Servicing Perodua Myvi 4th Service, Buying own stuff and service

TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 03:21 PM, updated 15y ago

161 posts

The 4th Service at Perodua Servicing cost a whopping amount of RM376.67 with the things to be changed as recommended below, as extracted from, http://www.perodua.com.my/service/service-...1300cc-facelift

1. Engine Oil (Semi Syn API SM 4L).....................RM86.00
2. Element S/A (Oil Filter)...................................RM12.95
3. Air Filter ........................................................RM38.00
4. Transmission Oil GL-4 80W (2.20L)..................RM29.22
5. Spark Plug (D55D) (4 pcs)..............................RM52.00
6. Radiator Coolant (2 bottles)............................RM25.00
7. Gasket Drain Plug..........................................RM 4.80
8. Brake Fluid (2 bottles)....................................RM20.00
9. Battery Water ...............................................RM 2.70
10.Labour Charge.............................................RM61.00
11.Labour Charge for Replace Radiator Coolant...RM11.00
12.Labour for Brake Bleeding System.................RM28.00

+ 6% tax

Total...............................................................RM376.67

I wonder if I can buy all these stuffs on my own and change them at a local workshop ?

Is it recommended to that also actually ?

This post has been edited by munchu87: Jul 17 2011, 03:41 PM
post Jul 17 2011, 03:28 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

I can see alot of cut-throat price.

Air filter - This can be bought at tesco for RM20
Spark Plug - This can last at least 80,000 km. Dont really need to change
Brake fluid - depends.Do you feel severe brake fade? If not, leave it
Transmission oil - Should be changed since its a vital component

You can specify what parts to change and what not to. They wont question you. Ask them for the full quotation during servicing and slash off items that you feel are not required

Labour fee for brake bleeding - WTF, should be included in RM50 labour charge

Speaking bout that,my viva is almost due for 4th service too. I bought a tesco perodua genuine filter for RM18.90 paper type. Performs and identical to original. Why spend RM50 for something similar.

This post has been edited by 779364: Jul 17 2011, 03:31 PM
MR_alien
post Jul 17 2011, 03:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

4th service so i'm assuming its 20k KM which is major service
i think the price is ok...for SC service
since you're still under warranty
if u service outside...warranty will be void
gkl83
post Jul 17 2011, 03:51 PM

8,377 posts

so far i never did any major service on my myvi, will do my major service at 60k km soon...
anyway, here the previous / current experiences to maintain myvi by my own efforts after 3rd service...

1. Engine Oil (Semi Syn API SM 4L)
I using eneos 5w-30, just RM105...

2. Element S/A (Oil Filter)
Can get it RM8 from spare part shop only...

3. Air Filter
RM15 OEM air filter from spare part shop

4. Transmission Oil GL-4 80W (2.20L)
I using motul fully syn RM130, can last 100k km

5. Spark Plug (D55D) (4 pcs)
I using iridium spark plug RM170, can last 100k km
assumed every 30k km have to change spark plug, rather go for iridium instead...

6. Radiator Coolant (2 bottles)
I will change it at 60k km, toyota coolant 2 litre Rm20 only

7. Gasket Drain Plug
No need change, highly believe SC wont change it too...

8. Brake Fluid (2 bottles)
i never add any brake fluid since the day i got my myvi, going for major service 60k km and do bleeding...

9. Battery Water
Buy outside RM1 per bottle

10.Labour Charge
I DIY change engine oil and oil filter by my own efforts... tongue.gif

11.Labour Charge for Replace Radiator Coolant
Can DIY...

12.Labour for Brake Bleeding System
No Comments

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jul 17 2011, 03:53 PM
TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 04:05 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 17 2011, 03:51 PM)
so far i never did any major service on my myvi, will do my major service at 60k km soon...
anyway, here the previous / current experiences to maintain myvi by my own efforts after 3rd service...

2. Element S/A (Oil Filter)
Can get it RM8 from spare part shop only...

3. Air Filter
RM15 OEM air filter from spare part shop

4. Transmission Oil GL-4 80W (2.20L)
I using motul fully syn RM130, can last 100k km

5. Spark Plug (D55D) (4 pcs)
I using iridium spark plug RM170, can last 100k km
assumed every 30k km have to change spark plug, rather go for iridium instead...

6. Radiator Coolant (2 bottles)
I will change it at 60k km, toyota coolant 2 litre Rm20 only

7. Gasket Drain Plug
No need change, highly believe SC wont change it too...

8. Brake Fluid (2 bottles)
i never add any brake fluid since the day i got my myvi, going for major service 60k km and do bleeding...

9. Battery Water
Buy outside RM1 per bottle

10.Labour Charge
I DIY change engine oil and oil filter by my own efforts...  tongue.gif

11.Labour Charge for Replace Radiator Coolant
Can DIY...

