Unifi Any Comments On Unifi New Router?

TSsernsern
post Jul 15 2011, 05:02 AM, updated 14y ago

I Just received My Unifi VIP5 ..
and it comes with a new Black TM RG..compared to the a DIR-615...anyone has any review on this? there is no brand name and no codes for it sadly

This post has been edited by sernsern: Jul 17 2011, 01:02 PM
jack64
post Jul 15 2011, 05:46 AM

36 posts

its router lah not modem
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=7&Itemid=6
this might help u to get the answer

This post has been edited by jack64: Jul 15 2011, 05:48 AM
KennyP
post Jul 15 2011, 10:24 AM

13 posts

the new router is totally sucks, we are using it with BIZ20 and it down at least 3 times a day
TSsernsern
post Jul 17 2011, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(jack64 @ Jul 15 2011, 05:46 AM)
its router lah not modem
http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...e&id=7&Itemid=6
this might help u to get the answer
haha sadly is also not tp link..fml!! dam hard to configure!

Added on July 17, 2011, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(KennyP @ Jul 15 2011, 10:24 AM)
the new router is totally sucks, we are using it with BIZ20 and it down at least 3 times a day
the black one rite?with big big tm word on it?

This post has been edited by sernsern: Jul 17 2011, 01:04 PM
seatux
post Jul 18 2011, 09:57 AM

233 posts

I've seen crap routers in life, but nothing prepared me for the crappiness of the RND.

The router is not configured well enough out of the box. UPnP is not enabled by default for example. The Menu system is also makes the Aztech one seem simpler in comparison.

Plus, when I changed the DNS on the router and rebooted from the web ui, the router hung, requiring a soft reset.
ltwvince
post Jul 18 2011, 11:36 AM

734 posts

The model is RG TMRND Gen1.0. I just helped my friend to configure this crap yesterday evening.

QUOTE(sernsern @ Jul 15 2011, 05:02 AM)
I Just received My Unifi VIP5 ..
and it comes with a new Black TM RG..compared to the a DIR-615...anyone has any review on this? there is no brand name and no codes for it sadly
zuljag
post Jul 18 2011, 12:47 PM

29 posts

it is crappy..i get signal drop when gaming ..sometimes it just dun transmit anything for a split second which for gaming will get u disconnected
lighter
post Jul 18 2011, 12:57 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

Do you guyz mind to snap a picture and post it here?
angelic-x
post Jul 18 2011, 01:02 PM

Not a member
644 posts

No problem so far using the new router.
PenzoilGuy
post Jul 18 2011, 01:03 PM

192 posts

aha....gud move on buying tplink WR841N biggrin.gif
lagila
post Jul 18 2011, 02:40 PM

14 posts

This router suck. Can't change DNS, can't even do port foward. DIR 615 far better than this.

Anyone tried flash the router with open source firmware yet? It use RT3052F chip.
RViN
post Jul 18 2011, 03:21 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

I dont see any options to flash actually hmn...
lighter
post Jul 18 2011, 04:09 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

i guess there's an operator login for for firmware upgrade or port forwarding stuff..

try username: operator
password: h566UniFi
lagila
post Jul 19 2011, 07:08 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jul 18 2011, 04:09 PM)
i guess there's an operator login for for firmware upgrade or port forwarding stuff..

try username: operator
Great! It work. There's a upgrade firmware option now, just need someone to test it out. tongue.gif
seatux
post Jul 19 2011, 11:15 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(lagila @ Jul 18 2011, 02:40 PM)
This router suck. Can't change DNS, can't even do port foward. DIR 615 far better than this.

Anyone tried flash the router with open source firmware yet? It use RT3052F chip.
Like I mentioned earlier, DNS can be changed. Better enable UPnP than manually port forwarding, the dumbass color scheme is trying to give me migrane.
rudit
post Jul 19 2011, 11:40 PM

78 posts

which are which u guys are talking about?

my problem was that, the connection always drop few times a day..even changing to google DNS doesnt help (which conclude that it is not a DNS problem)

second problem is with the wifi router(black with TM logo). I cant seem to connect my BB 9780 to the router. The BB connects fine on other routers.

any solution for this?
gahkin
post Jul 19 2011, 11:51 PM

735 posts

i same with you all .. this router is so pain to using.. even i use my iphone to connect through also feel everything was slow slow slow.... feel wanna smacks this router !!!!

