Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V21

reehdus
post Jul 18 2011, 01:17 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jul 18 2011, 12:26 AM)
If you guys really want this to be an extension of the /k/ subforum, then so be it. Sigh.
Won't mention anything anymore cause as usual, the majority wins.
[rant]
Ur right, this forum has changed a lot from a long time ago when I was here...I remember back then arguing with Starghazzer over the looks of Delta Plus vs Delta Gundam...haha. This is a modelling thread though, so I should think that ppl are allowed to post their WIPs and completed models etc. What else would we talk about? Technically talking about Gundam series etc would be inaccurate because this isn't an anime thread, it's a modelling thread. But I don't believe in that, I believe we should be able to talk about anything Gundam related. So I suggest everyone lower their tolerance over what can be posted and what cannot be posted (asides useless spam)
[/rant]

Now that I'm done ranting...what other ms would you guys like to see get the MG treatment? (Or in some cases, the MG 2.0 treatment)

This post has been edited by reehdus: Jul 18 2011, 01:17 AM
reehdus
post Jul 18 2011, 09:07 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jul 18 2011, 07:15 AM)
Now that really sounds as if my Blue Frame is a lemon doh.gif
Not arguing lah... "arguing" makes it sound hostile.
It's more voicing out our personal preferences for different units.

No problems with posting WIP pics, in fact I can even tahan photos of whoever's latest haul. It's the random chit chat eg talking about so and so's avatar pictures and stuff that's annoying. But as said before, I really don't care. Tutup satu mata...
MG CGUE.
Gatling.
Win.
Haha...call it soft arguing/discussing la...lolz...the hauls and WIPs I don't mind either, I get that there is probably a separate thread to do that as madmoz mentioned but I can still tolerate that stuff. But you're right (and madmoz too), the random one line posts and comments etc is kinda off-putting
reehdus
post Jul 18 2011, 04:39 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(dfcloud @ Jul 18 2011, 04:35 PM)
maybe scrub it while submerge underwater?
warm water? think ill try it later tonight
u can try zippo lighter fluid too. works as well
reehdus
post Jul 18 2011, 07:00 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(ngcheechong @ Jul 18 2011, 06:32 PM)
If you want to use thinner or the zippo lighter fluid, best test it on your runner first.
zippo is quite mild. a lot of ppl use it for enamel paint washes. so even if u dont smoke there're plenty of uses for it. and it's way cheaper than any modelling thinner i've seen.
reehdus
post Jul 19 2011, 09:23 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(afsarudy @ Jul 19 2011, 09:15 AM)
This is one of my earliest Gundam. I cant remember the sequence but what I remember, MG Gundam Wing Ver KA is my first MG.
brows.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Speaking of which, what's everyone's first gundam, and why? Does it hold any significance for you? Mine was a NG 1/144 Blaze Zaku Phantom, which I got because it was cheap. I must admit at that point I didn't know wth gundam was. my first MG (which I'm still building) is the Zeta Gundam v2.0. It holds particular significance for me because Zeta was the first series I watched and until now, besides the Nu, it's my favourite gundam. Anyone else?
reehdus
post Jul 20 2011, 12:08 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(golbeza @ Jul 19 2011, 06:50 PM)
well, the specs said tat Sazabi is a lil bit shorter than The-O tongue.gif

here's overall height chart for many UC badass MSs  laugh.gif

I'm surprised that Palace Athene is actually ard same height as the O? Didn't seem the same during the anime. Psyco Gundams 1 and 2 truly are monsters...

QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Jul 19 2011, 07:54 PM)
Guys,if Ive accidentally broke one of the joints on GUNDAM model..what type of Glue that i can use to fix it?
You can use either super glue or plastic cement like the others mentioned, but you most likely might have to sand the piece down and paint it to make it look good as new. Otherwise try to super glue only the 2 parts that actually touch each other, any spillover will leave a white mark like calcilis said.

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 19 2011, 11:53 PM)
if too careful, then no need to pose already tongue.gif

anyway, 00 qant, a lot of complaints also due to the weight. it'll slide off to one side due to the weight of the weapon. haha. other than that, the kit design really looks cool smile.gif
All MS models have weight issues. I don't have the Nu but I can imagine it must have been terribly bogged down by the weight of the funnels for the designers to have had to include die cast parts for certain joints. You just have to be careful and not move them around too much.

Unfortunately the lead MSes in 00 don't quite resonate with me sad.gif. I don't like how Astraea almost looks like Exia which almost looks like 00 which almost looks like Qanta which almost looks like 7S. Sure it's believable in a chronological sense how one Gundam design improves slightly on the others but it basically screams lazy work by the designers. Best part is, they get to sell the same kit 5 times. Even the new Gundam Age looks slightly like the Beginning Gundam fromm Gunpla Builders. They were more creative and took more risks in the earlier years. Remember Turn-A gundam?
reehdus
post Jul 20 2011, 12:49 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Jul 20 2011, 12:40 AM)
bang... knp gas tanknya dicucuk dari belakang punye... ...

Added on July 20, 2011, 12:44 am

whoa... amazing idea of modding...
nice find, Golbeza!  rclxms.gif  For the height chart, what's the name of eighth MS (or MA) from left? (not counting the broken line draft, with rabbi ears one)
That's the Baund Doc from Zeta gundam:

http://gundam.wikia.com/wiki/NRX-055_Baund_Doc
reehdus
post Jul 20 2011, 09:13 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Jul 20 2011, 08:54 AM)
Reviews are more like a guide to help you choose the best kit for your buck (since gunplas are not cheap), and also what to look out for (eg fragile parts) while building it.

