Fuel efficiency problem, Toyota Innova

TSbootroop
post Jul 30 2011, 12:07 AM, updated 15y ago

24 posts

Hi all,

Got myself a 5 year old Innova 2.0 G, nice car, great driving experience. However, I noticed that RM50 worth of RON95 petrol only last me 160km, is that normal? sad.gif

ericmaxman
post Jul 30 2011, 12:09 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(bootroop @ Jul 30 2011, 12:07 AM)
Hi all,

Got myself a 5 year old Innova 2.0 G, nice car, great driving experience. However, I noticed that RM50 worth of RON95 petrol only last me 160km, is that normal?  sad.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2011, 12:12 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Hi all,

Got myself a 5 year old Innova 2.0 G, nice car, great driving experience. However, I noticed that RM50 worth of RON95 petrol only last me 160km, is that normal?  sad.gif

It sucks more fuel than an Estima 3.0cc...congrats!!!
SUSkyheng
post Jul 30 2011, 12:20 AM

888 posts

Hi all,

1. Check for leak on your petrol tank(but in doubt is leaking)
2. Check is the relief valve for petrol tank got problem or not?
The above 2 are unlikely to happen......
3. are you a heavy footer?
4. how long you service your Innova once?
5. type of engine oil used?
6. do you add fuel injection cleaner or not?
7. spark plug how long never change?
8. any jerking on your Innova?
9. sign of leak before the injection heads?
V12Kompressor
post Jul 30 2011, 12:46 AM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

fuel efficiency is the last thing to look at when you're shopping for a people mover. smile.gif

in your case, when driving one.

This post has been edited by V12Kompressor: Jul 30 2011, 12:47 AM
gkl83
post Jul 30 2011, 10:04 AM

8,377 posts

my sales manager sold his innova and downgrade to avanza due to the heavy FC...
conan1
post Jul 30 2011, 10:08 AM

224 posts

install ngv...
TSbootroop
post Jul 30 2011, 11:30 AM

24 posts

Appreciate all constructive comments. The point is, Innova is known for its fuel efficiency, I'm no rich man therefore I surveyed before getting one. I was told by most owners that RM50 can last them 250KM+-, that's why I posted to seek for helpful technical advice before paying Toyota to do a check for me.
Anyway, thanks, and I'm sending it for service next week. I'll share with you guys if the issue is resolved thoroughly .

This post has been edited by bootroop: Jul 30 2011, 11:30 AM
V12Kompressor
post Jul 30 2011, 12:13 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Who told you the Innova is known for its fuel efficiency? sweat.gif

There are tons of it in the 2nd hand market at a bargain price for a reason.
monster2020
post Jul 30 2011, 12:14 PM

386 posts

u can try change the air filter to those after market want and also change the extractor to improve the performance lo...

but still all depend on your golden right leg.....
TSbootroop
post Jul 30 2011, 01:34 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Jul 30 2011, 12:13 PM)
Who told you the Innova is known for its fuel efficiency? sweat.gif

There are tons of it in the 2nd hand market at a bargain price for a reason.
I think we should be fair with our comments lah, if it's NOT fuel efficient you must at least let me know some statistics, like how far it can go per tank. Otherwise it becomes baseless. I don't think "poor" innova owners would do cover-up for toyota, right? My friend driving a 6 year-old Innova covers 200-250km for every RM50 he pays. How does this justify your statement? Or you expect 600km for RM50?

Added on July 30, 2011, 1:38 pm
QUOTE(monster2020 @ Jul 30 2011, 12:14 PM)
u can try change the air filter to those after market want and also change the extractor to improve the performance lo...

but still all depend on your golden right leg.....
Will consider that, actually I'm a light footer, average speed only 70km/h...ha sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bootroop: Jul 30 2011, 01:38 PM
wan arif
post Jul 30 2011, 02:09 PM

44 posts

my persona elegance rm 20 get 17xkm..hehe
SUSkyheng
post Jul 30 2011, 02:14 PM

888 posts

QUOTE(bootroop @ Jul 30 2011, 01:34 PM)
I think we should be fair with our comments lah, if it's NOT fuel efficient you must at least let me know some statistics, like how far it can go per tank. Otherwise it becomes baseless. I don't think "poor" innova owners would do cover-up for toyota, right? My friend driving a 6 year-old Innova covers 200-250km for every RM50 he pays. How does this justify your statement? Or you expect 600km for RM50?

Added on July 30, 2011, 1:38 pm

Will consider that, actually I'm a light footer, average speed only 70km/h...ha sweat.gif
Some people just want to troll and make fun on you.....
Anyway, service it first and see how it goes....
pedro
post Jul 30 2011, 02:14 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

My car Rm90 gets me 210km!

