Electrical Spike?, Voltage Regulator?

TSAl3x0174
post Aug 4 2011, 03:13 PM, updated 15y ago

228 posts

I had a problem with my electrical at home. I hope I could get some feedback here.

I experience some electrical spike at home. Whenever anyone switch on or off an electrical appliances, my speaker will "Dup". My friend told me it was irregular voltage. So far, 1 power supply (PC) and 2 DVD players have been toasted.

Should I call TNB or should I call an electrician?

in addition, after checking with my friend regarding electrical bill, I noted that my bill is far higher than my friend whose usage is slightly higher than mine. (No foul play) Is this somehow related?
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
JinXXX
post Aug 4 2011, 03:14 PM

2,516 posts

old home or new home ?

old wiring or new wiring ?
TSAl3x0174
post Aug 4 2011, 03:15 PM

228 posts

old home but it was rewired by previous owner
duckhole
post Aug 4 2011, 03:18 PM

379 posts

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Aug 4 2011, 03:15 PM)
old home but it was rewired by previous owner
sudah kena con
TSAl3x0174
post Aug 4 2011, 03:23 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(duckhole @ Aug 4 2011, 03:18 PM)
sudah kena con
???
I dont understand what u meant
the previous owner rewired his house for his own usage
i know because he left a few spots for future uses (which now is for my use)
I didnt pay him extra for the rewiring work also

anyway, I just want to know if this is 1)TNB, 2)Wiring, or 3)Area problem. and also how to solve it biggrin.gif
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 03:42 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Al3x0174 @ Aug 4 2011, 03:23 PM)
???
I dont understand what u meant
the previous owner rewired his house for his own usage
i know because he left a few spots for future uses (which now is for my use)
I didnt pay him extra for the rewiring work also

anyway, I just want to know if this is 1)TNB, 2)Wiring, or 3)Area problem. and also how to solve it  biggrin.gif
You need to ask the electrician to test. They got the device to test.
Jo_da48
post Aug 4 2011, 04:15 PM

1,529 posts

I happen to face this "Pop" from speaker...it just can't explain as someone it happen some time now, whether new devices turn on or not.

But it just gone even without doing anything.
* Almost 2 months it happen

ozak
post Aug 4 2011, 06:24 PM

17,018 posts

If you switching ON/OFF, either speaker got sound or some light blinking, maybe the switch is dirty with some carbon on the contact. Either change that socket switch or clean it up the contact if you know how.

I have this problem and mostly the light in blinking. I search the switch and clean the contact side.
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 07:13 PM

12,019 posts

Also check what recent equipments you add. Sometime is the equipment that cause the problem.
TSAl3x0174
post Aug 5 2011, 04:16 PM

228 posts

I'll ask the electrician to take a check
before i install my home theater system tongue.gif

0.0163sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:28 PM