If you really like a kit and yet I bash it kao kao, that shouldn't prevent you from buying it. After all, it's your money.
I actually think the Astraea is a superior design over its descendants. More intricate details than the Exia, yet not overdone like the 00/variants and Qanta.

Not everyone appreciates how awesome Turn A is. Sometimes being too radical carries the risk of ostracising fans.

And yes, Turn X is even more awesome. If there was a new 1/144 scale of it which uses HGUC tech, not the ancient HG, I'd buy it. MG would be too expensive as it is larger and more intricately designed than Turn A.

As for gundam height charts... I have two more.

This is for 0093-0096 units:

And this old one is for Zeta units. Might be a bit off since it shows both the Baund Doc and The O over 30m when they aren't.

Finally, from gundamguy... Garma's getting an RG as well? Wouldn't be surprised, but at least chuck in the Magellan cannon yeah.

Like you, I like the Astraea most as well. The proto GN sword is just a sword and doesn't carry a blaster...ahh...the simplicity. Turn X is pretty awesome as well, but with the popularity of other kits right now + their aggresive marketing of Gundam Age, I don't think there'll be a Turn X HGUC in the near future.

I think the Garma postcard is just a suggestion of how else you can paint the RG mass production Zaku. If I'm not wrong the Aile Strike RG came with a postcard of the Aile Strike Rouge.

This post has been edited by reehdus: Jul 20 2011, 09:13 AM
reehdus
post Jul 20 2011, 09:27 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 20 2011, 09:16 AM)
got MA height chart?  tongue.gif
wanna c which MA biggest, Big Zam? or Alpha Azieru, or others
I think it's actually the Neue Ziel from Gundam 0083: Stardust Memory. From it's profile on Gundam wiki it's about 70+ metres tall while the Azieru and Big Zam is only 50+
reehdus
post Jul 20 2011, 04:00 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Jul 20 2011, 03:53 PM)
trustable?  hmm.gif

man, if u showed me this last week i would have sapu it  sad.gif
i jz finish watching Seed n i do rmbr those spikes r explosives
when he fired them to Archangel's engine, after penetrating the armour, they explode
Yeah I remember seeing that some time ago. Though I do agree with StarGhazzer, it's pretty dumb to have all your weapons except your claw thingy on one arm. Slice off the arm and that's it...
reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 01:19 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(calcilis @ Jul 21 2011, 09:45 PM)

Added on July 21, 2011, 9:52 pmOT:if i ever bought gundam zeta MG 2.0
i will play this song when i'm building it whistling.gif

Building my MG Zeta 2.0 right now...hehe...and I prefer these themes:

The 2nd one was the opening theme on the version I watched...pretty epic

This post has been edited by reehdus: Jul 22 2011, 01:26 AM
reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 11:34 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 22 2011, 11:26 AM)
gundam marker got silver or metallic color? i only see grey, black and brown
Use enamel wash method. I plan to do so for the backpack of my Zeta even though I used black marker for the rest of the body
reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 11:49 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 22 2011, 11:44 AM)
wah, which zaku version is this?
I think that is White Ogre. This is also pretty cool, I might just get it next:

reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 11:59 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jul 22 2011, 11:55 AM)
is this the white ogre/white wolf? lol. i cant find any other white version of zaku. actually i oso kinda like this though it's bit on the pricier side

sinanju is wayyyy above my level man. in terms of difficulty, it's not for beginner. price oso not for beginner tongue.gif
don't heed what anyone says about difficulty levels. there are no such things as difficulty levels in gundam. just levels of patience. everyone told me zeta mg 2.0 was a difficult kit for a first mg. i'm finding it tough to keep patient through the number of parts, but there's no difficulty in putting it together or sanding or cleaning nubs.
reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 02:48 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 22 2011, 02:30 PM)
What is enamel wash method? I plan to head out to BTS later
First u take enamel paint and thin it real well using enamel thinner/lighter fluid. Then u apply it to ur panel lines. The thinned paint will flow easily into all nooks and crannies. Then take a cotton bud or cloth and wipe off all excess. I haven't tried before but I will eventually.
reehdus
post Jul 22 2011, 05:05 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Jul 22 2011, 05:03 PM)
can lol..
even Zippo fluid can use instead of thinner
yes, I use Zippo fluid. It's cheap and really does everything for me; thins enamel paints, helps me remove excess panel lines, removes excess glue marks (like if I choose to remove some stickers there'll be some glue marks leftover). Pretty happy with it...been using two cans for almost a year dy.
reehdus
post Jul 23 2011, 04:40 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jul 23 2011, 02:41 PM)

VS

no decal and lining yet laugh.gif
Looking great! Let us see when ur done smile.gif

This post has been edited by reehdus: Jul 23 2011, 04:41 PM
reehdus
post Jul 23 2011, 10:41 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jul 23 2011, 10:37 PM)
cos need to counter weigh with action base.. i dunno where i put the connector liao doh.gif
giler babeng impossible.... hahahahah
it's an MG? Thought it was HG because of the shield. I think MG shield is supposed to hook on the shoulder right?
reehdus
post Jul 23 2011, 10:45 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jul 23 2011, 10:44 PM)
MG. Can be attached to shoulder and hand as well.
cool! looks awesome!
reehdus
post Jul 23 2011, 10:49 PM

183 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Jul 23 2011, 10:47 PM)
well been telling everyone and anyone to geddit tongue.gif
very worth of money
i've got the hg one...still in the midst of painting...haha...but i agree...even the hg is a great kit. easily one of my favourite kits besides the nu gundam hws

0.0208sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:31 PM