QUOTE(EricYong! @ Mar 24 2014, 01:55 PM)
Hi.
I guess i really have to try my luck then cause i can't even meet their minimum requirement lol
Colouring? I have minor colour blind, not sure if that'd be a problem for me :S
In your point of view, what kind of people do you think should take PG or ChemE? Like I'm not genuinely and deeply interested in rocks and geology and afraid it'd be too difficult for me but people say you'll develop your interest when you study the subject? And i can't say i'm good with Maths even tho i got A+ for both, but practice makes perfect?
Is it true PG students do a lot of field trips?
And what do you think of the job prospects for both? Would you say ChemE has a wider job field and more demanded than PG?
Well the most major competition i've participated was Spell it Right challenge, so that shows how weak my koko is. My overall is only 77%. But i did attend my meetings every time, and the highest position i've ever held was secretary lol.
Most people (including me) only get to know what is the course about after studying for 1~2 years. I won't say much about the best personality to study certain courses as this is quite subjective. However I can safely say that without genuine interest in PGS you won't go far (unless you're a genius who does not need to study and still get good grades - not me)
Practicing does makes perfect IMO. (I am a lazy dude but I know a lot of people that fare well through consistent practicing and attending all classes)
How minor is your color blind? Just being very frank here that PGS needs to differentiate color quite well (at least the basic colors. No need lah to know what type of red what type of blue but at least know this is purple, this is green, etc.) And they are the only course that needs color pencils for final exams
And yes PGS students go to a lot of field trips. Heck, there is even a 3 credit hour course that is 100% based on a 1 week field trip. ChemE people, on the other hand, gets no academic based field trips (I've personally been to nil), there are a couple of plants visit though, hosted by various clubs and events in UTP.
Job perspective (note: very generalized comments below, read with cautious) - In general, you can have this equation in mind: The higher the potential pay of a programme, the narrower the job scope of that particular programme. In your case, ChemE has a wider job scope compared to PGS. ChemE people can be involved in OnG, food processing, pharmaceutical.. just to name a few. PGS on the other hand.. you get the idea. There are so called 'tiers' in the OnG industry, in which tier 1 includes PGS and petroleum engineering, tier 2 includes ChemE, MechE, EE, and tier 3 includes ITIS, CV, etc. the smaller the tier, the higher the pay and the narrower the job scope.
77% is still better than mine. Just apply for it. and be sure to perform well during the interviews
QUOTE(EricYong! @ Mar 24 2014, 01:58 PM)
My house is located nearly 35 mins drive from UTP so i've already get used to the weather
It's just the accommodation there haha cause i don't feel like living in hostels but i've never been there before so maybe i'd change my mind
Students are allowed to live off-campus right?
Both yes and no.
35 mins drive - I'm assuming you're from Ipoh/Menglembu or somewhere there. You can live outside the campus but you'll need to provide the management with proof that you are capable of travelling daily (I have not heard of people travelling to and fro Ipoh on a daily basis, but those that go back every week are everywhere.) and I would strongly go against the idea of staying too far (>10 mins from campus) because you will be dealing with quite a number of group assignments, night tutorials (especially foundation students) which require you to stay in campus for ease of discussion.