SAMSUNG GALAXY ACE Official Thread V3, Mid Range Phone, Released Date Feb 2011

patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 01:25 PM

402 posts

hi, guys. after update to gingerbread, does the video recording resolution improved?
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 04:06 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Nov 19 2011, 01:30 PM)
yes, 640x480
how about the fps? does it increased from 15fps in the new resolution?
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 04:23 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Nov 19 2011, 04:16 PM)
yes, 30 fps
thanks, you are really helpful, the gingerbread update is provided by samsung malaysia rite? I wonder if new set already preloaded with gingerbread. Expect me to join samsung family soon, either ace or w. tongue.gif he..he..

patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 05:31 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Nov 19 2011, 05:22 PM)
I bought one preloaded with gingerbread 2.3.4 already  biggrin.gif
SME warranty or AP?
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 08:40 PM

402 posts

so, anyone have regrets here that galaxy w didn't come earlier? Or are u satisfied with your Galaxy Ace?

To my knowledge, SGW advantages over SGA are

* 1.4Ghz processor over 800Mhz
* 3.7" over 3.5"
* 720p video recording instead VGA

On the other sides SGA advantages are

* Gorilla Glass LCD
* Many accessories with cheap price
* Handset cheap by rm200.

Any want to add more? rclxms.gif

patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 09:06 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Nov 19 2011, 09:00 PM)
If you need performance, get Galaxy W. biggrin.gif
I'm no gamer, i play angry birds occasionally, I don't like to watch video in these little screen also.
Do u think I'll regret if I go for SGA instead of SGW? Have u ever wish that SGW come earlier? I remember SGA launched price was above rm900.
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 09:39 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Nov 19 2011, 08:51 PM)
yes, planning to change to galaxy w soon tongue.gif
really? why? is there any specific disadvantages that you encountered with SGA?

Added on November 19, 2011, 9:42 pm
QUOTE(Cosef @ Nov 19 2011, 09:10 PM)
Better you go for SGW if you play angry birds, stock SGA cannot fully smooth when play angry birds, but people said modded firmware will go smooth.

You'll regret only when you need for speed, like reading pdf, watch high quality videos, want smooth scrolling for every part.
this part I won't tolerate.. mad.gif

This post has been edited by patdidi: Nov 19 2011, 09:42 PM
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 10:01 PM

402 posts

it seems my destiny is with SGW then.. he..he tongue.gif
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 10:24 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Nov 19 2011, 10:09 PM)
Yes you need go for SGW or higher laugh.gif
Now that seems like processor is on its limit sweat.gif
QUOTE(game4life @ Nov 19 2011, 10:12 PM)
Battery life is kinda so-so. it's a budget phone. so I can't expect much
No wonder this thread really quiet, I guess everyone is going for SGW.. smile.gif
patdidi
post Nov 19 2011, 11:47 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(Cosef @ Nov 19 2011, 10:33 PM)
I hit 5 days tongue.gif
Phone life is short, everyone is upgrading  sad.gif
What do u mean of this? Is it u only own SGA for 5 days? or your SGA battery life is up to 5 days?
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 19 2011, 11:20 PM)
yes i kinda regret, i had high expectations with this phone

-I tot 800mhz is very powerful..end up simple games like abduction, drop...u name it ..oso lag doh.gif ..after unlock rite, browsing thru homescreen oso will lag at the start..i think it is due to the RAM also...

-low internal memory. At 1st i tot internal memory wasn't an issue cuz i tot most apps can be moved 2 sd in froyo, end up i just discovered whether using app2sd or wtv WITHOUT rooting...the apps are still in the internal memory doh.gif
sorry to hear that, how much RAM this phone have?
patdidi
post Nov 20 2011, 12:21 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 19 2011, 11:58 PM)
278mb RAM oni....when using little RAM and high RAM tat time can reli feel the diff...so the lagginess i can say it is due to RAM as well
that a low RAM here!
patdidi
post Nov 20 2011, 01:39 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 20 2011, 12:27 AM)
yah, tats y I highly suggest u take W. Even I feel lyk changing to W or other higher end 2nd hand phones but still not sure yet
I thought I already made up my mind on this model, but suddenly I encounter Xperia Neo with USB OTG function, similar price to SGW some. It only lost to the processor which SGW have better 1.4Ghz Processor. Need to re-analyzed my requirements again hmm.gif
patdidi
post Nov 20 2011, 07:24 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(game4life @ Nov 20 2011, 01:57 AM)
xperia neo has better camera and it will probably get ice cream sandwich smile.gif
http://techcrunch.com/2011/11/15/sony-eric...sandwich-plans/
I agree, Nea camera is better besides the ICS update support is a huge advantage over SGW
patdidi
post Nov 21 2011, 08:33 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(ReidenLing @ Nov 20 2011, 09:44 PM)
wanna ask sifu...currently i using GoSMS pro...found out that notification tone for msg volume is so low even though i set it MAX at setting there...i wonder how come ..
Have you adjust it from sound setting? I mean the setting from android menu and not the GoSMS setting? Before I sold my sk17i, I use this app as well, no problem for me.
patdidi
post Nov 21 2011, 05:17 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 21 2011, 04:37 PM)
is it that sms tone by itself is soft? try using other louder sms tone
how abut email/facebook notification? is it also soft?
If not, try reinstall GoSMS, maybe its th app problem, else try danielcmugen suggestion.
patdidi
post Dec 17 2011, 11:15 PM

402 posts

does ace have haptic feedback when selecting menu, typing, etc..?
patdidi
post Dec 17 2011, 11:51 PM

402 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 17 2011, 11:20 PM)
Can't find any settings for that, not sure if there's an app for it
so there is no vibration when we select menu or typing? we only hear click sound that will confirm what we select isn't it?
patdidi
post Dec 18 2011, 01:09 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 18 2011, 12:02 AM)
Typing can if u choose 'Dio Pen Chinese IME' or maybe download some other keyboard app. For menu, yes only click sound AFAIK
I almost end up buying Galaxy W for myself until I realize the phone do not have that function. I guess Samsung do not know how to implement this..I'm really frustrated to knew my wishlist do not have one of the "a must have feature'... vmad.gif

0.0310sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:28 AM