Cloud Atlas (2012)
One of the MOST complicated movie I have ever encounter... Still in the midst of watching it!!
What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...
Jan 10 2013, 10:21 PM
1,723 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Cloud Atlas (2012)
One of the MOST complicated movie I have ever encounter... Still in the midst of watching it!! |
Jan 10 2013, 11:41 PM
Hi capoi & Mickey C
Here is my review Cloud Atlas (2012) Okay, am watching the last few minutes of Cloud Atlas. I can understand now why this wasn't shown in Malaysia. Heck, I'll be very surprise if may of the America view actually got this!! (Short attention span and all) There is NO WAY the theme of the movie with pass the censorship board!! There a 6 (that is right SIX stories in this movie) that interleaves each other. They all happened in different time period. The connecting element is a music piece named Atlas Cloud. There is so many A List actors in this and they all play multiple characters in this it is no simple task keeping score! End Credits and my verdict, I have to give this another go to get all the pieces into place!! In short, no expense was spare in making this movie. There is enough story her for AT LEAST 3 movies!! There are some scenes which is EXTREMELY violent in this movie. There are some subject matter which is taboo. My Two Sen |
Jan 11 2013, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jan 11 2013, 12:11 AM) Okay. You know I like this thread, bcos you guys always watch the movie that Msia cinema didn't show. This is UNLIKE any of their previous movies. If you watch the movie from that angle, I don't think you will enjoy it...Anyway thanks again bro, will watch Cloud Atlas next times... I like Wachowski brothers one... I like Matrix.... |
Jan 11 2013, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jan 11 2013, 12:19 AM) Wachowski previous movies? Their last project before Cloud Atlas is Ninja Assassin (Producers). Ninja not bad what, too violent only.... Okay, how do I put this delicately, You do know that one of the brother, is now a... sister right... that might give you and idea where I'm coming from... |
Jan 11 2013, 12:53 AM
Jan 12 2013, 07:59 PM
Chitty Chitty Bang Bang (1968)
This is a weird movie. It has ALL the makings of a Disney Classic from the 60s (Mary Poppins etc) and yet it is made by MGM. Even weirder, it is produced and written by the people who are responsible for JAMES BOND!! Albert R. Broccoli wanted to be like Disney and own production company, theme parks etc. Picture and Sound quality is pretty good (for it's age, not the best, but a strong, decent!) This is a musical. This is a guilty indulgence for me, because it brings back a lot of childhood memories.. Not everybody's cup of tea, and have to add, if you want something different for a Sunday afternoon, you cannot go wrong with THIS!! My Two Sen |
Jan 12 2013, 11:35 PM
Jan 13 2013, 08:20 AM
Jan 13 2013, 10:45 PM
Hudson Hawk (1991)
Okay, I'm gonna say something that will probably make alot of people scream (feel free not to) I LOVE Hudson Hawk.... QUOTE Dialogue from movie This movie bombed at the box office, and I ABSOLUTELY love it!!Donny: Now that you are born again, what do you want to do? Statue of Liberty? Entertain some ladies? Broadway tix? Seduce some women? Play Nintendo? Bone some chicks? Hudson Hawk: What's Nintendo? Comedy, action, clever story!! It's got it all!! It is now release on Bluray, picture's not the best, decent not great. Sounds decent too. I LOVE HUDSON HAWK!! My Two Sen |
Jan 14 2013, 05:30 PM
Jan 16 2013, 03:52 PM
The Apparition (2012)
There is nothing outstanding about this movie. As a matter of fact, I could have predicted every single scare around the corner... This movie reminds be of Pulse Run of the mill horror movie... Watch it, if it's on the TV and you are too lazy to change the channel.... My Two Sen |
Jan 16 2013, 03:53 PM
The Possession (2012)
Whilst watching this movie, I kept going, where have I seen this guy before, where have I seen this guys before (lead actor, Jeffrey Dean Morgan). Today, it DAWNED on me that he played Dean and Sam's father in Supernatural.... There are some really good actors here, as stated above, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Kyra Sedgwick, Matisyahu and the little girl, Madison Davenport was actually quite convincing! When it started, I thought is was going to be like Hellraiser (the rubic cube thingie) because the evil object here is a wooden box, which doesn't have any opening seams... Hannah (Madison Davenport) parents are divorced and she and her sister stays with their father during the weekends... Their father had moved out of their house and had just recently purchased his own house. He does not have much furniture of house hold items, so as they passed a yard sale, they stop to browse.... He bought some kitchen stuff (plates, bowls dishes etc) and his youngest daughter, Hannah was attracted by this old antique wooden box He bought her the box, and the little girl got strangely attached to the box... There are some scenes in this one that made me jump... I just wish the ending... I'm getting ahead of myself... Check it out why don't you. My Two Sen |
