CSL Mi410 (Foxconn FB400) Official User Thread

paskal
post Aug 29 2011, 09:19 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(Zaffar @ Aug 29 2011, 08:07 AM)
good day evry1
just upgrade fr mi300 & would like to flash to most stable rom but got prob..
dl speed is so slow in my kampung so i've to resort to other way..
najmod, do you hv all the rom file?
can you pls help me?
i'll send you a thumbdrive and u tolong copy smua file tu boleh?
kos pos smua saya bayar+duit karan
can aa bro?
pls sms me ur alamat
0183174564 muzaffar
thanx a lot
wellcom rom
tj style rom
and all related file..
tq
your kampung don't have any cybercafe that you could go to?
i just flashed my brand spanking new 1 day old mi410 to andro-id rc1 then to rc2 and never could be happier.

like the previous owner that says his phone takes 4 to 10 seconds from pressing the power button to the home screen, my phone takes about 2-3 seconds to get to home screen.
i blame it on the stock CSL 2.3.4 ROM. RC1 and RC2 instantaneous to get to home screen. and the phone rings less than a second from dialtone heard on the other line. much faster than my previous custom ROM/flashed Windows Mobile phone. windows mobile takes 1.5-2 dialtone before the phone wakes up and ring.

the CSL stock ROM also restarted once while i was testing it. lasted for an hour before getting replaced.

and like a boy getting a new toy, with heavy usage testing video playback, games, sms, calls, browser, data connection, wifi and the such, the phone lasts 1 and a half day before the battery drained.
pretty good for a 4.1" screen. i'm guessing i'll see about 3 days of usage with my usual 30 minutes voice call, 10-15 sms a day and a little wifi browsing on this phone. RM599 well spent.
paskal
post Aug 29 2011, 02:24 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 29 2011, 12:03 PM)
bro... U get it from where??? 599 only??? Second hand???
new unit. traded in my old phone. it broke down after nearly 3 years of usage so in the market for a new touchscreen. the shop took the unit for RM200 so i paid RM599 for the csl spice.

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 29 2011, 01:49 PM)
When n where is the expo... Really that cheap???
i believe it was sold for RM399 but limited for 50 unit at the digital expo at kl convention center.
and last week they were sold for RM499 again limited at 50 unit at the opening ceremony of the csl service center in penang. megamall penang IINM.
penang and KL is too far from me. and at the expo i can't trade in my phone. so that difference of RM100 is negligible.

even at RM799, it's a steal. i don't game (ever) on my phone thus dual core galaxy s2 is just a waste of battery life.
paskal
post Aug 29 2011, 11:51 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(evtansk @ Aug 29 2011, 03:43 PM)
another issue was, the whole thing "suddenly" can "perform-by-it-self" 1 halfway hahahaha suddenly masuk Menu, or suddenly swiped to other home-screen or sometimes suddenly quit/backwards hahaha but tat will occur once in a while and that's it it back to normal biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
ahah! i guess it doesn't happen randomly after all. before paying i tested 4 brand new mi410. the 1st unit at csl office works perfectly. but they're taking my old phone for RM100.
went downstairs to one of the many phone kiosks and asked them how much they're willing to take my phone. got offered for RM200 so i asked them to go and take a new unit mi410 for me.

a worker went upstairs and came back down with an unopened box, original csl set. tested the unit and it goes phantom move especially at the settings page. ain't gonna take a unit with a phantom running the show. asked for another new set.
the worker goes upstairs, demo-ed the problematic unit to csl service and they sent it back. comes back down with another unopened, original csl set. same phantom moving problem. asked for another one, saying the unit i tested at csl sales office didn't have the problem.

another worker went upstairs and bring down the demo set which i didn't test. i tested a new unit there. he goes up again, and came down with the 1st unit that i tested. no phantom inside it. gladfully paid RM599 for it and until now it doesn't move by itself.

advicing future buyers to test the set throughly before paying. better to walk away with a perfect set than going back for an exchange.

