Hardware Hackintosh Thread V2.0, The Official OSX86 Thread (Hardware)

AllHell
post Jan 15 2012, 11:07 AM

66 posts

guys, are these benchmark scores decent enough, or is there anything else that i can tweak? too bad the 560ti is not natively supported, should've scored higher fps with it imo shakehead.gif

AllHell
post Jan 15 2012, 06:42 PM

66 posts

nice scores bro!! cpu at stock? single gpu? i guess i've hit my limit with my 2 year old rig..sandy bridge is naisss!!
AllHell
post Jan 15 2012, 11:57 PM

66 posts

read a few of ur post couple of months back that u're planning to set up the 2600k rig, i guess u got what u wanted! but i can't recall the spec of ur previous rig, was it a 920 like me?
i'm not used to ati graphics, for example the $380 6770 gigabyte card..is it more or less the same as ur card or can i expect a higher gpu acceleration with it?
what prog u use to monitor ur cpu and gpu temps? i'm looking for something similar like real temp and hwmonitor..thanks bro!
AllHell
post Jan 16 2012, 03:23 PM

66 posts

the maximum that i can go with the 920 is 4.2, beyond that my pc won't even start..
i guess it's related to my overclock settings and the mobo that i use..
nevertheless my 24/7 oc is just at 3.8 so i'm not that worried bout the temp..

the thing that got me into hackintosh is just to see how much my rig fare against those machines from apple, one of those 'because u can do it' thingy..
but really, i can't seem to find a use for a mac..yeah it's pretty, neat, cool factor..but still i find that i do things faster on a windows..
well maybe i'm used to the windows environment for so long, using a macosx just make me confused..i don't do graphic works, cad etc..
after the hassle browsing forums, installing macosx and making sure it runs fine, i'm at a dead end..
what i'm going to do with my macosx? care to shed some light?

This post has been edited by AllHell: Jan 16 2012, 03:24 PM
AllHell
post Jan 16 2012, 07:03 PM

66 posts

that's quite a history there bro! at least, hackintoshing made me learn quite a few stuffs like ahci, linux commands, overclocking..and made kp my worst enemy haha..

never before that i get to use macosx, let alone touch a real mac..wasn't justified enough for me to burn cash buying a real mac..all in all success on setting up a hackintosh is sweet!

still, not knowing what the hell to do with lion, some crazy idea crossed my mind, a hackintosh mini! somehow i felt like it's an addiction now..these are the specs and rough pricing..

450 INTEL Core i3-2105
320 GIGABYTE H61N-USB3
130 CORSAIR PC1333 D3 4GB X2
180 MI-008 Super Mini-ITX Casing
250 500GB SATA HDD
060 SONY SATA DVD±RW
1390 TOTAL

more or less the same spec as the system sold on this thread
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/509272

wondering how will it perform once hooked up to a 42 inch LCD drool.gif

opinion?
AllHell
post Jan 19 2012, 10:20 AM

66 posts

quick update and a few things to point out

380 Intel Core i3-2105
320 GIGABYTE H61N-USB3
180 MI-008 Super Mini-ITX Casing
250 WESTERN DIGITAL Blue 500GB HDD
060 SONY SATA DVD±RW
1320 TOTAL
*mini itx system
*i3 2105 has shared graphics Intel® HD Graphics 3000 compared to i3 2100 shared graphics Intel® HD Graphics 2000
*casing comes with generic 300w power supply unit

330 Intel Core i3-2100
360 GIGABYTE Z68AP-D3-B3
295 SAPPHIRE HD6670 1GB D5 128BIT
100 COOLERMASTER Elite 341
220 CORSAIR CX 500 Watt
250 WESTERN DIGITAL Blue 500GB HDD
060 SONY SATA DVD±RW
1745 TOTAL
*medium tower system
*doen't need the i3 2105 because u'll be using standalone graphics
*mostly basic components, i would prefer to swap to i5-2500K

330 Intel Core i3-2100 @1745
380 Intel Core i3-2105 @1795
675 Intel Core i5-2500K @2090
990 Intel Core i7-2600K @2405

295 SAPPHIRE HD6670 1GB D5 128BIT
539 GIGABYTE HD6850 1GB D5 256BIT
625 SAPPHIRE HD6870 1GB D5 256BIT

reference:
http://www.kakewalk.se/computer-builds/
http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/search/label/CustoMac
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/509272
lowyat.net pricelist

This post has been edited by AllHell: Jan 19 2012, 10:35 AM
AllHell
post Mar 2 2012, 05:24 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Feb 29 2012, 11:41 AM)

Anyone know person that would be able to help me build hackintosh and install the OS as well?

I dun really have the time to do all those thing.

Really appreciate if someone can help me. Surely not for free.

Thank you
i can help u to install, build ur rig according to tonymac's list and budget, send it over to my house in desa cempaka behind dunlop
AllHell
post Mar 3 2012, 10:10 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(krayz_underground @ Mar 3 2012, 08:00 AM)
You live in Desa Cempaka, Nilai?

Thank you, I'll contact you once I have my rig ready.
yepp in nilai, seeing u staying in nilai too might as well help u bro

This post has been edited by AllHell: Mar 3 2012, 10:12 AM
AllHell
post Sep 25 2012, 06:47 PM

66 posts

quick question, does EVGA GeForce GT 620 works? googled and it's listed to work on ML, but i didn't come across anyone intalled ML using this card..and can anyone recommend another low end card to be used in ML..thanks!

planned build

CORE I5 3450
GIGABYTE Z77P-D3
EVGA GeForce GT 620
8GB Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz DDR3
1TB HDD
DELL U2312HM 23" IPS LED MONITOR
Generic case and power supply
AllHell
post Sep 26 2012, 03:12 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(goolias @ Sep 25 2012, 07:50 PM)
Am using GT220 if you don't mind the lower spec, works OOB with Chimera GraphicEnabler=Yes !
undecided between 220, 520, 620..wanted to take the 620 coz its a newer card and all the hype that ml's native support for the 6xx series..still can't confirm it though
AllHell
post Sep 28 2012, 08:29 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(goolias @ Sep 27 2012, 08:21 AM)
yepp, read it already..it's just that i've never seen/read someone actually installed mountain lion using this card

0.0486sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:13 AM