iPhone Case,BattPack,ScreenProtector etc Thread v5, Recommendation, Discussion, Reviews etc

sigheart
post Dec 2 2011, 08:49 PM

The Ultimate Driving Machine
1,442 posts

Anyone heard of lucky labs? I recently took advantage of their sales and got the silver fibreglass back and some spectra wraps and I gotta say, top quality. Cut outs are absolutely precise and the silver fibreglass is absolutely gorgeous. This is real fibreglass btw, not some cheapo decal sticker. They have a carbon fibre variant which uses real carbon fibre as well. I bought all these for damn cheap, 35% off on top of discounted prices during their iPhone 4S launch promo and recently they just had a Black Friday buy 1 free 1 special.

Btw here is some pics of my iPhone 4S with Lucky Labs Matte White Spectra wrap and the Lucky Labs Silver Fibreglass back and of course a silver vapor pro smile.gif

Screen protector XSP Silk from Sean. So any special discount for my next purchase for promoting? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 2 2011, 08:51 PM
sigheart
post Dec 3 2011, 12:17 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(weiiix @ Dec 2 2011, 11:11 PM)
nice, im still waiting for mine to arrive!
You mean Lucky Labs or Sean's screen protectors? lol

sigheart
post Dec 4 2011, 01:07 PM

1,442 posts

I've used a fair share of metal bumpers in the past with my iPhone 4 including the Blade, Deff Cleave and now a Vapor Pro.

Short summary on the cases:

Tiger Design Blade - Very attractive looking case. But I wouldn't quite recommend this due to the fact the supplied buttons are all metal and there is no form of cushioning beneath them. This causes the buttons to discolour your volume and power button after prolonged use (I used it for about 3 months). Your chrome volume buttons and power button will then be a faded and dark chrome. Also the dock cut out is extremely small. No third party docks will ever work with this case unless they are only as big as your normal USB charger. Edges are sharp as well and if you're not careful you could hurt yourself. Takes some getting used to.

Deff Cleave - Very nice case with not very rough edges but again, dock cut out is so small that you can't fit anything other than your iPhone USB charger. The supplied volume buttons are metal as well with no cushioning so you might get the same problem as the Blade. Buttons does not snugly fit into the holes as well. When you shake the case you can hear a very very annoying rattling of the buttons. This can be solved by pasting some tape on the buttons though.

Vapor Pro - What can I say? The perfect case. IMO you don't have to buy the original. I've seen some sellers selling really high quality fakes and they work just as well as the original. The cut outs, the feel, everything is just perfect. Not that I am advocating piracy here (I'm using an original myself) but I do understand its very expensive and not everyone can afford it.

Conclusion - I've never experienced any signal issues with either case. If you are in it purely for looks the Blade and Cleave are very very nice looking cases but fall way short in terms of functionality. If you are more of a functionality person with third party docks and earphones, stay away from the Blade and Cleave.

Added on December 4, 2011, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Dec 4 2011, 11:51 AM)
Look at the design which comprises of top and bottom pieces with screw tightening at 4 corners. I doubt the tearing of SP is due to the case itself.

Added on December 4, 2011, 11:53 am

Yeah kind of love red white combination. I wonder whether there will be graphite like vapor.
Looks nice but I'd stay away looking at that design wise. Again poor cutouts which will cause incompatibility with third party docks or earphones/headphones. Volume rocker and power button are metal with no rubber/tape below it. It will discolour or cause your volume buttons and power buttons to fade. Solution is you can add tape beneath those buttons but it will cause your buttons to be less sensitive.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 4 2011, 01:10 PM
sigheart
post Dec 4 2011, 03:13 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 4 2011, 02:15 PM)
bro, just for sharing. I bought a couple of these from RADTECH (as i'm unable to find it in local market), to work with my Vapor case.

ProCable Shortz Compact Modular 30-pin Extender
Slim, compact and short 30-pin male to female dock connector extender allows the use of any cable, and most docks, with any protective case. The Shortz 30-pin extender fits all cases, including those with small or restricted dock port openings - including the Apple Bumper, OtterBox Defender, Element Vapor, LifeProof, Speck CandyShell, Groove Bamboo and SGP Neo Hybrid cases. Easily connect all of your 30-pin cables and peripherals without having to remove your protective case.

This compact extender also allows docking with most dockable accessories, such as speaker systems, alarm clocks, etc, without removing your protective case. Save time and add convenience by easily adapting all of your accessories to work with your favorite protective case. Also works with the Apple iPad VGA cable.

