Engineering UTAR or UTeM ?

XxxNightSkyxxX
post Nov 5 2011, 12:37 AM

713 posts

well, im stpm leaver too..
got an offer from UniMAP for mechatronic.
but i ended up in private U taking another course.
go for what you interested in. dont study something that you dont like.
that's from what i can see from my seniors who regretted of taking the course they dont like.
choose wisely. good luck thou. icon_rolleyes.gif
Flash90
post Nov 5 2011, 08:31 AM

362 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Jul 26 2011, 05:15 PM)
You look down UTeM ka?
I do look down on UTeM and I was a student from there.

QUOTE(grimwickleo @ Jul 27 2011, 01:39 PM)
I was a student of Matrix and I am a student of UTAR now. I can give you the experience you might face.

For UTAR, you will face Chinese. It's Mandarin or English. No one gives a damn to BM. You enjoy freedom, not much restrictions on cultures, events and things you feel like doing. Perak campus is like a peaceful town, not much of entertainment unless you want to seek something high at ipoh (30 minutes drive) or KL (2 hours). Things are not expensive and you have Tesco to get cheap raw food. If you don't drive, you can cyle and it is 5 minutes from East lake (quieter part) or 10 minutes from Westlake (very crowded but expensive). Accomodation is quite direct for other campuses.

The downside, of course: You need 80% attendance. Some lecturers are funny assholes. You can ask your friends to sign for you if the lecturers/tutors don't care. It's hard to score A as there are new policies ruling the quota of A's.
For local U's, in general, you get lower tuition fees. You get a lot of resources in funding.

The downside, of course:
1. racism. it is hard to avoid it. I went to Matrix and the first thing I heard from the president is "Dear non-Malay, you should be grateful because we Malay sacrifice 10% of our quota for you all...". Nevermind, but I bumped into some Malay assholes who told me the same thing, and told me that I should thank Allah. Perhaps it is about personal experience but I strong dter such strong racial sentiments, and despise those assholes who are the products of MARA brainwashing >> HOPELESS!

2. lecturer and tutor quality. You know well how well our secondary teachers are. Highly qualified teachers are rejected from the education sector by the ministry of education yet they claim we don't have enough good teaching force. you read the news and you know how well the umno administration is playing about.

3. freedom restricted. in matrix, you have stupid schedules. in local u, you can culture restricted. you have to respect their prayers, respect whatever clothings they wish you to dress, and respect their cultures by adhering to their ways and norms. in utar, you can just ignore them and live your way. but you've got to live with it if you go local U. it's not a big deal actually. it depends on the campus. but you certainly won't like someone calling you haram for eating pork or holding hands with your girlfriend (while they can do it and even have sex at their dorms).
i know the way i convey it is racist and biased. I assume that you are a Chinese and I give my opinion regarding my personal experience. I'm alright with Malay but I'm fed up of toleration when I don't see people respecting my cultures (and that's what I call dignity). If you are a Malay, well you are certainly free from your religous obligations if you are not religious or you don't even care a damn of it.
Good luck.
+1...This is the truth in IPTA. If u don't mind to suffer+study hard in the next 4 yrs, sure why not choose a cheaper and yet a pretty decent uni. But in IPTS, it is relaxing+study hard. U make the choice. IPTS doesn't have those restrictions and annoying rules.

Talking from my experience from both IPTA and IPTS. And I changed from IPTA to IPTS. Happily ever after i would say tongue.gif

QUOTE(hirano @ Jul 27 2011, 07:18 PM)
u shouldn't compare matrix with ipta.
Everything that he said totally reflects the life in IPTA. It is quite similar i would say. Well...since the majority of IPTA students are u-knw-who which is also similar to Matrix.
yxl
post Nov 5 2011, 02:15 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Nov 5 2011, 08:31 AM)
+1...This is the truth in IPTA. If u don't mind to suffer+study hard in the next 4 yrs, sure why not choose a cheaper and yet a pretty decent uni. But in IPTS, it is relaxing+study hard. U make the choice. IPTS doesn't have those restrictions and annoying rules.

Talking from my experience from both IPTA and IPTS. And I changed from IPTA to IPTS. Happily ever after i would say tongue.gif
Everything that he said totally reflects the life in IPTA. It is quite similar i would say. Well...since the majority of IPTA students are u-knw-who which is also similar to Matrix.
Since studying in matrix and IPTA so suffer why there are still many Chinese want to suffer at there?
XxxNightSkyxxX
post Nov 5 2011, 02:18 PM

713 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Nov 5 2011, 08:31 AM)
no wonder you come to mmu melaka. brows.gif
Makira
post Nov 5 2011, 02:24 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

QUOTE(yxl @ Nov 5 2011, 02:15 PM)
Since studying in matrix and IPTA so suffer why there are still many Chinese want to suffer at there?
Matrix=easiest entrance to IPTA

IPTA=cheap fees

If many Chinese are rich, mostly prefer overseas. biggrin.gif
Flash90
post Nov 5 2011, 10:16 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(XxxNightSkyxxX @ Nov 5 2011, 02:18 PM)
no wonder you come to mmu melaka.  brows.gif
Hehe

QUOTE(Makira @ Nov 5 2011, 02:24 PM)
Matrix=easiest entrance to IPTA

IPTA=cheap fees

If many Chinese are rich, mostly prefer overseas.  biggrin.gif
Yup those r the reasons. Not all can afford IPTS and not all can take risks. Matrix is the easiest to get into IPTA which has cheap fees and risks to get rejected from IPTA is lower for Matrix students. And I heard Matrix is easier to score than STPM.