12.Labour for Brake Bleeding System
No Comments
so stuffs like transmission oil, spark plug you not going to change during your 60,000km service ?
gkl83
post Jul 17 2011, 04:09 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 04:05 PM)
so stuffs like transmission oil, spark plug you not going to change during your 60,000km service ?

i changed my GB oil and spark plug @ 30k km...
means both can last till 100k km at least... smile.gif
TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 04:21 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 17 2011, 04:09 PM)
i changed my GB oil and spark plug @ 30k km...
means both can last till 100k km at least...  smile.gif
it must have been messy ! i watched video on how to change the oil. dont think i can do it on my own. lol
MR_alien
post Jul 17 2011, 04:25 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 04:21 PM)
it must have been messy ! i watched video on how to change the oil. dont think i can do it on my own. lol
u can if u have the proper tools
it's better to go to places where they have the tools to do it
gkl83
post Jul 17 2011, 04:36 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 04:21 PM)

either u jack the car or customized a small ramp...
for me, i use a small ramp instead as free hassle to jack up the car...

the tools included wrench (open drain plug), oil filter wrench (can buy it at spare part shop), steel bar for oil filter wrench (can buy it at hardware shop) and customize used bottle in order to pour engine oil in easier method... but the most difficult is the part to lay under the car engine bay as have limited space to reach the drain plug... the reasons i change engine oil is bcos i want to drain MOST of the used engine oil by overnight, i dont want mix the used and new engine oil... as the SC, they will screw back the drain plug as fast as possible to finish work in the shortest time...

anyway, unless u dont mind the warranty issues u can buy ur own parts for necessary services only and service outside which is cheaper and faster than SC...

here the parts i used for DIY... smile.gif

This post has been edited by gkl83: Jul 17 2011, 04:39 PM
Eithanius
post Jul 17 2011, 05:55 PM

::+::KukuNius(tm)::+::
3,952 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 17 2011, 03:51 PM)
I assume yours is fully-synthetic...?

EDIT: i missed that pic above me... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Eithanius: Jul 17 2011, 05:56 PM
TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 05:57 PM

161 posts

By the way does myvi manual 1.3 needs to add battery water ? i dont see the cap to turn so to add battery water.
MR_alien
post Jul 17 2011, 06:01 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 05:57 PM)
By the way does myvi manual 1.3 needs to add battery water ? i dont see the cap to turn so to add battery water.
means kena pawn
MF no need add battery
but u could say need add
so kena overcharge
yee5428
post Jul 17 2011, 06:15 PM

20 posts

hehe...my myvi need to service for 20k km nxt week liao...
already standby rm400 for it....
since the car still under warranty..what to do...
steventan85
post Jul 17 2011, 06:16 PM

6,447 posts

QUOTE(yee5428 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:15 PM)
its not xpensive anyway ... and u can have 3yrs warranty for it...
yee5428
post Jul 17 2011, 06:20 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:16 PM)
its not xpensive anyway ... and u can have 3yrs warranty for it...
for me the price is not expensive....
if u compare with other T&H service fee...u will cry.gif
(luckily i never bought a T car before)....
TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 06:31 PM

161 posts

ahh.. thanks for the comments.

if i dont like the brands use in P2 SC, can i bring my own stuff and ask them to use it on my car ?
gkl83
post Jul 17 2011, 06:31 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(Eithanius @ Jul 17 2011, 05:55 PM)
I assume yours is fully-synthetic...?

EDIT: i missed that pic above me... doh.gif

5w-30 is semi syc... semi syc more than enough for compact car and travel less than 5000km within 3 months...
TSmunchu87
post Jul 17 2011, 06:37 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:31 PM)
5w-30 is semi syc... semi syc more than enough for compact car and travel less than 5000km within 3 months...
gkl83, you say the gasket drain plug dont have to change. but i see myvi is always charging me for the drain plug in the first 3 services.

i think i can opt not to have it changed, cant i ?
SUSceo684
post Jul 17 2011, 06:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

if that rm5 plug fail, oil leaks out..gg.com.my
MR_alien
post Jul 17 2011, 06:46 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(yee5428 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:15 PM)
RM400 would be the roughly price for a major service

Added on July 17, 2011, 6:47 pm
QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:31 PM)
ahh.. thanks for the comments.

if i dont like the brands use in P2 SC, can i bring my own stuff and ask them to use it on my car ?
i dn't know abt p2
but some p1 SC allows u to bring your own engine oil
only engine oil

Added on July 17, 2011, 6:48 pm
QUOTE(munchu87 @ Jul 17 2011, 06:37 PM)
gkl83, you say the gasket drain plug dont have to change. but i see myvi is always charging me for the drain plug in the first 3 services.

i think i can opt not to have it changed, cant i ?
the truth is...they didn't change
they just reuse it back
why didn't change...becuz the drain plug is stainless steel...it can be reuse countless time
but they still charge us for it
well...apparently no one complain be4

This post has been edited by MR_alien: Jul 17 2011, 06:48 PM

0.0200sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:19 PM