I don't know bro, the best case for me is a case which offers both protection without hindering the functionalities as well as capabilities of the phone. I don't see the point of getting a case where it hinders use of the phone and you have to buy everything but the kitchen sink to add on just to make it work like it is meant to. Just my opinion though! smile.gif

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Dec 4 2011, 02:42 PM)
Thanks for sharing. I'm a bit wary of bumper case scratching the phone. Vapor Casey's design mostly leaves a bit cutout empty for user to reach the button except vapor comp that using polycarbonate with button. Looking at Case+ design, to eliminate the scratching issue, I don't mind not using the button and rocker switch comes with the case. Will really need to check on the fitting whether it has sharp edge contacting the case. Good review you have there pal.

Added on December 4, 2011, 2:48 pm

There are backers price, which is USD60. That's not retail price. Backers shall get it by Dec and if no quality issue, then retail will start.
I don't think you can use your volume buttons on the Case+ without putting the volume rockers on. Take note that the volume rockers is similar to the 3GS volume rockers which is a thin bar thingie. Do note that the cutout on the case for the volume rockers is only a thin slit as well so if you don't put the volume rocker on I don't see how you can change your volume unless you use your fingernails. Too bad I couldn't provide pics of my scarred iPhone 4 buttons due to the Blade casing as my iPhone 4 was a subject of a really quick sale on LYN's trade zone. Couldn't take pics in time.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 4 2011, 03:19 PM
sigheart
post Dec 10 2011, 10:51 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(deepix @ Dec 10 2011, 01:45 AM)
Is the white iPhone thicker than the black? Some say it's 0.2mm thicker.
The white iPhone 4 is 0.2 mm thicker than the black iPhone 4 but there is no difference in thickness between the White 4S and Black 4S.
sigheart
post Dec 10 2011, 08:24 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Dec 10 2011, 05:22 PM)
haha already bough vapor pro black ops, and blade metal bumper ...
blade very nice looking, but maybe have signal issue.
Blade no signal issues but its metal buttons will scratch/discolour your iPhone's buttons plus the cut outs are small, you will face problems with third party docks and earphones. Not to mention you can cut yourself with the sharp edges. Pretty poor case apart from its looks.

My advise, stick to your vapor and throw/give away/sell the Blade. Too many cons just for nice looks IMO.
sigheart
post Dec 11 2011, 11:41 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Jarod @ Dec 11 2011, 10:52 AM)
no sample la that's why i'm asking. something that a professional/executive/manager would use. not those that is cartoonish like angry birds etc.

Added on December 11, 2011, 10:55 am
ok these 2 is nice but the price  sweat.gif
You can always get a fake Vapor. I've seen some fakes that are really comparable to the originals and works just as good for 1/3 of the price. I own both an ori Vapor Pro and a high quality Vapor Pro fake. There are subtle differences if you put them side by side but on its own, virtually unnoticeable.

High Quality fake Vapor Comps are already on the market as well. wink.gif
sigheart
post Dec 14 2011, 01:13 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(hunkofaman @ Dec 14 2011, 12:13 AM)
I have tried SGP Ultra Thin.
It widens the phone because of the bulges at the side.
And it is extremely glossy and slippery.
Many times dropped the phone no matter how hard the grip is.
For thin case I suggest Casemate Barely There or Moshi iGlaze.. or Incipio Feather.

And seriously? you really wanna pay more for genuine plastic
I have tried RM80+ sgp ultra thin...
I have also tried RM20 sgp ultra thin...

Let's just say I'm going for the cheaper cases from now on.
And everyone else should do the same.
Fake ultra thin screen protector tak boleh pakai.

The SGP Crystals which come with the originals IMO, still one of the best SPs out there.

There is still a certain degree of differences in terms of quality and such between fake and ori. Just a matter of whether you can live with those slight quality issues or not.

sigheart
post Dec 14 2011, 01:34 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Dec 14 2011, 01:28 AM)
yea ive heard XSP is good..but its only for the front and back..im looking for the SIDE screen protectors as in to stick at the metal part of the iphone 4. something like this;

anyone knows where to find them?
Lucky Labs for you then.

Check it out at www.theluckylabs.com

You can buy direct from their site or you can buy from this thread

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1673840&hl=

I am personally using Lucky Labs on my iPhone 4S and the quality is really good. I am use the the White Spectra Wraps for the sides and the Silver Fibreglass back Tru Skins FYI. They have transparent wraps as well.
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 12:42 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Sniperwolf1987 @ Dec 17 2011, 07:09 PM)
anyone using vapor pro with signal and wifi problem? after apply it to my ip4s, the internet and wifi cant on9 at all .. but without casing or use my cheap case, it back to normal ..
I'm using a Vapor Pro Silver. Been on my 4S for more than 2 weeks. No problems at all be it 3G, Wifi or GPS.
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 04:33 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Dec 18 2011, 01:08 AM)
how much u got that for bro?

im looking for deff cleave for 4s , imitation or OEM of coz...cant afford it...
Bought ori from element case...close to RM500.. smile.gif

Stay away from OEM Deff Cleave if you use your phone as a GPS device. Screws up your GPS signal. Its got no issues with your phone line, 3G or Wifi though. Source: Own experience nod.gif

You may consider an OEM Vapor Pro though. Apart from the Ori one I'm using now I also own an OEM Vapor Pro which was used on my old iPhone 4 last time. Totally no issues whatsoever.