Any good router suggest to replace it ? i wan to on 24/7 .. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gahkin: Jul 19 2011, 11:59 PM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 20 2011, 08:55 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(rudit @ Jul 19 2011, 11:40 PM)
which are which u guys are talking about?

my problem was that, the connection always drop few times a day..even changing to google DNS doesnt help (which conclude that it is not a DNS problem)

second problem is with the wifi router(black with TM logo). I cant seem to connect my BB 9780 to the router. The BB connects fine on other routers.

any solution for this?
TM will always gives cheap and problematic equipment, change the router to others, and read more posts, some question's posts contains link(s) to configure custom router to works with UniFi's modem.
rudit
post Jul 20 2011, 11:41 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Jul 20 2011, 08:55 AM)
TM will always gives cheap and problematic equipment, change the router to others, and read more posts, some question's posts contains link(s) to configure custom router to works with UniFi's modem.
got meh?in which thread if I may ask..been reading few threads, but none found..could u help
ltwvince
post Jul 21 2011, 10:42 AM

734 posts

Have you use the search button lately? Got ask uncle Google before?

QUOTE(rudit @ Jul 20 2011, 11:41 PM)
got meh?in which thread if I may ask..been reading few threads, but none found..could u help
ivyyee1982
post Jul 21 2011, 12:50 PM

QUOTE(ltwvince @ Jul 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
unifiwish
post Jul 21 2011, 01:39 PM

25 posts

can some one post this TM home make router picture ? really want to see this new shit tongue.gif

is this true this router manafacture by TM ?
odin88
post Jul 21 2011, 02:00 PM

475 posts

just installed mine 30 minutes ago at my house in klang

subscribe vip 5

http://a1.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-...1_3263111_n.jpg

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-...58_228057_n.jpg

This post has been edited by odin88: Jul 21 2011, 02:01 PM
unifiwish
post Jul 21 2011, 02:22 PM

25 posts

https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/eas/GetApplicatio...html?id=1269397

got the picture and also why TM put some 'bubble gum' inside the router ?? biggrin.gif
rudit
post Jul 21 2011, 06:13 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(ltwvince @ Jul 21 2011, 10:42 AM)
Search already bro..so can use other routers besides the TP-link?

This post has been edited by rudit: Jul 21 2011, 06:14 PM
StealthSyndica
post Jul 21 2011, 07:03 PM

49 posts

Just installed VIP10 today, and got the new TMNet router. Well, first impressions are so far, no disconnects, but i'm out tomorrow to get a new router probably the Asus RT13U.

The wireless on the router is absolute crap. I have mine set up on the staircase and my xbox down the stairs gets 2 bars. My old belkin G wireless could do better than this. It's a TM product so I didn't have my hopes high so the disappointment isn't that massive.
alvin_wjh
post Jul 23 2011, 10:07 PM

I previously has TP model until struck by lightning and replaced with the TM RnD model. It is just a crap. I can't get a proper streaming on my HTC Incredible and iPad. What a good waste of resources of getting this piece of crap.
f0ul99
post Jul 23 2011, 10:35 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(odin88 @ Jul 21 2011, 02:00 PM)
haa.. the same router my brother got for my parent's house. got unifi vip5 yesterday, until now I can't get play local multiplayer game. even connection with ipads and ipods get disconnected frequently.

the configuration was complicated.

any idea? i am lost.
SenaWong
post Jul 25 2011, 03:58 AM

The hell man.. I just connected to the router to explore it for a moment until I pressed the wizard section.

It prompt me to key in my pppoe username and password and I did, after rebooting my router everytime I load a webpage I get the error "Unable to resolve domain name"

Any solutions? Use my iPhone 3g to surf now.. /.\
azmie_83
post Jul 25 2011, 11:18 AM

165 posts

if u press wizard it will reset the router to default.
you have to config everything manually again....

at least that what have been told to me by the TM contractor...

This post has been edited by azmie_83: Jul 25 2011, 11:20 AM
unifiwish
post Jul 25 2011, 11:23 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(StealthSyndica @ Jul 21 2011, 07:03 PM)
Just installed VIP10 today, and got the new TMNet router. Well, first impressions are so far, no disconnects, but i'm out tomorrow to get a new router probably the Asus RT13U.

The wireless on the router is absolute crap. I have mine set up on the staircase and my xbox down the stairs gets 2 bars. My old belkin G wireless could do better than this. It's a TM product so I didn't have my hopes high so the disappointment isn't that massive.
have you check whether the RT-N13U can support Unifi, eg the IPTV ???
rudit
post Aug 3 2011, 09:44 AM

78 posts

hi all, what are the router settings if i were to install a different router from the factory router?little help please..
edan1979
post Aug 3 2011, 11:05 AM

*GruMpy_MoDe*
5,511 posts

this shit is the most terrible router i have ever used... the wi-fi is totally crap... phone/idevice with wi-fi capabilities totally useless with this stupid router...
Kakiputer
post Aug 3 2011, 09:55 PM

14 posts

Am on unifi biz and using the tmrnd black router. Any kind souls can help me port forward so that I could view my ip camera from a remote location?