Am satisfied!
goohtj
post Jul 30 2011, 02:58 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(pedro @ Jul 30 2011, 02:14 PM)
My car Rm90 gets me 210km!

Am satisfied!
what car r u driving?

my friend's ino get 480km on full tank.
psycho1
post Jul 30 2011, 03:22 PM

37 posts

my car also 2000cc but rm50 anly can go 150km... cry.gif cry.gif
masz94
post Jul 30 2011, 03:59 PM

FYI, ur Innova 2.0 cc is not the same lump as in the Camry 2.0. With the heavy body & lethargic engine, Innova in short is underpowered. So u tend to put ur foot down very often....

AFAIK, Innova offers no great driving experience as it is unstable & when u enter a hard corner, there's an excessive body roll. U better opt for the Naza Citra as while it's cheap, it got a Mazda engine & more energetic..... laugh.gif
SUSceo684
post Jul 30 2011, 04:14 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

check tyre pressure and change the engine oil to proper spec.. air filter too.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 30 2011, 04:38 PM
sevendogz
post Jul 30 2011, 04:22 PM

1,276 posts

you should at least expect 200 plus KM for RM50.
My old sportage 2L can get around 220KM for RM50, with heavy right foot, but only 200KM with light right foot, i also don't know why...

psycho1
post Jul 30 2011, 04:35 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(sevendogz @ Jul 30 2011, 04:22 PM)
you should at least expect 200 plus KM for RM50.
My old sportage 2L can get around 220KM for RM50, with heavy right foot, but only 200KM with light right foot, i also don't know why...
so good fc?? city or highway?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 30 2011, 06:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(bootroop @ Jul 30 2011, 11:30 AM)
Appreciate all constructive comments. The point is, Innova is known for its fuel efficiency, I'm no rich man therefore I surveyed before getting one. I was told by most owners that RM50 can last them 250KM+-, that's why I posted to seek for helpful technical advice before paying Toyota to do a check for me.
Anyway, thanks, and I'm sending it for service next week. I'll share with you guys if the issue is resolved  thoroughly .
I think a lot of comments on FC is just not very accurate...you can ask another owner of Innova(or any other car)...so what if they have 250km while you only managed 150 km? Unless you know their exact route and jam conditions, there's no basis for comparison really. One guy driving same car mostly on highway will definitely have better FC than another guy driving same car in 100% city jam and can't crawl more than 40km/h on average.

City jam is the no. 1 killer of fuel consumption. My Inspira FC difference between city drive and highway drive can goes up to 80%-100%...
Bliz
post Jul 31 2011, 12:44 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 30 2011, 06:10 PM)
I think a lot of comments on FC is just not very accurate...you can ask another owner of Innova(or any other car)...so what if they have 250km while you only managed 150 km? Unless you know their exact route and jam conditions, there's no basis for comparison really. One guy driving same car mostly on highway will definitely have better FC than another guy driving same car in 100% city jam and can't crawl more than 40km/h on average.

City jam is the no. 1 killer of fuel consumption. My Inspira FC difference between city drive and highway drive can goes up to 80%-100%...
Haha this is so true, my city driving is around 11-12km/litre with heavy foot while highway can do 15km/litre easily with my focus tdci 2.0 wink.gif
TSbootroop
post Jul 31 2011, 10:52 AM

24 posts

One more thing is that, my range indicator shows only 340km per full tank yesterday.... kinda abnormal isn't it? Could it be some sort of mechanical error? My tank capacity is 55 litre though...... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by bootroop: Jul 31 2011, 10:55 AM
kayelchan
post Aug 17 2011, 10:44 PM

Hi all,

Dear bootrop

Pre 2007 Innova has poor consumption as the engine was not equipped with closed loop combustion system. You will only get 6-8km to a litre of petrol. Post 2007 Innova has better consumption as it is equipped with the closed loop system. On highway, you may get 11km/litre @100kmh with average load for the newer version.
Innovas are popular in SEA especially Indonesia as the car depreciates only 30% in 3 years.

I drive a 2010 Innova as a weekend car.

