Can anyone please let me know how does the CVT of lancer works? does it work the same way as Honda City's CVT?
❤ LYN Proton INSPIRA: Owners/Fan Thread V8 ❤, , SMART GUYS GET IT! | Got yours yet?
Jul 31 2011, 01:37 AM
1,221 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Can anyone please let me know how does the CVT of lancer works? does it work the same way as Honda City's CVT?
Jul 31 2011, 01:52 AM
Jul 31 2011, 02:09 AM
Jul 31 2011, 02:33 AM
QUOTE(Daniel520 @ Jul 31 2011, 02:21 AM) Ooo sorry didnt noe honda city has CVT >< between what kind of problems honda city has with CVT? Mind sharing?? Maybe I can let you know if Inspira have the same problem. SA today told me that the CVT for the City that I have is not as good as Lancer. I asked him twice how does it work for Lancer, but his answer is just that City's CVT is older version, while Lancer is a new better version. I wanna know how does the CVTin Lancer works. What is the different in both CVT that prompt him to say this |
Jul 31 2011, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(ckk125 @ Jul 31 2011, 08:43 AM) No such thing not as good as lancer or whatever. Well, the SA said that in time, the belt grip in the CVT gearbox for City will loosen up, and will cause major problem for the car. The problem can be fixed by changing the CVT gearbox.Although honda city uses a CVT, it is very different compared to the ones in altis, lancer, and slyphy. the honda city's uses a clutch system where as the larger CVTs for medium sized cars uses a torque converter. one may argue that the torque converter ones are more reliable, but it comes at a cost, the torque converter has more power loss. Both are very different CVTs catered for different car sizes. Our CVT is much larger to cater the larger amount of torque it can handle. it shows in the CVTF requirement. lancer, altis, nissan uses 6 litres compared to the honda city's 3.5 litres of CVTF Dont worry, both CVTs, under proper hands, will be very reliable. it is the stupid honda SC that made this mess up for themselves when they put ATF in the city's CVT. Added on July 31, 2011, 8:44 am Proton's CVT is from Punch automative and it uses a clutch system. |
Jul 31 2011, 06:23 PM
Aug 4 2011, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(summerangelx @ Aug 4 2011, 08:19 AM) Am i bad luck? ECU or sensor malfunction? I am sorry that you got this problem. Please update us, as I have yet to get Inspira. I am still waiting to setting some issues on my side, plus some promotion.I just took my car 2.0p chasis 6xxx series yesterday morning. Then happily test drive... about 70km.... Bad things happen to me... the ABS fault shown in my screen... It require service.... then another 20-30 mins driving... the engine light also shown in my screen. I quickly send back the car to the SC near by Jalan Ipoh. Walao... they dont know what happening after 30 mins... they have no idea with those error light.. (That time i havent read the manual book yet because i just took the car in the morning!) After that they asked me to Center of Execellence main branch to check! ok!... I must go lor.. no choice what... What happen is when i am on the way to this USJ there, the hand brake light show on the screen! this is third light liao.... I starting to worry and the celcius showing at the bottom of "D" mode is 46.. Damn hot wor... is that normal? Finally i reached to main branch at 4 pm. They said must let my car overnight there coz they close at 5pm.... I need to take cab back to my house... WTF >.<" However i checked the manual book at night and found i m lucky while the car safely send to that Center of Execellent! It is quite dangerous while i quite speedy around 100-130kmh because the car look fine. This is consider my first car because i bought it my self! I really panas hati and very disappointed with "P". I thought giving another chance to them as ppl complaining their QC problems, but my self kena gao gao... This happen in day 1... how they can ensure it wont happen again such errors..... However, i asked my SA installed the auto lock and gear lock only which is not affect those ABS, engine things... This post has been edited by runemastertan: Aug 4 2011, 08:59 AM |
Aug 5 2011, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 5 2011, 09:49 AM) Yeah Ok, I already inform my SA about it and he's looking for it for me already....dont care where he got it from i just want my damper back Hi, I hope that you can get a picture of what you said up there. It would help a lot for those who are looking into buying an Inspira.So to all future owners, please check the damper. don't be like me like that, checked the big things but din't check the glove compartment thoroughly. say....is it worth the hassle to install a light which will turn on whenever i open the glove compartment? Can anyone snap a pic of their glove compartment with the damper? So that i can bring it to show the SA in case he find anything different... I myself is quite critical about proton. That is said after my dad's wira broke down for countless time, I am quite skeptical. But, I do believe in improvement, and I think that Inspira should be better now. As long as the engine and the critical components of the car is not of low quality, then all matters can be fix. My car is giving me problem lately, and I am looking into changing for a new car, Inspira is the one I am looking at right now. The thing is, I can't seem to find a time to test drive it yet.... |
