UTP Thread V1, Welcome Freshies =D

EricYong!
post Mar 24 2014, 01:55 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Mar 24 2014, 01:27 PM)
Hi Eric.
1. I applied for the sponsorship (note: different from scholarship. PETRONAS does NOT offer scholarships) using my SPM results of 8A+, 2A, 1A-.

2. I used to be a roommate with 2 final year Petroleum Geoscience graduates (PGS) and I'll try and pinpoint some difference between the two (especially common mistakes within SPM graduates).

(i) Chemical Engineering, as a matter of fact, has NOTHING to do with chemistry (please cross away Chem Eng from your wishlist if the reason you chose it is because you are interested in chemistry)
(ii)  PGS is not an engineering course. You'll get a bachelor in science (BSc) instead of a bachelor in engineering (BEng).
(iii) PGS is the most expensive course offered in UTP (might not be an issue if you are a scholar)
(iv) The general conclusion I've drawn from PGS (looking at my roommates' assignments test papers etc.): you need somehow good memory (memorizing stuffs), somewhat -okay- drawing and coloring skills (you'll be drawing A LOT of graphs, stone structures, land composition graphics, etc.) and an above-average analyzing skills (which of course, can be nurtured in the future). For Chem Eng, however, requires you to have a strong foundation in maths (especially the calculus part). Basically what I did in my 3 years of Chem Eng undergraduate have been maths, maths and maths, with a little bit of other stuffs inside.

3. Yes co-curricular definitely affects the selection, I believe this is true for all scholarships worldwide. My co-cu wasn't that good either but I guess I still managed to join some worthwhile events during my high school life smile.gif
(iirc I got around 7.5~8 for my co-cu marks, not so sure about it)
This is a fact. And I don't think UTP takes a lot foundation students from other Uni in the first place, cuz foundation programmes are designed for future undergraduate courses in the same university.
I would say it is indeed a good environment for studies. But if you are looking for entertainment.. I guess no rclxub.gif  well at least there is a cinema just nearby the campus (5km I guess)
Hi.

I guess i really have to try my luck then cause i can't even meet their minimum requirement lol

Colouring? I have minor colour blind, not sure if that'd be a problem for me :S

In your point of view, what kind of people do you think should take PG or ChemE? Like I'm not genuinely and deeply interested in rocks and geology and afraid it'd be too difficult for me but people say you'll develop your interest when you study the subject? And i can't say i'm good with Maths even tho i got A+ for both, but practice makes perfect?

Is it true PG students do a lot of field trips?

And what do you think of the job prospects for both? Would you say ChemE has a wider job field and more demanded than PG?

Well the most major competition i've participated was Spell it Right challenge, so that shows how weak my koko is. My overall is only 77%. But i did attend my meetings every time, and the highest position i've ever held was secretary lol.
EricYong!
post Mar 24 2014, 01:58 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 01:09 PM)
Environment big lorrr
in term of? class? activities??
everyting's fine...
weather here quite hot, i think bcoz of mining place (TRONOH)
Got nice lake here  rclxms.gif
30minutes to ipoh
30minutes to lumut

Im taking IT
My house is located nearly 35 mins drive from UTP so i've already get used to the weather

It's just the accommodation there haha cause i don't feel like living in hostels but i've never been there before so maybe i'd change my mind

Students are allowed to live off-campus right?
l4nc3k
post Mar 24 2014, 02:14 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(EricYong! @ Mar 24 2014, 01:55 PM)
Hi.

I guess i really have to try my luck then cause i can't even meet their minimum requirement lol

Colouring? I have minor colour blind, not sure if that'd be a problem for me :S

In your point of view, what kind of people do you think should take PG or ChemE? Like I'm not genuinely and deeply interested in rocks and geology and afraid it'd be too difficult for me but people say you'll develop your interest when you study the subject? And i can't say i'm good with Maths even tho i got A+ for both, but practice makes perfect?

Is it true PG students do a lot of field trips?

And what do you think of the job prospects for both? Would you say ChemE has a wider job field and more demanded than PG?

Well the most major competition i've participated was Spell it Right challenge, so that shows how weak my koko is. My overall is only 77%. But i did attend my meetings every time, and the highest position i've ever held was secretary lol.
Most people (including me) only get to know what is the course about after studying for 1~2 years. I won't say much about the best personality to study certain courses as this is quite subjective. However I can safely say that without genuine interest in PGS you won't go far (unless you're a genius who does not need to study and still get good grades - not me)

Practicing does makes perfect IMO. (I am a lazy dude but I know a lot of people that fare well through consistent practicing and attending all classes)

How minor is your color blind? Just being very frank here that PGS needs to differentiate color quite well (at least the basic colors. No need lah to know what type of red what type of blue but at least know this is purple, this is green, etc.) And they are the only course that needs color pencils for final exams tongue.gif

And yes PGS students go to a lot of field trips. Heck, there is even a 3 credit hour course that is 100% based on a 1 week field trip. ChemE people, on the other hand, gets no academic based field trips (I've personally been to nil), there are a couple of plants visit though, hosted by various clubs and events in UTP.