I would remain in IPTA bcoz I'm kinda poor. But I got scholarship to study in IPTS...Happy!! biggrin.gif
wohoo
post Nov 5 2011, 10:25 PM

250 posts

TS..from your first statement, you have made up your mind to study in UTAR. So go ahead.

so when you study it is important that you like it. So that you can excel well in yr study. well dun talk about the Uni standard. Just rmb. if you dun like tat thing you not gonna study well even you have been offered to study in UM, u also cant score well if you do not like it. so make sure u do proper research before you accept the offer. Take sometime to study the subject or perhaps go to pay a visit to the campus and ask for detail about the course..Maybe UTem

Makira
post Nov 5 2011, 10:35 PM

~Strive For Stars~
709 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Nov 5 2011, 10:16 PM)
Yup those r the reasons. Not all can afford IPTS and not all can take risks. Matrix is the easiest to get into IPTA which has cheap fees and risks to get rejected from IPTA is lower for Matrix students. And I heard Matrix is easier to score than STPM.

I would remain in IPTA bcoz I'm kinda poor. But I got scholarship to study in IPTS...Happy!! biggrin.gif
I still stuck in IPTA......but be grateful for what I own now....
Flash90
post Nov 6 2011, 09:36 AM

362 posts

QUOTE(Makira @ Nov 5 2011, 10:35 PM)
I still stuck in IPTA......but be grateful for what I own now....
'stuck' sounds sad haha. Anyway, yeah we r all grateful with all that we have.
shortystick
post Mar 10 2012, 01:48 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Flash90 @ Nov 6 2011, 09:36 AM)
'stuck' sounds sad haha. Anyway, yeah we r all grateful with all that we have.
Im also stuck la david. LMAO
Flash90
post Mar 11 2012, 01:45 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(shortystick @ Mar 10 2012, 01:48 PM)
Im also stuck la david. LMAO
LOL u troll!
pw8799
post Dec 16 2014, 01:36 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(NooBeRs88 @ Jul 30 2011, 02:10 PM)
well. is helpful. haha.
1. i don't really like either electrical nor electronic... actually i prefer mechanical or physics...
2. UTeM electrical engineering wasn't in my 8 choices... i choose UPM UMS mechanical aerospace n physics... unfortunately, they don't even wanna give me a pure/applied science.
3. i can study major on them during master degree.
4. probably if can i wouldn't use. is there any loan beside PTPTN? lol..
5/6/7. ya. but i'm emphasize more on university quality and study environment. If both UTAR and UTeM students are looking for same employer, and both have good ability/personality, which 1 will be employ?
8. This i don't know haha.
9. both are accredited. i had checked both course modules and subjects 1 by 1. thats why i know there's no renewable energy/optoelectronic/microelectronic in UTeM.
10. i don't deny this. but as i said, university quality come first.
11. Frankly tell you, i also hope to study in multi-cultural U, so i can strengthen my communication skill and so on.
12. what safe-zone u mean?
13. Well, i'm looking for better, doesn't mean negative mindset.

Actually i'm looking for physics at the first. Unfortunately, i choose E&E which have related some subjects that i like. This is because i feel that engineering have better job opportunity then physics, through my 'research'. If i'm rich, i will go for physics, but my family need my support in the future. I don't know i'm right or wrong. please correct me? i'm willing to.. smile.gif
can you tell how's ur cgpa?
pw8799
post Dec 16 2014, 01:39 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(jay @ Aug 2 2011, 10:27 PM)
UTeM laaa cheaper maa
how much cheaper is it?
cookiesdreamer
post Dec 18 2014, 04:31 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(NooBeRs88 @ Jul 26 2011, 04:43 PM)
My friends told me to appreciate the chance of getting local U, but i prefer to study at UTAR.
Forget about what your friends are saying. I was offered Electronic Engineering at UTHM, Johor. Rejected it to go to UTAR. Why? It was not the course that I applied for. Yes, people would say you should be grateful if you could get an offer from IPTA. But in between your own choice or a choice that is thrown to you; your own choice is what matter the most.

Of course UTeM is a whole lot cheaper than UTAR. But UTAR is a whole cheaper than any other private universities/colleges like Taylor, Help, Inti etc. Like everyone else has mentioned, UTAR uses either English or Mandarin. BM, forget about it. No restriction on clothes etiquette. T-shirt and jeans are enough. Very nice environment to study too (lake, hills etc.). Accommodations are much cheaper than KL so if you are from cities, you can survive at Kampar. Oh and unlike UM, there is no politicians in UTAR -- just saying.

Money won't be a problem if you could get PTPTN and know how to keep tabs of your budget. Most important is to study hard.

0.0159sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:08 PM