Juanni
post Sep 4 2011, 09:39 PM

My 5 years statistic for mixed driving condition is quite consistently full tank ( RM85 / 45Liter) 380km - 400km. Such figure is quite similar to most 2L cars with gasoline.

skyblas
post Sep 6 2011, 12:24 PM

alot of ppl told me innova is known to have really bad fc, u should have chosen grand livina 1.8, mine 70dollar can go 400km
ahsam1212
post Sep 6 2011, 02:09 PM

178 posts

Time for NGV. KLIA Innova has 2 NGV tank at the spare tyre location. Should be good for your wallet.
car maniac
post Oct 22 2021, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(kayelchan @ Aug 17 2011, 10:44 PM)
Dear bootrop

Pre 2007 Innova has poor consumption as the engine was not equipped with closed loop combustion system. You will only get 6-8km to a litre of petrol. Post 2007 Innova has better consumption as it is equipped with the closed loop system. On highway, you may get 11km/litre  @100kmh with average load for the newer version.
Innovas are popular in SEA especially Indonesia as the car depreciates only 30% in 3 years.

I  drive a 2010 Innova as a weekend car.
Any ways to upgrade to this system ah bro?
Mine is 2006 model
Thrust
post Oct 22 2021, 12:47 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Innova 2.0 with a 4 speed auto transmission and a heavy body..

I would say it's about there for RM50 to get 160km.
abubin
post Oct 22 2021, 03:35 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 22 2021, 12:47 PM)

RM50 in 2011 can buy you more fuel than 2021....LOL
SleeplessEyes
post Oct 23 2021, 07:44 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Oct 22 2021, 03:35 PM)
RM50 in 2011 can buy you more fuel than 2021....LOL
By not much actually. Probably won't see the difference in your fuel gauge also
2011 - RM 1.90 per L. RM 50 = 26.3L
2021 - RM 2.05 per L. RM 50 = 24.4L

Difference by 1.9L. That's Rm 3.9 difference.
Rm 50 for 160km = 6.1Km/l
1.9L for 6.1Km/l could only get 11.6 Kiometer extra for the Innova.

Hope this explains the difference more clearly.
empire
post Oct 23 2021, 07:47 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(bootroop @ Jul 30 2011, 11:30 AM)
Anyway, thanks, and I'm sending it for service next week. I'll share with you guys if the issue is resolved  thoroughly .
Wake up! Nobody will say Innova is known for its fuel efficiency. YOU are the one who said it is. no one else.

All MPV's are fuel guzzlers and INNOVA is among the worst guzzlers; on par with another useless MPV called Nissan Serena.

you want fuel efficiency? Use a 1.5 Iswara.

langatian
post Nov 3 2021, 03:12 PM

270 posts

Maybe can save on fuel if UMW bring in Innova 2.5 Diesel (old model) and 2.4 Diesel (new model) instead of this crap.
ktek
post Nov 3 2021, 04:01 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 22 2021, 12:47 PM)
it is lighter than estima so i dont call that heavvy lo

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Oct 23 2021, 07:44 PM)
By not much actually. Probably won't see the difference in your fuel gauge also
2011 - RM 1.90 per L. RM 50 =  26.3L
2021 -  RM 2.05 per L.  RM 50 = 24.4L
Difference by 1.9L. That's Rm 3.9 difference.
Rm 50 for 160km = 6.1Km/l
1.9L for 6.1Km/l could only get 11.6 Kiometer extra for the Innova.
Hope this explains the difference more clearly.

more than 6km-l pls

QUOTE(empire @ Oct 23 2021, 07:47 PM)
Wake up! Nobody will say Innova is known for its fuel efficiency. YOU are the one who said it is. no one else.
All MPV's are fuel guzzlers and INNOVA is among the worst guzzlers; on par with another useless MPV called Nissan Serena.
you want fuel efficiency? Use a 1.5 Iswara.

naza ria how

QUOTE(langatian @ Nov 3 2021, 03:12 PM)
Maybe can save on fuel if UMW bring in Innova 2.5 Diesel (old model) and 2.4 Diesel (new model) instead of this crap.
iya dong ! kijang diesel turbo
langatian
post Nov 3 2021, 04:42 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 3 2021, 04:01 PM)
it is lighter than estima so i dont call that heavvy lo
more than 6km-l pls
naza ria how
iya dong ! kijang diesel turbo
Even solar or diesel sold in Indonesia are more polluted than us but they still sell Innova Diesel confidently. Perhaps UMW afraid Malaysians not to opt Innova Diesel?
ktek
post Nov 3 2021, 04:53 PM

小喇叭
13,215 posts

QUOTE(langatian @ Nov 3 2021, 04:42 PM)
Even solar or diesel sold in Indonesia are more polluted than us but they still sell Innova Diesel confidently. Perhaps UMW afraid Malaysians not to opt Innova Diesel?
cry.gif msia got diesel discrimination. look at fuel station (school teach "petrol" station only) !!!
diesel only 1 or 2 pam and outdoor not shielded, where as plenty of "petrol" pam + shaded under roof

0.0327sec    1.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:07 AM