Job perspective (note: very generalized comments below, read with cautious) - In general, you can have this equation in mind: The higher the potential pay of a programme, the narrower the job scope of that particular programme. In your case, ChemE has a wider job scope compared to PGS. ChemE people can be involved in OnG, food processing, pharmaceutical.. just to name a few. PGS on the other hand.. you get the idea. There are so called 'tiers' in the OnG industry, in which tier 1 includes PGS and petroleum engineering, tier 2 includes ChemE, MechE, EE, and tier 3 includes ITIS, CV, etc. the smaller the tier, the higher the pay and the narrower the job scope.

77% is still better than mine. Just apply for it. and be sure to perform well during the interviews tongue.gif

QUOTE(EricYong! @ Mar 24 2014, 01:58 PM)
My house is located nearly 35 mins drive from UTP so i've already get used to the weather

It's just the accommodation there haha cause i don't feel like living in hostels but i've never been there before so maybe i'd change my mind

Students are allowed to live off-campus right?
Both yes and no.
35 mins drive - I'm assuming you're from Ipoh/Menglembu or somewhere there. You can live outside the campus but you'll need to provide the management with proof that you are capable of travelling daily (I have not heard of people travelling to and fro Ipoh on a daily basis, but those that go back every week are everywhere.) and I would strongly go against the idea of staying too far (>10 mins from campus) because you will be dealing with quite a number of group assignments, night tutorials (especially foundation students) which require you to stay in campus for ease of discussion.
Ash96
post Mar 24 2014, 08:40 PM

206 posts

Guys , can tell me what is the difference between Petroleum Engineering and Petroleum Geoscience?
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 09:24 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 08:40 PM)
Guys , can tell me what is the difference between Petroleum Engineering and Petroleum Geoscience?
refer |@l4nc3k| post b4 this...

Ash96
post Mar 24 2014, 09:37 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 09:24 PM)
refer |@l4nc3k| post b4 this...
dude , i can't find le
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 09:46 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 09:37 PM)
dude , i can't find le
And yes PGS students go to a lot of field trips. Heck, there is even a 3 credit hour course that is 100% based on a 1 week field trip. ChemE people, on the other hand, gets no academic based field trips (I've personally been to nil), there are a couple of plants visit though, hosted by various clubs and events in UTP.

Job perspective (note: very generalized comments below, read with cautious) - In general, you can have this equation in mind: The higher the potential pay of a programme, the narrower the job scope of that particular programme. In your case, ChemE has a wider job scope compared to PGS. ChemE people can be involved in OnG, food processing, pharmaceutical.. just to name a few. PGS on the other hand.. you get the idea. There are so called 'tiers' in the OnG industry, in which tier 1 includes PGS and petroleum engineering, tier 2 includes ChemE, MechE, EE, and tier 3 includes ITIS, CV, etc. the smaller the tier, the higher the pay and the narrower the job scope.

77% is still better than mine. Just apply for it. and be sure to perform well during the interviews tongue.gif

While PE more towars engineering...

here link if u want detail
PGS: http://www.utp.edu.my/index.php?option=com...178&Itemid=3089
PE: http://www.utp.edu.my/index.php?option=com...198&Itemid=2219
Ash96
post Mar 24 2014, 09:55 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 09:46 PM)
oh thanks
PE work more like R&D and designing ?
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 10:01 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 09:55 PM)
oh thanks
i think better u google and do your homework about this.
Bcause we can only answer about study, not work

The question is what u love to study, not about work...
Most of student entering UTP changing course in the middle because doesnt have interest in subject
Ash96
post Mar 24 2014, 10:41 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 10:01 PM)
i think better u google and do your homework about this.
Bcause we can only answer about study, not work
The question is what u love to study, not about work...
Most of student entering UTP changing course in the middle because doesnt have interest in subject
ok
btw i'm interested in petroleum engineering course
got 5A+ 1A 1A- and 2B+ in spm , hope i get accepted into UTP
fingers crossed smile.gif
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 11:08 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 10:41 PM)
ok
fingers crossed  smile.gif
Congrats!!
Hope can see you soon~
thumbup.gif
Ash96
post Mar 24 2014, 11:14 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 11:08 PM)
Congrats!!
Hope can see you soon~
thumbup.gif
hope to see you too biggrin.gif
gonna go to klcc to meet UTP and ask lots of questions
going to apply there from the as well
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 11:29 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 11:14 PM)
hope to see you too  biggrin.gif
gonna go to klcc to meet UTP and ask lots of questions
going to apply there from the as well

