that came back Malaysia for holidays..

I thank god I am not in London during the riot... It was really crazy, even the supposedly safe and high class areas also spotted with looting incidents... I am going back UK next Monday for graduation and to continue an Msc Finance degree.

Yea, I seldom come to forum anymore, too long didn't come very hard to keep up and give suggestions dy...
Nice, finance. Many boss I know are with finance background. You have great future my friend!

Add me in Facebook, look for Cowithgun biggrin.gif

Wish you pleasant journey ahead. Heard the economy in Europe is really not doing well. May be you should start buying property. Just kidding LOL.

TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 04:33 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(eugenechiuu @ Aug 23 2011, 04:17 PM)
Btw, I might be getting a Thinkpad x121e when I go back, There was a pretty good deal the other day at Lenovo UK website selling it for around 330pounds after discount and some online cashback, which is around Rm1650...

Really want to get one because it would make my studies so much more convenient... What do u think?
The biggest drawback is without USB3.0. With USB3.0, there is an option to replace your HDD with a small SSD, and use USB for other storage. USB 3.0 allow almost full speed of HDD without bottleneck...

So, are you sure?
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 04:45 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 23 2011, 04:41 PM)
Not yet since I wont be using the V131.

But my future notebook, I really want a mini-Sata port. Most Business laptop has those, I think V131 has that too. Then, I can buy 1 of those small 64GB mini sata SSD (size of a memory card) and slot it in. Will install all my OS and important applications there. VMware, games all from the original HDD...

brows.gif
TScowithgun
post Aug 23 2011, 10:59 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 23 2011, 07:54 PM)
hmm, didn't saw any extra slot on the V131 from notebookcheck website..
I was thinking since some V131 has WWAN option, there must be a slot? My friend just brought a mSATA from ebay and plugged that into his X220. He told me the slot was meant for the WWAN but he can use for mSATA instead...

http://www.asiatechtrade.com/upgrade-thinkpad-x220-msata-ssd

Possible?
TScowithgun
post Aug 24 2011, 08:47 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(aie.unwell @ Aug 24 2011, 07:39 AM)
erm...vostro still not here...

Guys, wat do u think about vaio s compared to vostro v131? Yea sound like a totally different class. Even the price. Usually vaio s vs mbp 13.

Just wondering... hmm.gif
From this spec, got these info:

Weight 1.69kg and Height 24mm.

So, it's not as thin as V131, but a little lighter. There is a discrete GPU (HD 6470M). This is a low end GPU, so, you cant really play game with it, I would these GPU are useless. Sony screen should be much better. The HDD is slower at 5400 RPM. I think there is a DVD.

For a non-gaming notebook, I'd try to avoid any discrete GPU since I already have HD3000. It suck battery and generate more heat.

TScowithgun
post Aug 24 2011, 03:12 PM

2,248 posts

I have prove that nVidia driver is more problematic than ATI driver:

1. Google search on "nvidia driver problem" returns 607,000 results
2. Google search on "ati driver problem" returns 327,000 results
3. Google search on "amd driver problem"returns on 71,700 results

As you can see, since AMD take over ATI, there is less problem. And the fact remain, both ATI+AMD still has far less problem than nVidia. rolleyes.gif

Facts aside, I been using AMD 5650 for almost a year, on a Switchable graphic some more, most problem can be solved by updating to latest driver. They have at least 1 driver every month. They continue to update their driver whenever there is new game. It's good enough for me.

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 24 2011, 03:18 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0310sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:15 AM