I tried calling their "support" and they told me that this black thingy is very very new till there is still no user manual yet for this device.

Don't you just love them? Thanks in advance

edward chan
ed@toys.com.my
Saajidrox
post Aug 4 2011, 02:09 AM

QUOTE(Kakiputer @ Aug 3 2011, 09:55 PM)
Am on unifi biz and using the tmrnd black router. Any kind souls can help me port forward so that I could view my ip camera from a remote location?

I tried calling their "support" and they told me that this black thingy is very very new till there is still no user manual yet for this device.

Don't you just love them?  Thanks in advance

edward chan
ed@toys.com.my
Same problem here could anyone tell me how to port forward using this router .
Thanks in advance
StealthSyndica
post Aug 4 2011, 09:40 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(unifiwish @ Jul 25 2011, 11:23 AM)
have you check whether the RT-N13U can support Unifi, eg the IPTV ???
The RT-N13U supports unifi fully including the IPTV, but you do need to flash the router with a custom firmware from KLSeet that site also provides you different routers which can handle unifi and how to set up/flash your router for unifi.

Following the instructions on the site is really easy and took me like 5 minutes.
bai1101
post Aug 4 2011, 10:48 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

there is Unifi thread at this section read the 1st Page of it it contain few link to personal blog or web that suggest few kind of router.

So far as i know cheapest is tp link but need custom firm way. If want hassle free check the asus one which is default ready just need to setting properly than it will work like charm. Make sure you have Your Unifi password it is freak hard to remember ==
Chumpy
post Aug 4 2011, 11:23 AM

132 posts

You can use W8960N without hassle and it's cheap..
unifiwish
post Aug 4 2011, 02:34 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(StealthSyndica @ Aug 4 2011, 09:40 AM)
The RT-N13U supports unifi fully including the IPTV, but you do need to flash the router with a custom firmware from KLSeet that site also provides you different routers which can handle unifi and how to set up/flash your router for unifi.

Following the instructions on the site is really easy and took me like 5 minutes.
is there any problem in KLSeet website since all picture cannot display ?
zeluver94
post Aug 10 2011, 11:02 AM

76 posts

the new router is pure crap, same goes to every TM router out there.

I used to have the old orange router until last last week, my wireless couldnt be detected at all. My router is placed in the living hall and I can't even receive any wireless connection in the kitchen. Until I called up TM and they sent their technicians and crap to my house and changed my old router to the new black one.

The black one is also the same crappy! The wireless connection is very unstable!!! Especially upstairs! And I can hardly connect to the wireless with my iPhone!!!

Is it possible for us to configure some settings on the router page to solve this problem? HELP!
gilagolf
post Aug 12 2011, 07:13 PM

Hi guys, this might be a really stupid question but here goes: I've been using one these crap TM Net router (black one) and for the life of me, I cannot seem to find the menu where I can change the admin password from default to something I obviously want.

Googling led me here, so if anyone can help, would be really grateful!

Kakiputer
post Aug 12 2011, 07:56 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(gilagolf @ Aug 12 2011, 07:13 PM)
Hi guys, this might be a really stupid question but here goes: I've been using one these crap TM Net router (black one) and for the life of me, I cannot seem to find the menu where I can change the admin password from default to something I obviously want.

Googling led me here, so if anyone can help, would be really grateful!
Under management but you have to log in this way

address: 192.168.0.1

user: operator

password is case sensitive

good luck

gilagolf
post Aug 17 2011, 02:08 PM

OK thanks! I'll give this a shot when I get back to KL in the office. Thanks for the help and I'll update the forum on the results!
nonameNo
post Aug 17 2011, 02:17 PM

~nameLess~
569 posts

QUOTE(gilagolf @ Aug 17 2011, 02:08 PM)
OK thanks! I'll give this a shot when I get back to KL in the office. Thanks for the help and I'll update the forum on the results!
the admin ID you using - actually just a normal standard privilege to amend standard setting in RG.

have to use the "operator" ID for full use.
gilagolf
post Aug 17 2011, 02:48 PM

Yeah, it makes sense, because logging into the admin, there was no way I could change the passwords. I ask the TM guy and he responded, "You cannot change router password." I'm like, the hell I can't. That's one of the stupidest response I've ever heard from TM. And trust me, I have heard A LOT.
abubin
post Aug 18 2011, 03:44 PM

10,429 posts

QUOTE(gilagolf @ Aug 17 2011, 02:48 PM)
Yeah, it makes sense, because logging into the admin, there was no way I could change the passwords. I ask the TM guy and he responded, "You cannot change router password." I'm like, the hell I can't. That's one of the stupidest response I've ever heard from TM. And trust me, I have heard A LOT.
That's their new policy for unifi. This is their SOP because they don't want users to tinker with the settings. Probably cause before this, a lot of users login and play with the devices until screw up the settings. Then call them to fix. So in order to avoid that, they control all the setup. So if user really tinker with the settings then they would know and if want them to come fix, they charge you RM200.
gilagolf
post Aug 26 2011, 04:01 PM

Hey thanks guys it worked!