This post has been edited by myroy: Mar 24 2014, 11:31 PM
4896la
post Mar 24 2014, 11:42 PM

295 posts

Hi, can anyone explain to me about "CERTIFIED TRUE COPY" ? Is the the "CHOP" from school? And how about certified true copy of payment slip and IC and Birth cert.? Let the school CHOP it also or the employer CHOP it?

This post has been edited by 4896la: Mar 24 2014, 11:43 PM
l4nc3k
post Mar 24 2014, 11:47 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 08:40 PM)
QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 09:55 PM)
oh thanks
QUOTE(Ash96 @ Mar 24 2014, 10:41 PM)
ok
fingers crossed  smile.gif
Hi Ash96,

Petroleum engineering (PE) and Petroleum geoscience (PGS) are different and similar at the same time.
(i) PE - you get BEng. PGS - you get BSc (refer to my post above for more clarification)
(ii) In Oil & Gas terms (since we're discussing about PE which basically works in OnG field only), PGS's job is to analyze and predict the source of energy (natural gas, fossil fuel, etc.) through various methods - seismic, sonar, sound waves, and many more which I can't name them. On the other hand, PE's job is to analyze how they should dig out the energy sources - they will be dealing with fluid flows, fluid mechanics, basic structural design, etc.
(iii) If you are worried about starting pay, both of them have the same starting pay potential IF you are in the OnG field. Their job scopes are also quite limited.

Edit: Forgotten to add in some similarities. They share a lot of courses together (geology, petroleum economics, some maths subjects and core subjects which are learned in 1st and 2nd year, etc.) and they also have some common grounds in doing cross-course projects such as Exploration and Production (some final year thingy, not too sure about that).

About R&D and designing.. I believe that most undergraduate programmes does not require much R&D and stuff. You can venture more into it when you are doing your masters.

Getting into UTP and getting PETRONAS's sponsorship are two different matter. I hope you are aware of that. In recent years UTP has been recruiting quite a number of new intakes since we are now heading towards the direction of a research university.

Hope to see you there!

This post has been edited by l4nc3k: Mar 24 2014, 11:49 PM
myroy
post Mar 24 2014, 11:48 PM

BIG BOSS
1,202 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Mar 24 2014, 11:42 PM)
Hi, can anyone explain to me about "CERTIFIED TRUE COPY" ? Is the the "CHOP" from school? And how about certified true copy of payment slip and IC and Birth cert.? Let the school CHOP it also or the employer CHOP it?
School chop, I prefer PK1 and above
because certain tcher have below DG41
if im not mistaken the person who 'choped' it must DG41 and above

l4nc3k
post Mar 24 2014, 11:51 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Mar 24 2014, 11:42 PM)
QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 11:48 PM)
Hi 4896la (I like your name lol) and thanks myroy for the answer.
Like what myroy explained, just find your high school PK to sign them. Alternatively, you can also find the state parliament representative (those YB and Datuks) to sign them. Or if you are really in need, you can visit some lawyers specialized in this matter to certify your certs (cost you a lot of RM rclxub.gif )

4896la
post Mar 24 2014, 11:54 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Mar 24 2014, 11:48 PM)
May i ask what is PK1 and DG41? blink.gif
4896la
post Mar 24 2014, 11:56 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Mar 24 2014, 11:51 PM)
Hi 4896la (I like your name lol) and thanks myroy for the answer.
Like what myroy explained, just find your high school PK to sign them. Alternatively, you can also find the state parliament representative (those YB and Datuks) to sign them. Or if you are really in need, you can visit some lawyers specialized in this matter to certify your certs (cost you a lot of RM rclxub.gif )
Even my own photocopy IC and salary slip of parent need to bring to school and ask for chop?
l4nc3k
post Mar 24 2014, 11:56 PM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(4896la @ Mar 24 2014, 11:54 PM)
May i ask what is PK1 and DG41?  blink.gif
Just ignore the DG41 thingy.
PK = penolong kanan aka the assistant headmaster. how you survived 5 years high sch without knowing all those mad.gif
in chinese its 副校长.

68 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0295sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:32 AM