Buying new handphone? Need RECOMMENDATION? V12, Simple Guide and price at page 1 !!!

hengguowei
post Jul 22 2011, 08:04 PM

Embracing Android since the demise of Symbian
4,475 posts

QUOTE(raul88 @ Jul 22 2011, 01:12 AM)
need review on AP HTC phone
since the difference in price between SIS(ori) and Brightstar(ap) is a lot

any customers here got bad experience with brightstar set?
Who told you Brightstar is AP oh? laugh.gif

AP phones did not pass Quality Control by the authorised distributor hence, the authorised distributor does not warrant your device. You will get your warranty by local company, lots of company. I suggest going for Ori to have a peace of mind. smile.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 23 2011, 08:36 PM

4,475 posts

Asking for advice now. biggrin.gif

My dad wants to change phone. He's been using Nokia Symbian devices as long as I can remember. He's using N97 currently and there's some problem with his phone.

His main requirement is to have a physical qwerty keypad and so my filtered list is either E7 or HTC Desire Z. He said he wants something similar to N97 cause he's familiar with the system. In other words, he wants Symbian. But all of us knows Symbian is going to a well-prepared grave.

My other thought was SGS2 with a blurtooth keyboard but he might not want that as SGS2 may seem expensive to him since it has hit the 2k mark.

So which do you think he should get? biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 24 2011, 06:55 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 23 2011, 10:58 PM)
Go for e7, suit ur dad more since he already familiar Symbian OS..
haha, convinced him to get S2 ady. biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 28 2011, 09:49 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(mike5087 @ Jul 28 2011, 04:48 PM)
if i wan to buy budget around rm1300. which phone can consider?
AP LG Optimus 2x? Cheapest Dual Core device available. rclxms.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(mike5087 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:42 PM)
if i wan camera 5mp got any phone recommend.
most game, facebook, or other stuffs.
Samsung Galaxy S, SL, S Plus all also 5mpx. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Jul 28 2011, 09:49 PM
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 08:19 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(Niv86 @ Jul 31 2011, 01:45 AM)
1. Brand - Android/window phone

2. Budget - ard 1k or below

3. Specs - any (for working use, check mail and easy to use)

4. Type/Size - any (as long as screen big enough for uncles to read)

looking for phone for my dad, hope anyone can recommend me.
QUOTE(superTB @ Jul 31 2011, 02:43 AM)
budget below 1000
touch screen
android
camera auto focus
battery should tahan more than 1 day
smooth touch screen if possible
gps free can ah?

btw im using my fren account. thanks guru!
Sony Ericsson X10 AP
Samsung Galaxy Ace Ori
HTC Desire Z AP
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 11:15 AM

4,475 posts

SGS or Xperia Arc? Main usage movies and games. Either one. Thanks. smile.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 12:55 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 31 2011, 11:37 AM)
SGS Plus has a weaker graphics chip compared to SGS. My brother uses it mainly for music, movies and games. Let's just discuss only here. The other thread is redundant. smile.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 04:55 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 31 2011, 01:10 PM)
u wan good graphic & dual core proc mayb can go for Optimus 2x, ap 1450 only
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_2x-3598.php
Budget @ 1200. Doesn't matter. I think set for SGS ady. smile.gif
Now, to ask you guys, for me. Android, cannot be SGS II cause my dad using, Sensation good choice? biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 08:14 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(leeyengyang @ Jul 31 2011, 07:29 PM)
Did SGS Plus GPU weak Than SGS ??
Yes. Adreno 205 is weaker than PowerVR SGX540. smile.gif
hengguowei
post Jul 31 2011, 10:26 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:21 PM)
u sure? u test b4 for these 2 proc.. u got the review from?
i think overall not really much diff  hmm.gif
Lots lots lots of review says the same and the test proves the same point as well. hmm.gif
I'm waiting for Sensation price to drop even more. whistling.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 1 2011, 01:43 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:55 PM)
cool! c mayb next mth will drop more, may increase also... just wait loh if u not rush.. wink.gif
Can't wait. Scared my results coming out this month is not good then dad don't allow to buy ady. Better buy first. laugh.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 1 2011, 05:49 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(hades4eve @ Aug 1 2011, 05:21 PM)
BUDGET RANGE: Max RM1800 (+- RM100~Rm200 depends on the featured offered) Lower the price but packed with more functionality will be considered.

Brand Preference if any: HTC (Preferred). Will consider other brand as well

Second hand: Yes ( depend on condition )

QWERTY keyboard: No

Keypad: Virtual / Hardware (most pda phones are virtual)

GPS: Yes ( A MUST ). NEED TO HAVE A DEDICATED GPS RECEIVER ( A-GPS Expensive )

Bluetooth: Yes

WIfi: Yes

Frequent Overseas traveller to Japan and US? or other countries: Yes ( To Australia ) but no big deal... can live with no phone anyway...

Camera Resolution minimum: 3.2M and above? But not really a big matter

Expandable Memory: Got then good, Dun hv also nvm

3G : Yes

HSDPA or higher: Yes

Front Camera: Yes (Preferred). No also nvm...

Gaming Type: Light gaming

Screen Resolution: I dont give a hoot

Extra: Preferred Windows based compared to Android.