As for their new SOP, I still feel it's kinda dumb, even if it offends. I mean, for sakes, at least select a hardware then that allows us to change the bloody password. It's like selling us a car and tell us that we don't have access to open up the trunk, or boot, or turn on the radio. This is basic security, and our god given right to protect ourselves against information rapists.

Anyway, thanks guys.
Kakiputer
post Aug 26 2011, 07:48 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(gilagolf @ Aug 26 2011, 04:01 PM)
Hey thanks guys it worked!

As for their new SOP, I still feel it's kinda dumb, even if it offends. I mean, for sakes, at least select a hardware then that allows us to change the bloody password. It's like selling us a car and tell us that we don't have access to open up the trunk, or boot, or turn on the radio. This is basic security, and our god given right to protect ourselves against information rapists.

Anyway, thanks guys.
sharing is caring smile.gif

drakulaed
post Aug 29 2011, 04:08 PM

117 posts

Hey does anyone know how to migrate from the black unifi modem to use another router? I'm having another Belkin router which can definitely transmit the WiFi signal further and I'm certainly looking forward towards using it... Or else it'll be collecting dust. I've tried to migrate to that router myself, but didn't manage to get a connection. What config should I use yea?
KennyKB
post Aug 29 2011, 08:11 PM

1,765 posts

QUOTE(drakulaed @ Aug 29 2011, 04:08 PM)
Hey does anyone know how to migrate from the black unifi modem to use another router? I'm having another Belkin router which can definitely transmit the WiFi signal further and I'm certainly looking forward towards using it... Or else it'll be collecting dust. I've tried to migrate to that router myself, but didn't manage to get a connection. What config should I use yea?
Only a few models are compatible with unifi for 1-to-1 replacement. http://klseet.com/ has a good guide.

If you want to use any router but willing to give up IPTV there is a way here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1993913

This post has been edited by KennyKB: Aug 29 2011, 08:16 PM
blindbox
post Aug 31 2011, 03:14 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

The black TM RG had its adapter broken a few hours after installation. Heh.
RageWeaver
post Oct 20 2011, 01:13 AM

131 posts

Now TM is giving dir-615 again?
alvincks
post Nov 9 2011, 11:47 PM

1,499 posts

Hey Guru,
Going to get VIP5 soon and pending on installation, may i know if we got chance to request a better router ? i read many thread here complain about TM router, which router i should request ?
TSsernsern
post Jan 4 2012, 02:21 PM

having major problems connecting my iphone with this RG TMRND Gen1.0 ...
fuzore
post Jan 4 2012, 02:37 PM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(sernsern @ Jan 4 2012, 02:21 PM)
having major problems connecting my iphone with this RG TMRND Gen1.0 ...
there is 2 option here one just call the unifi centre and ask them to change ur black tmrnd router with the d-link 615 router which has better performance then the black one or two just go and get any compatible router like in klseet website which could do better then both tm unifi routers...
bacteria82
post Jan 4 2012, 04:03 PM

I also having problem with this new TM UNIFI Router at my father's home. The wifi connection always disconnect for my MacBook Air (MBA).. Need to reconnect frequently.. So annoying..

After do some google search, i found that to avoid this wifi disconnect for my MBA, i have to open terminal dan ping the router ip number which is 192.168.0.1.. Hm.. So far ok with this method but still why i have to do this.. The old router (white) at my own home doesn't have problem like this. Huh!

