[OFFICIAL] ATI X800GT/GTO/GTO² Disscusion Thread, 3DMark 03/05 comparison and discussion

Dead__Man
post Sep 12 2005, 05:54 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Sep 12 2005, 02:33 PM)
any news for agp mode??????
Reading your specs, I'd recommend you to upgrade your platform first. No point fueling V-Power into an old beetle.
Dead__Man
post Sep 18 2005, 12:50 AM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

I seriously hope they don't make an AGP version. Let it die in peace already!
Dead__Man
post Sep 19 2005, 08:29 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

Why should AGP die already? Because it is a doomed technology. Many people may be using it, the majority of which phail to see that a system upgrade would be much better than merely a GC upgrade.

Let it die already, so that the industries can use mroe time for new and more products than converting existing ones to AGP.
Dead__Man
post Sep 19 2005, 09:29 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 19 2005, 09:25 PM)
doomed technology?
same goes to PCIe, it's just the matter of time.
for your info, more than 70% of current pc users are still using AGP based system.
And I suppose those PCs will be buying >RM200 graphic cards, right?
Dead__Man
post Sep 19 2005, 09:35 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

70% of the PCs that supposedly are on AGP, thereof, probably 65% are in offices. Do you think they'd spend anything over RM100 per graphics card?
Dead__Man
post Sep 19 2005, 11:07 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Sep 19 2005, 10:47 PM)
so what?
it'd be the same if all of them are using pcie.

if all manufacturers stop producing agp cards now, it'll be a terrible news for those agp users(especially for the poor ones including me).
i know you are rich and can upgrade anytime you want, but please take consider of the others.
i can't imagine what would be the world like if most of the people like you. shakehead.gif
Just to make it clear, I'm not rich. I'm still on an AGP platform using a 9550.
Dead__Man
post Sep 19 2005, 11:11 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

The simple and pure reason why I want AGP to die is because the less platforms you have, the easier it is to manufacture new stuff. PCI-E is the one with the bigger d*** in comparison to AGP, so let it be the dominating platform. I rest my case here.
Dead__Man
post Sep 20 2005, 09:58 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2005, 02:52 PM)
wow, seems like a debate is goin on in here
If the market for AGP is still there, then releasing AGP would be good.

For example, if ATi doesn't produce AGP card anymore and Nvidia is still producing them then of course Nvidia will gain more profit.

BTW, the 700MB CD-ROM is an old tech and we dun see it dying at all even though 4.7GB DVD and 30~50GB next-gen DVD is introduced.
Yeah, but unlike graphic cards, you can put a cd in a DVD rom drive. I can't put an AGP card into a PCI-E slot, now can I?

Compatibility is the issue here. By forcing consumers to adhere to one standard, technological progresses will be made easier.
Dead__Man
post Sep 21 2005, 09:35 PM

Who am I?
1,866 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Sep 20 2005, 10:57 PM)
There is a point.
Anyway there is an AGP to PCI-E converter.
http://www.techpowerup.com/?3272
Yeah, but this costs money and is impractical, you can't say the same about DVD-ROM drives with CD-ROM support.

0.0152sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:52 AM