I was previously owned a HTC Diamond which recommended by Baronic and I'm very happy with the suggestion. Since the phone now is dead, I hope someone would give me suggestion which will last me for another 3 years?
Samsung Galaxy S II? biggrin.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 2 2011, 06:33 AM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(LovingYou @ Aug 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
LG optimus 2x or optimus black nice ?
wanna try LG handphone biggrin.gif but lg handphone no 2nd hand value sad.gif
Design also so so. But if you just want RAW power, LG Optimus 2x is not bad but still on 2.2 now I presume. hmm.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 2 2011, 10:21 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Aug 2 2011, 10:03 PM)
ya
htc wildfire better than galaxy mini by camera only if im not mistaken
RM2099
but u can get it cheaper from garage sales
should be install, just like computer, not read ==
don't worry is can, even SGS also can adi
plus can't o.O ?
if u dun trust can go ask for it
even SGS already can install ==
don't worry, got its application
but i dunno why i can't found in market
i go zynga website and link and found this sweat.gif
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.zynga.livepoker
Can read. But from what I know, you may go to market and download Flash Player. smile.gif I did that on Galaxy S II.

Added on August 2, 2011, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(n8210 @ Aug 2 2011, 01:27 PM)
For normal candy bar phones (originals) such as Nokia and SE or Samsung, what is the warranty period? A seller told me the electronic board is 1 year, but the LCD is only 1 month, nokia 3 or 6 months, depending on model. Is this true?
I don't think so. As far as I know. Nokia offers a full 1 year warranty for entire handset while 6 months for accessories like charger and batteries. smile.gif What the seller seem to be telling is not Original, seems like AP set. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Aug 2 2011, 10:23 PM
hengguowei
post Aug 2 2011, 11:20 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Aug 2 2011, 11:06 PM)
compared to other phones, is Samsung Galaxy S2 one of the top phones in malaysia? in terms of spec and quality, i'm looking forward to buy this phone soon enough, but should i wait for iphone 4s?
Yes, Samsung Galaxy S II is definitely the overall winner now compared to any other phones. smile.gif

Added on August 2, 2011, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(leeyengyang @ Aug 2 2011, 11:08 PM)
mean GPU is low.. ><
Adreno 205 is weaker than SGX540. smile.gif

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Aug 2 2011, 11:20 PM
hengguowei
post Aug 3 2011, 05:04 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Aug 2 2011, 11:30 PM)
for now yes, but what about next two month, heard that iphone 4s is gonna be awesome than S2, then i heard such rumours saying that S3 will be coming out on early 2012, should i wait for 4s and compare with S2 or should i juz buy S2, any suggestion?  biggrin.gif
Buy whatever's in the market now and worry less. Other products are mere rumours while S II is already physically proven. Have you heard of the other rumour that Sony Ericsson is coming out with a 1.5Ghz Dual-Core device with 12mpx, qHD 4.5 inch display and 2500mah battery? laugh.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 4 2011, 11:23 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(leeyengyang @ Aug 4 2011, 10:45 PM)
I wan ASk September APple Out Iphone5 Or Iphone 4s ?
I'm no fortune teller but it's an upgraded version to the current iPhone 4 obviously. icon_rolleyes.gif
hengguowei
post Aug 5 2011, 08:39 AM

4,475 posts

You must understand launching and sales is different. They can launch it next month but it can take ages to come to Malaysia. Malaysia is always slower.
hengguowei
post Aug 7 2011, 06:59 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Aug 7 2011, 10:44 AM)
Why is it that every single Andrioid phone I've seen, looks ugly and feels choppy? At first I thought maybe this only happens for lower end models, but I tried my friend's HTC Sensation (their top-end model right?) and it is STILL ugly and choppy.
HTC Sense UI problem maybe. Try Galaxy S II and you'll know how smooth can Android be.

QUOTE(kobEj0rdan~ @ Aug 7 2011, 03:11 PM)
wow, thanks buddy for the info, might change to u mobile after this.hahaha
Please make sure you check UMobile 3G coverage first before getting it. Umobile has relatively a smaller coverage as it is comparatively new. smile.gif
And your quota is quite little which after exceeding you get throttle. Digi should be the best between cost and reliability. Maxis is the most reliable if you'd ask me but price is excessively expensive. doh.gif

Make your choice depending on your usage. smile.gif

Check Umobile coverage here : http://www.u.com.my/domestic-coverage/coverage-map

This post has been edited by hengguowei: Aug 7 2011, 09:41 PM
hengguowei
post Aug 10 2011, 10:31 PM

4,475 posts

QUOTE(xYondaimex @ Aug 10 2011, 01:00 AM)
SGS2 indeed most imba phone, but i heard that this phones battery dry fast....firstly i didnt believe it, but when my fren bought this phone, YES! this phones really bad on battery life...so fast drain  sad.gif
Yes, battery finishes freaking fast. For moderate to heavy user, it's very bad. You can't last through the day most probably.
For light users, you sure can last through the day. My dad can last through the day with more than 50% confirm cause his usage really light but on a super imba phone. laugh.gif
My brother help him finish up battery by playing games. doh.gif

0.0471sec    1.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:31 PM