Aug 5 2011, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 5 2011, 10:06 AM) Proton quality has improved by leaps and bounds no doubt about it. However its those small little things that QC team have frequently overlooked.... oh yes, their aircon is legendary. Of all the things that broke down in my dad's old car, the aircon seems to be invisible LOLThe wira eh,,,despite the many problems it has...I think its still one of the car I love the most...My current wira is with me for 17 years liao At least there's one thing that you can be sure 99% its dem good, their Air con.... How is the pickup and the fc of 2.0 CVT? Anyone know about this? |
Aug 5 2011, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Aug 5 2011, 10:32 AM) Pickup at low end is good enough to me. I'll say it better than a 1.6 Forte auto which i've tested, but from 120km/h - 160km/h....is very easy....in fact...just kick up the rev to 4k - 4.5k rpm into the MIVEC zone and the car will fly, even at lower speed...but of course, if drive like that sure makan minyak lor.... Thanks a lot for the info, Matrix. Normal city driving 100% jam is 8km/l - 9km/l. Highway 100km/h-160km/h is 14 km/l. If you constantly drive at 90km/h, probably you can achieve 16km/l. One more question: Proton SA did mention to me that the City's CVT will spoilt sooner or later if the user suddenly rev high, like at 1k rpm suddenly rev to 5-6k rpm. He said sooner or later the rubber inside the CVT for City will lose it's grip. I did some research on this, althought I can;t specifically find the issue he said, the CVT inside the City and Inspira seems to be using the same type, althought Lancer's CVT is called INVECS-III CVT. Both uses chain belt and both are same in regards of how they function technically. When I asked the SA how about the Inspira CVT, will it have the same issue as City's? he diverted my question. Sorry if i sound sceptical, but this is an issue in my head since the SA mentioned it to me. I hope you guys can help me clarify this. Thanks a lot This post has been edited by runemastertan: Aug 5 2011, 11:07 AM |
Aug 6 2011, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(chyapp @ Aug 6 2011, 06:20 PM) i just bought this... very good... can take care of our leather, plastic, vinyl ... icy cold!!:) If you don;t mention the damage, we won;t know if we are charged more expensive or cheaper than yoursAdded on August 6, 2011, 6:21 pm not mention the damage.. |
Aug 7 2011, 01:53 AM
QUOTE(Daniel520 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:40 AM) == ya meh I didnt know XD >< BMW Jaguar and Ferrari == U sure BOh ... which type o == I laugh at this.Added on August 7, 2011, 12:43 am LOL Really ? I thought DuGong means following. CuCuk means poKING HAHHAHXX XD. Thanks for the clarification. Still city and vios dam under power. It;s like you, driving a 1000cc superbike and manage to overtake a 70cc kapcai, and you got so goddamn happy about it, gotta show the whole world that your superbike could overtake a kapcai Let's be fair, shall we? A 1.8/2.0cc overtaking a 1.5cc car is normal, if you feel that your car is damn slow and when overtaking a 1.5cc car, then it's either there is something wrong with your car, or your car sucks big time. If you wanna cucuk, or tailgate, or overtake in high speed, do it on Civic 2.0, Altis 2.0, Camry 2.4, perdana V6, accord 2.4 /3.6 V6, Sonata 2.4, 350z/370x, TT, RX8, Lancer GT, Audi A8, Bentley etc. Make sure they are really racing with you before you think you win. If you manage to win over a Gen 2, Wira, Waja, City, Persona, Myvi, Viva or even kancil, please save it up. You can put here if you really wanna humor us. Grow up. |
Aug 7 2011, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(Daniel520 @ Aug 7 2011, 02:16 AM) I think Inspira upgrade to R3 same as Satria Neo to R3 has a price too confirm not 150k and confirm no turbo. Depends on how it looks like first =D. No, i wasn;t directing my answer to you specifically. Rather I am directing it to the people who make fun of other cars, especially to those who is obvious that other cars are not as powerful as their, but they still wanna make fun of the car. Added on August 7, 2011, 2:20 am == I feel u r quite lame la == a 2.0p Inspira cost 90k a City cost 95k full spec a vios cost ... I DUN CARE == yes they have lower CC engines, I didnt brag about woo hoo I TIONG A VIos == I only told Matrix dun tiong vios and city la they dam under power. When did I say WOO HOO I tiong A VIOS == dun lame ah please. I even asked matrix to tiong the same segment cars. If not why chyapp said matrix not tionging vios and city anymore?? tionging Ferrari BMW and jaguar Waaa. == Please read properly before replying. Thanks. About the price, as far as I know, the ability of the car have nothing to do with the price. Your ori car maker tag your proton car at RM130k, with a different emblem and name. I am more interested to know the how good is a car with it;s matched HP, rather than a 140hp having fun kicking 100ish hp or lower car. You feel I am lame? No problem. I feel those who like to make fun are lame. No offense intended to you This post has been edited by runemastertan: Aug 7 2011, 02:33 AM |