This post has been edited by bacteria82: Jan 4 2012, 04:06 PM
TSsernsern
post Jan 4 2012, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(fuzore @ Jan 4 2012, 02:37 PM)
there is 2 option here one just call the unifi centre and ask them to change ur black tmrnd router with the d-link 615 router which has better performance then the black one or two just go and get any compatible router like in klseet website which could do better then both tm unifi routers...
they would change the router without any without hesitation ?
fuzore
post Jan 5 2012, 08:29 AM

<motion sickness around>
2,142 posts

QUOTE(sernsern @ Jan 4 2012, 06:40 PM)
they would change the router without any without hesitation ?
yes just call and complain kaw2 to them like i did later they get annoyed they'll come and change it if its still in the warranty period la..
TSsernsern
post Jan 5 2012, 09:30 AM

QUOTE(fuzore @ Jan 5 2012, 08:29 AM)
yes just call and complain kaw2 to them like i did later they get annoyed they'll come and change it if its still in the warranty period la..

teach me what to complain about ,because my pc is running smooth with the modem except phones only..
aviatordude
post Jan 8 2012, 01:11 PM

I got the black router yesterday and frequenct WAN disconnects very randomly, sometimes once every few hours down to once every few minutes.

I wonder if this is router issue or fiber optic issue? coz every time i restart the router, connection becomes available again.

IS it possible to call tm and request exchange to DIR615 ruoter?
overfloe
post Jan 9 2012, 10:38 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(aviatordude @ Jan 8 2012, 02:11 PM)
I got the black router yesterday and frequenct WAN disconnects very randomly, sometimes once every few hours down to once every few minutes.

I wonder if this is router issue or fiber optic issue? coz every time i restart the router, connection becomes available again.

+1

Would like to know this as well..

The black router is truly the worst of the worse.
stevencks
post Jan 16 2012, 03:28 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 9 2012, 10:38 AM)
+1

Would like to know this as well..

The black router is truly the worst of the worse.
was thinking to asked to change to the black one, coz the dir-615 is a crap as well
v1n0d
post Jan 16 2012, 03:44 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

I'm using the black router now on VIP5. I've had no problems with it apart from the occasional lock-ups. Happens around once every few days, I just have to restart the router to fix it.
CloudComputer
post Jan 16 2012, 10:32 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(aviatordude @ Jan 8 2012, 01:11 PM)

DIR615 is just slightly better, I would suggest you to change to other third party router if you are serious about your network quality smile.gif
overfloe
post Jan 17 2012, 08:33 AM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(stevencks @ Jan 16 2012, 04:28 PM)
was thinking to asked to change to the black one, coz the dir-615 is a crap as well
if that's the case, then 3rd party router is the only solution.. loL!
zeese
post Jan 17 2012, 08:37 AM

Warning Level
1,818 posts

I just installed unifi 3 days ago. I still got the white router.. probably old stock? anyway, I'm glad it is white because it blend with my wall just nice and I'm care more for the color than the brand.
stevencks
post Jan 30 2012, 03:57 PM

38 posts

conclusion is router supplied by TM is crap. either black or white. they also have the cheek to sell homeplug and wireless range extender at a very inflated price in tmpoint. i bought a tp-link AP in lowyat. first i set it as repeater. guess what? the repeated signal from dir615 is also crap. so i connect the AP to dir615 using ethernet, and then use the AP to broadcast, i got wifi coverage in my entire house
aspire2oo6
post Jan 30 2012, 04:12 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I recommend u try tplink 1043nd or asus rt56u
FCUK89
post Mar 17 2012, 01:36 AM

www.bigvisionsocialmedia.com
955 posts

QUOTE(CloudComputer @ Jan 16 2012, 10:32 PM)
DIR615 is just slightly better, I would suggest you to change to other third party router if you are serious about your network quality  smile.gif
is there any compatible linksys router for the wireless one?
pokdell
post Jan 10 2013, 01:11 AM

I finally succeeded Vlan bridging my dir615 with my old Dir655 <--streamyx era
Thanks to this link
5w4tch
post Jan 12 2013, 01:19 PM

201 posts

Damn it, I've spent hours trying to port forward on DIR -615. Followed every single tutorials, I don't know where it went wrong lol
kyollmy
post Jan 16 2013, 11:54 PM

Some gud tips for unifi router replacement...
http://sawanila.com/v10/2013/01/macamana-n...da-dari-router/
dogbone2k
post Jan 27 2013, 05:33 PM

Hi, i just got my unifi installed last week. The wifi router model provided is L7-N-R2000 and the BTU is Alcatel-Lucent I-240G-P.

I was wondering does anyone manage to use 3rd party wifi router to connect with the .Alcatel-Lucent I-240G-P?

I got some reference form http://klseet.com/index.php/replacement-option-summary But the BTU unit he used is Huawei HG850a.

I've tried to replace the L7-N-R2000 with TP-Link TL-WR841ND but always failed to connect and got the error msg "PAP Authentication failure". I'm pretty sure the PPOE password and username are correct. I called Unifi support line to get my password.

Any solution or any other wifi router recommendation?

If anyone manage to change to 3rd party router successfully, pls share the info, thanks.

0.0430sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:09 PM