Huawei Ideos X5 Thread V2, Perfect balance of value and performance
PerlBoy
Aug 2 2011, 10:05 PM

ive been following this growing thread for a while, and glad to say have bought this phone as my N82 replacement! add me to the list!
got the white version + 16GB kingmax class10 (frm yeapch01). bt that 16gb went to the TF101, and from my N82, the sandisk 8gb class6 to the X5.
i havent really done anything yet, but looks like ill be doing: - root - remove unwanted apps - backup - wait for ginger - try different roms, launcher, etc. - OC
will nd to find a hardcase too.. too bad i missed the bulk. wonder if theres a 2nd??
the previous thread had a link to a page to improve SD speeds... if its working, should it be shared in the 1st page?
PerlBoy
Aug 2 2011, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(ShengHow @ Aug 2 2011, 10:21 PM) nonono you haven't missed i got order extra hardcase XD find my topics to see btw, welcome!! XD how much u bought the memory card? ive responded in that topic liao... i bought the phone+card at 999, so i guess the memory card = RM150-160?
PerlBoy
Aug 5 2011, 11:31 PM

may have missed this, but anyone has a working wpa_supplicant for TTLS PAP on the X5? its for company wifi... tried a droid version, no go. would it be hardware dependant?
PerlBoy
Aug 6 2011, 05:32 PM

i just kena a freeze at ideos, cant seem to boot even after how many tries and wait. in the end, had to do a factory reset...
back to square one. wasnt even sure what/which app had caused it... hmm... no other ROM after superboot. at least after recovered, previous apps frm market started to re-download.
now still trying to find any solution for the /system/bin/wpa_supplicant for the X5 on TTLS PAP
PerlBoy
Aug 11 2011, 06:57 PM

are those custom ROMS using components from actual Gingerbread since they are version 2.3.x? if so, can anyone help me provide the /system/bin/wpa_supplicant from that version?? i would like to test them on the enterprise wifi bt due to bug in android 2.2, it would not connect after so many attempts. so i might need to try several other X5 wpa_supplicant to see if the 'newer' versions fixed the wpa bug..?? pls help!
other files that i m not sure is required (since my stock dont have it): /system/bin/wlan_cu /system/bin/wlan_loader (these were from Eclair, bt did not work on my stock 2.2.1)
PerlBoy
Aug 18 2011, 10:24 PM

anybody tried using the X5 wifi with enterprise wifi? IEEE8021X, TTLS and PAP. i tried wpa_supplicant files from b160 and void. not sure anyone else uses the phone with enterprise wifi
i know it had to be 'rebuild' to fix the bug, bt i know nuts about linux...
else will have to wait for the 2.3.x =(