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 29 2011, 10:25 PM)
Hmmm.. Good for daily use, n also pass time gaming... Or simple gaming...
Worth to buy if it is cheap... But RM800 with the LCD problem, is still make me think twice also...  But if u say as cheap as RM500 then it is worth it...
the large 4.1" screen is perfect to get the attention of my 1.5 year old son. the only game in there is his ABC song, lullaby, talking bear and the such. for messaging my nokia e72 is faster to type on.

again, battery life is great. after android rc2 and supercharged, left more than 50% after 12 hours of medium usage.
paskal
post Aug 30 2011, 04:23 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:06 AM)
wow is that so??? phantom moves means??? it moves the screen itself after you play with it a while?
how long you play with the unit? i think is the touch screen grade that they are using which makes this problem...

medium usage also can last 12 hours??? on 3G or GSM only???
it seems the battery life is good... how many XXXXmAh for the original battery?

my bro interested to get a unit when they got promotion... not bad...

BTW where is the CSL office???
tested each unit for around 5 minutes straight away can notice that the screen moves by itself. go to the settings page and wait while holding the phone at the side using your palm. the phone is new and it doesn't get heated up anywhere.

i'm on GSM only (no 3G in a rural place). yesterday morning charged it full before going back to my hometown. about 30 sms yesterday (sent) and about 40 received. calls for 15 minutes. 30 minutes of kid games, lullaby and the such. 30 minutes of wifi browsing. 15 minutes of bluetooth transfer. 30 minutes cousin messing up with it.

and today very little usage as it's raya time. from yesterday morning charged at 8am till now (4pm) battery still have 50%. battery is csl original, lithium ion 1400mah. i'm on andro-id rc2, v6 supercharged and gsm only mode, data connection off. 30 seconds screen timeout.

like i said, money well spent. don't think i'm gonna buy another phone above RM1k ever, again. the value drops like a rock, worst than a korean car haha.
paskal
post Aug 30 2011, 10:16 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:19 PM)
Yes... Value of hp now drop easily... If this week really got fair n it is selling below rm700 it might get 1/2 units...
oh icic...
you should know earlier by visiting their facebook page. search facebook and csl in google. i don't see they're advertising any cheap offers for the upcoming fair. tough luck, but let's hope for something good to come up.
paskal
post Aug 31 2011, 10:59 AM

2,801 posts

guys, anybody using the Xperia X10 screen protector on the spice?
wanna know if it cover the screen fully or not. and if not, how much that is not covered?

ordered a PDAir HTC HD7 case what hopefully will fit the spice and got a free screen protector. wondering if i should get a bigger protector and cut it to size or just get the X10 screen protector and slap it on.
any information would be much appreciated.

QUOTE(Zaffar @ Aug 31 2011, 10:41 AM)
bro paskal,  do u've the  rc1 & rc2 rom?
can u pls email it to me asap, pls?
coz i dah x sabar mau flash la... can aaa
zaffar68@yahoo.com
TIA...
have to wait, i'm going to visit some friends now. let's see if i'm free this evening. else have to wait till i reach my wife's hometown. travelling back tonight.
paskal
post Sep 1 2011, 03:21 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(metalgearash1987 @ Sep 1 2011, 11:41 AM)
Hye again guys, how about additional accessories for the phone e.g : Pouch, Screen Protectors, Casings, Flip Jacket, Bumpers, etc? Any shops or place to visit for purchases of the accessories?  thumbup.gif
hard to come by.there's nillkin cover for the huawei x6.screen protector need to use compatible ones as locally it's hard to get the screen protector for the csl mi410
I'm ordering pdair flipcase for the htc hd7 which is similar in size to our spice minus 1 mm here and there.hopefully it's gonna be snug fit else have put some padding.screen protector I'm ordering the one for dell streak5 and gonna cut it to fit the spice.
paskal
post Sep 3 2011, 09:44 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Zaffar @ Sep 3 2011, 12:42 AM)
najmod, paskal, still cant help with those roms?
i'm replying through my phone.
the link is there in the first page. emailing such a large file is quite a hassle since i need to attach it to google and only then can send it out.