Added on December 18, 2011, 4:36 am
QUOTE(bizness @ Dec 18 2011, 01:42 AM)
Guys, please recommend me a Ultra Clear SP which includes front and back for iPhone 4S [if possible genuine product] ..

Thanks smile.gif
SGP Ultra Crystal or Power Support Crystal Film. If you're looking for branded and genuine SPs these 2 are the best in the market out there IMO.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 18 2011, 04:36 AM
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 11:10 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Dec 18 2011, 09:12 AM)
A lot of ppl are confused on OEM (original equipment manufacturer). A good example is LiteOn, a manufacturer for optical drives which produced optical drives for a lot of brands. So LiteON is consider as OEM. There's actually no different between OEM and Original.

For Vapor case, there is no OEM, just original or fakes coz the iPhone case was cloned and didn't come from the same manufacturer.

Added on December 18, 2011, 9:15 am

this is a good example of my statement above, ppl clueless about the term OEM
It is precisely why I use the word OEM. People tend to be clueless. If you see most of the sellers selling fake Vapors or fake products when you ask them they will say its high quality OEM products. I know two wrongs don't make a right but bear in mind like I mentioned, people tend to be clueless and not everyone is as smart or as knowledgeable as you.

To speak with laymen you gotta use layman terms.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 18 2011, 11:12 AM
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 04:38 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(bizness @ Dec 18 2011, 02:14 PM)
Yeah, I planned to get the SGP too but does it comes with front and back?

Thanks smile.gif
SGP comes with 1 front 1 back.

Power Support comes with 2 pieces front and 1 piece back.
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 04:50 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kahjye @ Dec 18 2011, 08:56 AM)
Price bro....?
For the oem vapor...
Those fake vapor pros I've seen go for around RM130 right up to RM180
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 07:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 18 2011, 05:40 PM)
Not sure if I'm slowpoke or not. There's a deal on SGP case for 4s in Dealmates smile.gif
One look at the price and I know its OEM (fake)
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 08:25 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Dec 18 2011, 08:19 PM)
well in one of the comments posted by the seller/admin stated it's OEM. but don't understand why they would put up the original proce as RM99. that's the price of an original.
There is a seller in garage sale, very reputable on SGP products can't remember his name. His prices are equal to that of retail shops or maybe cheaper a bit. I remember seeing this Linear Crystal going for RM110 or something in his thread.

But I guess you are right. RM99 does seem close to the ori price and pretty misleading. However from what I've seen from shops selling ori SGP cases, very seldom below a hundred bucks for an SGP case.
sigheart
post Dec 18 2011, 08:41 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Dec 18 2011, 08:29 PM)
hi bro..bought mine for RM450 at Machine at 1u
Wow Machines actually brings in Vapor Pros? Any other colour option available other than the black you bought? I'm tempted to get another lol

Added on December 18, 2011, 8:42 pm
QUOTE(gurus @ Dec 18 2011, 08:29 PM)
A shop is subang jaya is selling oems vapor at 60-70 only. All colors available...
Saw it on mudah.com smile.gif
Vapor Pro or Vapor 4?

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 18 2011, 08:42 PM
sigheart
post Dec 19 2011, 02:12 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(nanogen @ Dec 18 2011, 11:40 PM)
hi bro...erm...sorry!! i think i remember wrongly....

I got my Vapor 4 in MAchine 1u and Vapor Pro at Machine KLCC

sorry for any confusion >.<
Haha no problem. Damn didn't know Machines actually bring in Vapors now. I might head on down tomorrow to have a look. But did you see any other colour apart from the Black that you bought?
sigheart
post Dec 19 2011, 02:27 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(hunkofaman @ Dec 19 2011, 01:03 AM)
What do you guys think of the Vapor Comp Epiphany

I don't mind the full white one...minus the backplate lol

The white and pastel green too feminine IMO...
sigheart
post Dec 24 2011, 11:13 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Dec 24 2011, 10:43 PM)
hi guys....i just buy sgp vivid neo hybrid series from one of the lowyat ppl.....he claim auchentic....2day i pasang and i c the case frame inside don have sgp word....only outside the frame got....can anyone clarify this..how to check issit auchentic? thx
PM me the thread you bought it from. Maybe I can help.

Btw one of the ways to check is to compare the price you bought your casing for and the RRP. If its too big a difference then high chances its fake.

This post has been edited by sigheart: Dec 24 2011, 11:14 PM

0.0499sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:01 AM