6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia N8 - V31 - [The King of Camera Phones], BELLE - N8 Run Like Monkey Kena Belacan!

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 28 2011, 04:07 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 28 2011, 03:58 PM)
Guys, got question to ask
2) Do you guys recommend to use F-Secure? Or this apps wasting too much resources and should be uninstalll?
I find F-Secure occasionally makes the phone less responsive. I switched it on to check thing out and now it's auto-launch everytime I switched on the phone. I couldn't find a way of disabling auto-launch. Any idea?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 28 2011, 06:05 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Sep 28 2011, 04:27 PM)
cannot uninstall meh?
I did not want to uninstall. I only want to stop this auto-launch.

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 29 2011, 07:12 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Sep 29 2011, 07:07 AM)
From all thype of app, I find whatapp the worst interm of battery usage.. As 3G or even wifi wil be permanently on "On-Connected" mode, My battery now dun last>24hrs compare to b4.

I miss the time, I no need to charge for 3 days  sad.gif
OVI store lists Whatapps as 4 Stars. I installed and quickly uninstall because what use is any phone without batteries?

SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 29 2011, 10:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 29 2011, 09:12 AM)
Nokia can as well u can do this in both ways. 1 - use power saving mode 2- use gsm mode
I am sure other phone also allow you to switch to GSM mode and not use 3G. From my experience, 3G uses almost double the amount of power as GSM.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 3 2011, 08:38 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 3 2011, 07:43 PM)
Yes screensaver does takes lotsa battery juice. That's why, if you install latest Battery monitor V2.1, it suggest you to switch off those backed running apps.
I am sure a fancy screensaver might use significant battery power but a simple clock?

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 4 2011, 10:08 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 4 2011, 09:13 AM)
Same also. If you install battery monitor 2.1, and u ativate it, it will force you to power saving mode automatically and thus saving more juices. Evne wth 2G & what app running on background, I now able to push the battery lifespan to 3 days!! B4 = less than 24 hrs!!
I am always reluctant to try any sort of monitor because they uses energy themselve to function. So do please tell me more about this one and what others have you tried.

On the other hand, may be you just tell me what things are biggest energy hog and I just swith those off and don't have to install this Monitor on my phone. I have now turn off my clock screen saver.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 4 2011, 10:28 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 4 2011, 08:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 4 2011, 07:33 PM)
If you reluctant to install battery monitor 2.1, you can do these (most of it also suggested & automated once you activate battery monitor:

1) Reduce screen brightness to the lowest possible
2) De-activate screensaver, big clock & etc
3) Switch to 2G instead of 3G

Another good way for those having 24hrs auto activated app such as What App to uninstall it if you dun really use it..What App for me one of the battery juice guzzer..Well too bad now i need it dy..If i uninstall what app, I think I can even get 4-5days  biggrin.gif
Well, I have done all that so I reckon i don't need the battery monitor (because it definitely uses energy to run). Here's a tip I read somewhere.

Setting/Connectivity/Network/Dual mode. Then activate Power Saving and it automatically goes into 2G (beside dimming display, disabled Clock and everything else to conserve power). When I needed 3G for surfing, instead of having to go through so many steps, I simply deactivated Power Saving and it's back to 3G.

Even with all that, 2 days is maximum (night time off) for me partly because I do have Bluetooth on 70% of the time. But I still recharge every night because nobody know what tomorrow will bring and I do not want to run out of battery.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 4 2011, 08:36 PM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 6 2011, 09:52 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(sowhon @ Oct 6 2011, 02:04 PM)
now Maxis RM399 with 24 months contract on their data plan....dunno worth it to get from them anot N8.....
if you need 3G (for RM88) sure can consider. But I seldom goes over 100MB (because I don't tether nor download movies), so I just subscribe their 250MB (RM38), a saving of RM50/month x 24 months = RM1200.

I still think I came out ahead when I got their N8 for RM950. 12 months.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 7 2011, 05:46 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(make87 @ Oct 7 2011, 02:34 PM)
any ppl getting N9 pic via N8 ?? As i saw comparison, N8 and N9 camera was in diff dimension level . . . . . . . .
Have a N8 and held a N9. The N8 felt like a plum women and the N9 a sexy slim model. But who cares, the N8 is almost half the price and cooks great dinner....errr...photos..... so all is forgiven.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 10 2011, 06:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 9 2011, 11:38 PM)
Haha, as I said this can be argued in many ways...which I will leave to individuals....just one point of fact here....

LIB or LI-ON battery major down side is heat...if all agree with that, then wouldnt constant charging (heat) would just deplete the life of the battery?  tongue.gif

Hence my recommendation to only charge when its at 50%...just me.....
I would charge at 50% at night because I do not want to run of battery the next day. But I would certainly not want to charge when it's still 98% full when I plug in my phone to PC via USB to transfer some files etc.

In other word, I wanted to be given the choice as to whether I wanted to charge or not. But right now, we don't.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 10 2011, 01:03 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 10 2011, 12:49 PM)
Well, If you worry battery minitor will drin your battery which i dun think so,,there are lotsa upgrades compare wth old wan for sure.''

Just do the same steps as what recommended & automated by battery Monitor 2.1 if you activate the power saving more:

- Switch to power saving mode
- Do not use 3G or even on 3G - Mainatin in GSM mode' Power Saving automatically disconnect 3G
- Screen reso to the lowest level'
- No background screensaver such as big clock & etc'
- Do not run any auto background app - such as what app

Well, except the last one which I switch on what app and if only I uninstall what app, I think I probably can get 5 days liao haha..
I done all that and my phone can never last 2 days. A typical day includes:
1. 16 hours day.
2. Talk for about 40 minutes
3. GPS for about 10 minutes
4. Bluetooth on for about 8 hrs
5. Surfing for about 15 minutes.