you need the SUT file to flash the original CSL stock to RC1.
SUT is here http://www.mediafire.com/?r6qcgq0nnbuhyiu
the RC1 is here http://www.mediafire.com/?2zu044iwnodpu99
then you need clockwork recovery mode here http://www.mediafire.com/?lp1b1s3lh4kaym0
then you need rc2 which could be found here http://www.mediafire.com/?25ynftw5ax324bv

all the files have been linked in the first post of the first page of this thread.
instructions are also there. to enter clockwork recovery mode to flash rc2 press volume up and down and power on simultaneously.

mediafire supports download manager, multiple download thread and multiple file download. and you don't even need to register.
paskal
post Sep 4 2011, 07:05 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Sep 4 2011, 11:39 AM)
Once you flashed RC1, you dont need the recovery as the recovery is flashed along with RC1.
i see. i had to flash the recovery even tho i'm on RC1 because i can't find a way to get into clockworkmod recovery. the front page only says to press the volume up and power button to get into download mode.
maybe i missed it, but it doesn't say to press volume up and down and power to get into clockworkmod recovery.
paskal
post Sep 5 2011, 04:44 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(haree @ Sep 5 2011, 01:37 PM)
Regarding Battery
Hi
i just got mine a week back and i also upgraded to the offical 2.3.4 for India if u want it u can take it from below link
My question is battery seems to be quite bad ie i had full charge yesterday and( i dont turn off my phone) today morning i have only 60%
i hardly did any call and very min wifi use. I do have another samsung Galaxy 3 I5801 and the battery on that seems to be far better than this
is the the same for you all rclxub.gif  or is it just me rclxub.gif

u can take the official 2.3.4 for India from here  if u want to try it  biggrin.gifhttp://dl.dropbox.com/u/10031257/Mi410/OffupdateGB.rar
it's just you. probably there's something running in the background all night long.

i could get till morning with only 15% of battery life. and come morning, the battery still have another 8% left. was hoping that the phone would turn itself off through the night but noooo it decided to stay awake till morning. bad phone
paskal
post Sep 6 2011, 04:25 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Sep 6 2011, 01:58 PM)
if anyone want to let go of their phone, let me know ok. biggrin.gif

tl;dr

[WTB] CSL Mi410 tongue.gif
initially wanted to get rid of my less than a month old mi410 after reading the news about the 5.3" galaxy note. i still have my nokia e72 as my primary phone. 4.1" screen is still too small for me.

well until someone posted the news about initial launching price of 700 euros. sorry samsung, i'm not paying over RM3k for a mobile phone. that much money could only mean bigger theft threat.
holding to the mi410 and not feeling the need to overly take care of my sub RM1k phone. hehe
paskal
post Sep 6 2011, 09:49 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Sep 6 2011, 09:30 PM)
4.1" too small?  laugh.gif
tested the dell streak5 before buying. the 5" is really nice to view documents on the go.
but too thick once put into a flip case. the streak 5 is nice to grip because of the thickness, but i really prefer it inside a flip case.
paskal
post Sep 11 2011, 12:03 PM

2,801 posts

i'm selling my 2 weeks old spice mi410 over here.
price is fixed at RM650, which i consider as suitable for the item condition. shipping will be provided using skynet.

wife doesn't want it. 4.1" is too small for useable web browsing and email. well at least for me.
already rooted, flashed to andro-id RC2. no problem whatsoever. battery lasts 1.5 days before draining.

selling to get a bigger tablet or bigger sized phone.
paskal
post Sep 11 2011, 03:33 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(shinone @ Sep 11 2011, 03:23 PM)
Hello guys..How do I delete certain contact number in which is duplicate after sycronize it. I didnt find delete button.tq
edit contact, then there's a plus button and a minus button next to the number. minus button deletes the number, plus button adds another empty box to put in another number
paskal
post Sep 11 2011, 09:12 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(syazwanreno @ Sep 11 2011, 06:01 PM)
Y U NO SELL TO ME?  sad.gif

btw, if anyone want to let go their Mi410. Let me know.  smile.gif
you're late by 15 minutes. the other person confirmed at 5.15pm, before your PM. so sorry bout that