Aug 7 2011, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(chyapp @ Aug 7 2011, 02:45 AM) THE ABILITY of the CAR is TOTALLY Follow with the PRICE. so you can use RM 50K car's ability and buy RM 100K car's ability? dun mention you are in malaysia. let take you to US, so you can use USD 10K to buy a USD 23K Lancer's engine? Dun even mention Inspira is Change the emblem or name. I gonna SHOUT to those MYVI owner... GOOD ar your car?? Malaysia Made?? still change of emblem and name and no people care business coz is a NON-FAMOUS CAR AT ALL and daihatsu throw to TOYOTA and resell to PERODUA... Let's take the tax out from Vios and City. They are cheaper than Inspira. The last I heard, Vios cost around 600k baht in Thai. Let me arrogantly assume that 10 baht = RM 1. Vios and City are cheaper than Inspira, without tax.Other comment i dun care.. if you talking about this i will wanted to CORRECT you. Thanks Let me tell you: Yes I hate people who cucuk or tailgate other cars. It's GODDAMN DANGEROUS!! I basically near got involved in high speed accident on the highway because some satria driver thinks that they are better than those Vios drivers. The satria cucuk the vios and I am just next to that Vios driver. Maybe the road is slippery due to rain, that Vios swing a bit and nearly hit me. So you wanna play cucuk? Please think of other drivers on the road. Especially when there are families on the road, not just driver themselves. And what it has to do with Myvi? The distinct advantage of Myvi is because it's small, and easier to park. Do you think Smart Fortwo is good? Can it cucuk other car? is the handling superb? No. too bad it isn;t. All cars in Malaysia is highly inflated. And people do not by cars mainly on the performance. There are other factors, such as reliability, durability, second hand value. Maybe for you performance is your main criteria, but your taste might be other's cup of tea |
Aug 7 2011, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(ckk125 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:35 PM) so does your views. to each his own, stop babling what you feel and lets get back to what this thread is all about, proton inspira. Agreedremove tax? are you for real? or is this your 1st day in malaysia? i couldnt care less if it is inflated or not. what matters most in the end is MONEY and COST. |
Aug 7 2011, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Daniel520 @ Aug 7 2011, 12:41 PM) Between people who drives on a wet road at high speed are idiots and if they play cucuk == the vios should just let that idiot satria pass den the satria will just cucuk another car. If you let a car cucuk and dun move u r an idiot too coz you are basically being an ass hole to block the road. I didnt say its safe to cucuk people but I wont ever cucuk anyone or drive more den 60 in a rain. I've been in that situation 80km/h in a rain turn also can gg. Ohh, this is new. I saw the review of Smart Fortwo by Top Gear, and it's basically not that good at handling.Please dun look down on smart cars =D watch this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgxYoeGrfzQ |
Aug 7 2011, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(Daniel520 @ Aug 7 2011, 01:16 PM) Cars will eventually improves, sames as proton it will eventually improves. U are probably watching one of the very very old reviews of smart. Second hand value not much to comment now coz for me I feel second hand cars are all terrible, it really depends on how the 1st owner take care and protect the car. One most important factor how the owner drive the car. Even if you buy toyota or honda at second hand how do you know its still reliable? You are basically buying an old car/ problem car. I will never buy a second hand car coz I rather buy a new car and use it for 15 - 20 years at least i'm using and enjoying a new car. Selling a car at second is always a loss to me, I dunno about u guys but this is how I think. While what you said is true, and most people know that it's true, but they still do not want to take chances. They rather take chances on second hand car. Brand power is another, mouth to mouth advertising is another (T and H owners basically are very proud of their car lol). Plus, money is important as it's their hard earn money. Skeptical is another issue.Did you regret that you have bought Inspira? If not, then who cares what other people got to say about your car? |
Aug 7 2011, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Aug 7 2011, 07:49 PM) Let's see if i get treated the same after i get my first service. My SC called me too to ask me about the car (I haven't even decide which SC to send to!) after 2-3 days of getting my car? I did tell them about the noise insulation problem that we have with the road noise, and they say they'll do something about (seem like they already got a solution in place). They told me if its bothering me very much i can come make appointment and come asap, other wise can go do it one shot during the first service). Asked me a lot of things about SA's way of handling the sales etc. Oh? This is indeed a positive change. I hope Proton will keep this up.If this happened due to a change in service policy in Proton, I hope they keep it up. This should be the way, after all no matter what car, a car purchase isn't cheap. |
Aug 8 2011, 11:22 AM
QUOTE(ah_ken @ Aug 8 2011, 11:08 AM) Cause before i think the car still new, scare later suddenly any problem half way. I thought you need not change the timing chain? Regular rubber timing belt need to be changed at 80k, but not with timing chain. They can last practically forever. PLease correct me if I am wrongthen next time back i will drive that car. check is it any problem on highway. do you know how long the timing chain can last, and change? what is the cost to change timing chain? |
Aug 11 2011, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(munky @ Aug 11 2011, 02:04 PM) latest info i got: This, does not make sense to me. Unless there is a huge different between both fuel, fuel causes knocking sound does not sound right to mepetronas fuel causes knocking. Use shell instead. Maybe it's isolated case, i dunno. Got this info from proton test engineer |
| Change to: | 0.0221sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:11 AM |