Jan 17 2013, 01:08 PM
Jan 17 2013, 11:29 PM
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 2 (2013)
For all the laurels bestow on Marvel, for all the achievement they have obtained through their movies, DC has put out alot of TV stuff that is AMAZING. It took alot of cojones (pardon my Spanish), to do this and this actually, story wise, this rivals The Dark Knight Rises!!!! I kid you not If you had watched the first part, you know that Bruce Wayne is now an over the hill man. Robin is a chick Batman is retired. Unfortunately, his rivals aren't Interestingly, being an animation, this movie really "criticize" the American government for being... incompetent (if a non American says that, than that person is a terrorist... *sigh*) This movie, Joker escape Arkham Asylum, Superman is the President of the United States' lackey and the Police Commissioner is also a chick!! Lots of action, lots of surprises and the things that Batman had to do.... wow... I cannot recommend this high enough to the comic nerd in all of us. My Two Sen This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 17 2013, 11:31 PM |
Jan 19 2013, 12:42 AM
Taken 2
Wow... Story is weak. Delivery is weak. This should never had been done... My Two Sen |
Jan 19 2013, 01:48 AM
What Ever Happened to Baby Jane? (1962)
Masterful. Absolutely, POSITIVELY masterful. It is a 2:13 hour movie, and every single minute is mesmerising!! Joan Crawford and Bette David supposedly cannot stand each other in real life and oh my goodness that animosity towards each other translated on screen. And it fits their role, to a T... It is SUPERB!!! Two thumbs UP. If you like good CLASSICS and suspense, I cannot recommend this enough. My Two Sen This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 19 2013, 10:46 AM |
Jan 21 2013, 05:54 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 21 2013, 05:34 PM) like and agree with yr comments. Thank you very much for your kind wordscloud atlas.... first 30min, i struggled with it, wondering what it's all about. after that, totally engrossed, total 3hrs. watching it a second time, will take time to watch 1hr-1hr-1hr. i see more, find more meaning. cloud atlas may be a failure at the box office esp local ones but i say it is one of the best movies made in the last few years. a real piece of art. warning: this movie appeals most to those who believe in or hv an open mind about the meaning of karma. I still have not had the chance to re-watch the said movie Am hoping to... maybe during the Chinese New Year break. Please post what you have seen here and keep each other update on movies that is available of 1080P! Thank you in advance and take care |
Jan 21 2013, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 21 2013, 07:35 PM) i m much of mov freak like u! Wowi watch and keep all kinds of dvd-bluray-1080p - from casablanca and the longest day to pulp fiction and stargate to three kingdoms and water margin to rurouni kenshin and ghost in the shell. believe me, i still have some vhs and vcds! anyway, recent good ones for me were: killing them softly and cloud atlas. slightly older ones, i'll say prometheus, fast5, battleship and rise of the planet of the apes. my all time favorites, meaning those can watch again again - lord of the rings trilogy, matrix troligy, godfather trilogy, tom clancy series and jason bourne series. i like to read this thread so that i dun miss any good stuff. so, thanks, guys! A kindred spirit!!! Wonderful VHS? VCD?? Heck, you left out LaserDisc!! I'm not familiar with rurouni kenshin, will have to check that out. I'm surprise there are additional people out there who enjoyed Battleship (it is an indulgence of mine for 2012 also John Carter) Believe it or not, I have never watch The Godfather... I know. I just never got around to it!! Yes I re- watched alot of stuff, and with thing being release on HD... My Poor Wallet Keep the postings Cheers This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 21 2013, 11:08 PM |
Jan 21 2013, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 21 2013, 10:37 PM) Just managed to watch The Dark Knight Rises. This BD has been collecting dust ever since it reached my doorstep. It is now my favorite piece to test out Low Frequencies (the bike chase scene, starting from 45 mins)The AQ at times being recorded too extreme especially the strong pounding hot LFE. It should have been a little lower. Anyway, this movie is nice to watch although the second half seems a bit of rush in storyline there. Amazing movie Also do try out the animation, Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 2 (2013). You will not be sorry |
Jan 22 2013, 12:37 AM
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jan 22 2013, 12:24 AM) Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1 also haven't watch.. >Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Part 1 also haven't watch.. Last week I watched "Hunt To Kill" , "Green Lantern First Flight." Then watch I lah!! After that watch Part 2 Green Lantern's First Flight, was okay. Hunt To Kill, not yet. ANy good?? |
| Change to: | 0.0468sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:58 AM |