Hardware First Llano QuadCore Notebook in Malaysia, Acer 5560G, ASUS A43TA, HP G4-1204AX

AlexLai
post Jul 8 2011, 11:00 PM

5,531 posts

Actually in real world usage, a 2GHz and 3GHz processor would have very little impact on how fast you actually perceive the system being.

Now only waiting for Asus to come out with one of their own. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 8 2011, 11:10 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:06 PM)
haha... but a 500mhz and a 2ghz gt big diff leh.. lolx  tongue.gif

i downclock my speed to 500mhz.. and omg.... vista is a wreck! lolx.... i can see window trails!!!! for a few seconds!!!  tongue.gif  for fun.  brows.gif
if asus comes out wit a8 and a pro card in 3k range... i will  drool.gif  drool.gif
If you go below the system's minimum requirement then you're asking for trouble lor...

Anyways, multi GPU configs are always tricky. Just 1 iffy driver can cripple the whole graphic subsystem.
AlexLai
post Jul 8 2011, 11:16 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:13 PM)
hmmmm... tat multi GPU means having two GPU ka? onboard plus GC? errr  rclxub.gif
Multi GPU here is for its Asynchronous Crossfire. On chip GPU + discrete GPU. If they work together properly, its performance is unbelievable for the price.
AlexLai
post Jul 8 2011, 11:27 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 8 2011, 11:17 PM)
i cant resist resizing the word. tongue.gif
I know someone would do that sooner or later. tongue.gif

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 8 2011, 11:18 PM)
So you mean the processor works with the dedicated gpu to produce APU? whats APU?

rclxub.gif
An APU is short for Accelerated Processing Unit. Basically you have your processor, memory controller and graphics processor on the same chip.
AlexLai
post Jul 8 2011, 11:33 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 8 2011, 11:30 PM)
If have all those on the same chip, what advantage does it offer?

I guess i have to google more about Llano....lol
More power efficiency, smaller chip size, less heat produced basically.
AlexLai
post Jul 9 2011, 12:35 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Beouwulf @ Jul 9 2011, 12:01 PM)
Already at my shop, this model uses the same chasis as Aspire 5750G.
Which probably means the 14" model would looks like a 4750G. wink.gif

Added on July 9, 2011, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ Jul 9 2011, 12:01 PM)
You will need Trinity (with Bulldozer cores) for notebook platform...that would be "The Power of Fusion IV"..coming soon
I can only imagine the power on those things.

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jul 9 2011, 12:04 PM)
u mean eye trinity? my card got support ah!
Nono, Trinity is the next gen AMD CPU. What you have is Eyefinity.

This post has been edited by AlexLai: Jul 9 2011, 12:36 PM
AlexLai
post Jul 9 2011, 12:51 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jul 9 2011, 12:49 PM)
wah!? Quad Core for 1.9k!?
Yeah. Amazingly competitive proposition by AMD isn't it? Pity it's not the A8 APU in use.
AlexLai
post Jul 9 2011, 05:49 PM

5,531 posts

Wait for the Asus version to come out first, I might sell off my A42JV for it. brows.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 9 2011, 07:27 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 9 2011, 06:23 PM)
Just wondering, what is the resale value? I mean, how much are you going to sell away your A42JV?

I see a lot of people actually sell their old laptops (some even have really low specs with G210M and core 2 duo) at RM2000 and below.
Ivy will have the same concept as AMD Llano?or better than Llano?

The resell value for mine is still quite okay. I can get back about RM1700 for it I guess. What a pity this isn't one of the most powerful 14" anymore. laugh.gif

Ivy Bridge still won't be able to beat Llano in terms of graphics I predict. And that isn't SLI, SLI only works with 2 of the same Nvidia GPUs.

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 9 2011, 07:09 PM)
what is "iinm"?

and whats the difference between 22nm and 32nm?

I'm newbie, sorry for that  smile.gif
"iinm" = "if I'm not mistaken" nod.gif

22nm and 32nm are just die sizes. The smaller it is, the more efficient it becomes. Well that's the theory.
AlexLai
post Jul 10 2011, 12:01 AM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(wilsonphua @ Jul 9 2011, 07:56 PM)
Thanks a lot for that. RM1700 is good. Sure people will bump into your Garage Sales thread selling your laptop next time.

Yeah, RM1700 is a good price. I think the price ceiling would be around RM1800-1900 only for my model. If I decide to sell it, I hope you guys come sarpork the thread biggrin.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 10 2011, 12:16 PM

5,531 posts

Asus A43TA

AMD A6-3400M
AMD HD6550
2GB DDR3
500GB HDD

Pricing - RM1849.

http://my.asus.com/Static_WebPage/Product_Guide/

In conclusion, not worth it yet. Can't match the Acer in terms of performance yet.
AlexLai
post Jul 10 2011, 12:23 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 10 2011, 12:21 PM)
K53TA and K73TA appears in Asus website already...
Asus MY slowpoke as ever. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 10 2011, 01:20 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Jul 10 2011, 12:59 PM)
offtopic: juz realized there's a N53DA... laugh.gif

Phenom II x4 + HD6650M... tongue.gif
Now that's an interesting proposition.

QUOTE(nshady @ Jul 10 2011, 01:17 PM)
This is a laptop with new tech(llano) but why only priced at 1.9k?
AMD is aiming to conquer the mid-range market.
AlexLai
post Jul 12 2011, 03:41 PM

5,531 posts

For Llano a6, it's 4 physical cores.

Yeah that's a good idea. I used to do that. laugh.gif

Then I realized I couldn't chase tech. tongue.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 15 2011, 06:26 PM

5,531 posts

Review for HP DV6-6110eg with the A6-3410MX

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-HP-Pav...ok.57360.0.html

And oh dear me, gaming performance is not as good as I hoped it would be.
AlexLai
post Jul 15 2011, 06:39 PM

5,531 posts

Yeah, the most promising hardware isn't safe from badly implemented software.
AlexLai
post Jul 20 2011, 06:54 PM

5,531 posts

Hopefully, it'll be around during PC Expo.
AlexLai
post Jul 21 2011, 12:15 AM

5,531 posts

More like the K43U's color and keyboard actually.
AlexLai
post Jul 28 2011, 06:41 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ Jul 28 2011, 06:12 PM)
Turn out ASUS know the price of A43TA is not competitive compared to Acer :- They drop the price of A43TA to RM1,799 even before release it...So anybody is up for it?
Lai lai, faster become guinea pig. whistling.gif
AlexLai
post Jul 28 2011, 09:50 PM

5,531 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jul 28 2011, 07:06 PM)
6620G2 is equivalent to GT540m?
There is no 6620G2. blink.gif

QUOTE(devour @ Jul 28 2011, 08:25 PM)
a43e is aluminum black and silver, where got brown ?
That's why I say, it's more like K43U.

0.0352sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:42 PM