So it's hard to believe installing any monitor can extend that to 3 days, let alone 4.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 10 2011, 06:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 10 2011, 06:00 PM)
No wonder-lah BT for 8hrs? BT is one of battery suckers lor haha..sumore talk 40min (me hardly talk using h/phone..Better use UNIFI free phone or office phone...Crazy meh talking so long - mapus wor when comes to monthly bill..My avg Monthly bill inc of RM33 unlimited 3G <RM100 /mth...Surfing OK bcos I also surf ~ 5-10 min using GPRS now since I switched off 3G haha..otheriwse, WIFI.
N8 first and foremost is a phone so 40 minutes calls is expected. But I dislike using mobile phone to make calls because of the discomfort so I used Bluetooth. To me, Smartphone are for convenience and productivity hence even in office, I use the BT to send SMS and access Mass Memory (transferring files). Nobody like to type on the tiny screen when you could use the full sized computer key board.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 10 2011, 08:09 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 10 2011, 06:41 PM)
You can use

[1] Earphones (wired)
[2] BT keyboard to type msg (after type msg u can disconnected the bt keyboard)
Life is to be enjoyed and not tied to petty things. Wireless is more convenience than wired anytime. Switching on and off BT so often is not an exercise to be enjoyed. As long as the phone can last 1 day is good enough so charging every night it is.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 11 2011, 06:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 10 2011, 11:33 PM)
Guys, can we find a place using coordinates in ovi map? Can other gps like garmin do it?
Only Maps 3.06 allows you to search directly using coordinates while in Maps itself..

With older version, you have to create Landmark or Favorites using the coordinates and then select those in Maps.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 14 2011, 11:02 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 11 2011, 12:24 PM)
just enter the coordinate inside the search bar?  unsure.gif
For Maps Version 3.06, yes. Can't do it with 3.03 and 3.04. Not sure about 3.08.

And it's very flexible as to how you entered it. For example, you can enter it as:
Decimal type : 5.4195,100.323139
Deg Min. Sec type, use space to separate the Deg and Min and Second: 5 25 20.5,100 19 23.3

Latitude and Longitude only only need to be separated by a 'comma'. Furthermore, there is no need to indicate North or East. As for South or West, just put a -ve sign in front. For example -5.4195,-100.323139 indicating it's South and West.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 14 2011, 11:34 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 14 2011, 03:19 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 14 2011, 02:33 PM)
I've tried for 3.08, it works for decimal type but only in offline mode.
For 3.06, it works in both offline and online. I prefers to set my phone to "offline" even though I have data plan. Offline just works too slow because it has to connect to server to get the answer, even though the answer may be more comprehensive.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 14 2011, 08:33 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Oct 14 2011, 07:50 PM)
I also didn't use any screen protector
I bet my resale value is very low
LOL these thing don't appreciate in value unlike family heirloom. Just use it as you please and forget about resale value. Think of it this way, you use it like hell to get your money's worth.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 16 2011, 06:45 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Oct 15 2011, 11:57 PM)
i know the pros and cons of both OS and hardware design.

but it just too hard for me to decide.

maps and gps are very important to me as well as apps and browsing. wanted to buy standalone GPS but mahal pulak if buy both phone and GPS together

i will most probaby choose n8 if and only if n8 drops to 1100 next month as my camera lens on my phone cracked.

i like nokia phones which enables us to put notes and upcoming events on the home screen, too bad android dont have this feature
If you only use the GPS in Malaysia, then just purchase Garmin or Papago or whatever that can utilize Malfreemaps and you can jump to Andriod.

But if you needed GPS for overseas, then you have to stick to Nokia for sure.

Added on October 16, 2011, 6:46 am
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 16 2011, 06:26 AM)
She got really big eyes. Not so common amongst Chinese.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Oct 16 2011, 06:46 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 17 2011, 07:00 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Oct 16 2011, 08:37 PM)
Would like to know, 'background' means apps that is running currently... ?  hmm.gif

apps running are only DataWatch and Whatsapp woh ...  blink.gif

I think background means the basic phone operation just like Window OS running Desktop and not Whatapps. I didn't have Whatapps and I got similar result.

SUSOptiplex330
post Oct 17 2011, 10:18 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 17 2011, 09:23 AM)
Sifus, I need help clearing my C: phone memory. Currently I only have 25.4MB left.

I don't install any apps in my C, except for the phone's apps itself like store, map etc.
I know about clearing history and cache from the browser and clearing sms & mms. I also regularly clear my deleted folder in my email.
However doing those things won't free up much space and soon the free space will go down again.

Now anyone else knows what else I could delete from my C? Especially if i access my C from my pc, what folder could I get rid off? I'm scared to just delete stuff in case it will screw up my phone.

Also in my C, can I delete installer files for Nokia map and Ovistore? Nokia map installer is 10mb and Ovistore installer is 18mb. Can I get rid of them especially Ovistore installer bcz I already updated to the latest which is the Nokia store?

Anything else I can get rid?
Did you use photo programs like Panorama? It put lots of temporary photos in "C" that aren't automatically being deleted.

Mine has 100MB so your 25MB is extremely low.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0257sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:43 PM