QUOTE(Racerx @ Sep 11 2011, 08:52 PM)
Hey guys,if i were to flash the Cherry Magnum HD  ROM or the custom ROM by tj_style will the IMEI of the phone be the same as stock?This has been bothering me for a while as i want to flash to another ROM to check things out but i'm worried i might lose the warranty.
i'm running on RC2, before that RC1. it still have the same IMEI
paskal
post Sep 11 2011, 11:04 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Sep 11 2011, 10:09 PM)
Ok,if after that i flash back to CSL's stock ROM,will the IMEI still be the same then? hmm.gif
once you flash to RC2, you won't be flashing it back to anything stock hehe
i reckon it will stay the same. IMEI number can't be changed as easily.

and i said in my sales thread, we're lucky to have TJ_style to be working on our CSL phone. RC2 have absolutely no problem whatsoever that i could find. everything works perfectly. great battery life, great performance and there's no bug.
i read around in the lg optimus 2x thread, people there are suggesting to stick to the original stock froyo rom because their modded rom brings more bug than solution.

i did tried the optimus 2x before buying this cheap csl, and boy does it lag on the stock ROM. a good rom is very important, i'd say more important than a fast dual core cpu.
paskal
post Sep 12 2011, 12:23 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(enCORe @ Sep 12 2011, 09:47 AM)
Najmods
I found CSL Sabah channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/CSLSabah#p/a/u/5/cShYvA711lg

maybe u can put in your 1st post smile.gif

Rugi betulla tak beli CSLmi410 masa offer RM399 dulu =(
even at RM799, it's still a worthy buy.
nowhere else could you get a 1.4GHz (running stable) scorpion processor with 4.1" screen and a stable android gingerbread 2.3.4 ROM at under RM1k. other vendors are offering the same spec at around RM1.2k
paskal
post Sep 12 2011, 04:42 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(MaxK @ Sep 12 2011, 04:30 PM)
i m enjoy this with rc2....  rclxms.gif

but only problem for me... this cannot playing HD!!!  doh.gif

so sad...
won't playing hd movies on the set sucks battery life? i tried playing the normal sd movie for my son using hardware accelerated rockplayer lite and it run for more than 2 hours from a full charge.
well my son gets bored much earlier than that so didn't test till empty
paskal
post Sep 14 2011, 12:14 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(idzhar @ Sep 13 2011, 04:49 PM)
hello guys, im using tj style's rc2 right now, but im noticing it has got a bit of a wifi bug, has anyone got this?
nope. didn't get the wifi bug. and i run wifi consistently at my house.

QUOTE(Zaffar @ Sep 14 2011, 12:00 AM)
Wah! lucky you! now, how fast is ur gps lock? thats the main reason i revert back to mi300, satellites lock on my 410,  is so slow. On mi300, the lock is almost instant & i use gps a lot, so have to cerai sama dia, but other function is superb,
maybe you should consider buying a dedicated gps device and cerai sama itu mi300. i've tried several phone with gps capability before and nothing beats a dedicated garmin device. running a 255w and never happier (since never got lost driving in kl again) hehe

my garmin never (ever) once hang during navigation, and never got signal lost during rain or thunderstorm.
paskal
post Sep 14 2011, 10:07 PM

2,801 posts

guys, anybody notice that the keyboard (any keyboard software for that matter) running in froyo (2.2.2) feels snappier compared to RC2 running gingerbread 2.3.4?
i've flashed back to wellcomA99 rom running froyo 2.2.2 and felt that the keyboard is more responsive. tried different keyboard software in RC2 and felt that it lags quite a bit compared to the demo set in CSL booth running CSL standard froyo 2.2.1

so downloaded the wellcom A99 stock rom and flashed that and i do feel the keyboard feels snappier. i could type faster with less mistake.
you guys that have ran wellcom ROM do you notice any difference after upgrade to RC2?

0.0400sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:28 PM