charge by wireman....astro point thru plaster celling and wall conseal RM300...good quality wire, if normal wire, rm220
is it expensive....
astro point, thru plaster celling and wall conseal
Jul 13 2011, 03:09 PM, updated 15y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
2,767 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
charge by wireman....astro point thru plaster celling and wall conseal RM300...good quality wire, if normal wire, rm220
is it expensive.... |
Jul 13 2011, 03:24 PM
3,173 posts Joined: May 2007 |
QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 13 2011, 04:09 PM) charge by wireman....astro point thru plaster celling and wall conseal RM300...good quality wire, if normal wire, rm220 Didn't know that there is good quality and normal quality cable for Astro. All I know is that the cable for Astro is different from the normal RTM TVs. Most electrician will charge RM190 - 210 per point.is it expensive.... It will also depends on whether the wireman is going to your house just to install the wire or this is part of his other wiring job at your house. |
Jul 13 2011, 03:46 PM
2,767 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 13 2011, 03:24 PM) Didn't know that there is good quality and normal quality cable for Astro. All I know is that the cable for Astro is different from the normal RTM TVs. Most electrician will charge RM190 - 210 per point. is part of his other wiring job....nowadays wireman cincai quote...for eg. point is between rm60-80...if see addition 1 meter hacking, add another rm10-15...It will also depends on whether the wireman is going to your house just to install the wire or this is part of his other wiring job at your house. total charges for my condo wiring is rm2.3k....forget include 5 lights installation...charge rm10 each...so calculative...ask doing a bit job, charge here and there.. |
Jul 13 2011, 03:56 PM
Part and parcel of renovation work... they will take the opportunity on house owners for additional works.
Why don't you list out all the additional work that you require and nego with him once and for all? If you keep adding later, he will keep charging more. Some wireman are reasonable. They give and take... |
Jul 13 2011, 09:07 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
normal old tv - coax cable type 3c2v, 5c2v cctv coax RG59 CATV/ SaTV coax Rg6 provide up to. 1GHz Frequency bandwidth HDtv coax RG6 provide up to MIN. 3GHz Frequency bandwidth if u go for astro byond, RG6 with MIN. 3GHz Frequency bandwidth is a must & use branded one like belden |
Jul 14 2011, 12:01 AM
77 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 13 2011, 04:46 PM) is part of his other wiring job....nowadays wireman cincai quote...for eg. point is between rm60-80...if see addition 1 meter hacking, add another rm10-15... wa lao!!! Condo wiring already cost RM2.3k, installation of lights still want to charge? this type of contractor doing one time biz only sure no customer will recommend friends to them total charges for my condo wiring is rm2.3k....forget include 5 lights installation...charge rm10 each...so calculative...ask doing a bit job, charge here and there.. |
Jul 14 2011, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(vatiore @ Jul 14 2011, 01:01 AM) wa lao!!! Condo wiring already cost RM2.3k, installation of lights still want to charge? this type of contractor doing one time biz only sure no customer will recommend friends to them This is the reason why lots of sub contractors are more interested in doing renovation works instead. They will try their luck with their cut throat prices and wait for the "water fish" house owners.I have previously received exorbitant prices for wiring works from some of the electrical contractors recommended by forumers. |
Jul 14 2011, 09:15 AM
885 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 13 2011, 03:46 PM) is part of his other wiring job....nowadays wireman cincai quote...for eg. point is between rm60-80...if see addition 1 meter hacking, add another rm10-15... 2.3k sounds a bit throat cutting. Why not find another wireman n ask for new quotation? then only u can compare total charges for my condo wiring is rm2.3k....forget include 5 lights installation...charge rm10 each...so calculative...ask doing a bit job, charge here and there.. |
Jul 14 2011, 11:23 AM
620 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Penang, Malaysia |
Is there really a difference between normal TV aerial cabling and astro satellite dish cabling?
Do we need to change cables when upgrading to astro beyond? I would expect to change the dish and the decoder only |
Jul 14 2011, 11:36 AM
885 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(supercolossal @ Jul 14 2011, 11:23 AM) Is there really a difference between normal TV aerial cabling and astro satellite dish cabling? For me they are same type of RF Coaxial cablesDo we need to change cables when upgrading to astro beyond? I would expect to change the dish and the decoder only |
Jul 14 2011, 11:40 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
Just post the an issue/experience I encountered.
Beware of some wireman (not well verse with TV cabling wireman) using normal looping method to have 2 Astro point. Last time, my house need to pull an Astro point, the wireman adopt normal looping as same normal electricity cable, no signal can be detected, need to dismantle afterwards and recabling. |
Jul 14 2011, 12:18 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I understand from the wireman, it have two method.
01) a extension from your first decoder to 2nd decoder, so you need to put from the first decoder point to the new decoder point. 02) a direct from outside dish to the new decoder point. Option 1, you only need one dish, but you need to make sure the first decoder is always on/standby, the first decoder act as signal booster and send signal to the 2nd unit. Option 2, you need 2 dish, or get a signal splitter. Using signal splitter may not work if extension end to end is too long. Advantage, no need depend on first decoder. I maybe wrong, so need some astro expert to advice. For me, i take option 1 since Asstro is not my priority. Added on July 14, 2011, 12:20 pm QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 13 2011, 09:07 PM) normal old tv - coax cable type 3c2v, 5c2v My office run 3C2V from MDF to 12th floor for E1, no problem. 3C2V rock.cctv coax RG59 CATV/ SaTV coax Rg6 provide up to. 1GHz Frequency bandwidth HDtv coax RG6 provide up to MIN. 3GHz Frequency bandwidth if u go for astro byond, RG6 with MIN. 3GHz Frequency bandwidth is a must & use branded one like belden This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 14 2011, 12:20 PM |
Jul 14 2011, 01:40 PM
Jul 14 2011, 03:23 PM
Jul 14 2011, 08:17 PM
Ya those... i thought both are the standard coax cable right?
Jul 14 2011, 09:07 PM
Jul 15 2011, 07:27 AM
Anybody has a pic to illustrate?
Existing house already has tv (antenna) point and if astro can use the same cabling then I do not need to pull another wire just for astro. |
Jul 15 2011, 10:13 AM
Picture you don't see much difference. The Astro using RG-6. From picture may look similar to many difference Coax cable like RG-59
Jul 15 2011, 11:11 AM
Ok ok... means I would still need to pull another coax just for astro.
Jul 18 2011, 08:54 PM
1,610 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Planning to run astro point too..planning to get LED tv,is it advice to install astro beyond to get the full HD effect? Astro point range from rm190-rm220 based on above info? My contractor does not want to install for me because he claimed astro will use special cable for HD tv and he don't know where the disc will be located. And shall I ask the TV shops to install astro or others electrician? |
| Change to: | 0.0202sec
5 queries
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:19 AM |