tesco brand engine oils, anyone dare to use?

coolstore
post Feb 9 2016, 07:14 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Jan 16 2016, 11:50 PM)
Heard majority are recycled. Had a friends fren doing this kilang recycle,  supposing for own usage of lorry fleet with license but with miracle often ends up in spare part shops
saw it myself

at motorcycle workshops along jalan sentul ~ one of kl great hotspot of lots of bikes workshops together

the 'recycled' man comes with modified lorry with a tank alike thing to store used engine oil, use a hose sth to suck the oil into the tank, walau...
coolstore
post Feb 9 2016, 07:17 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(foxfaisal @ Feb 9 2016, 03:20 AM)
Hello everyone. I am new in this forum & this is my 1st posting. I own a Proton Waja (Campro, 2006). Since the warranty has expired, I do the minor service at ordinary workshops, but the major service is still done at Proton Service Centre.

The main reason why I do minor service at ordinary workshop is because of the very long queue taken at big Proton Service Centre. Initially I went to an ordinary workshops empty handed. However that workshop tried to sell imitation white colour oil filter with Proton logo to me while trying to change the engine oil. I told the tauke that all this time I only see the blue colour oil filters at Proton Service Centre. Then the tauke claimed that Proton has 2 colours for genuine oil filters, which are blue and white. I told the tauke that I would like to have some time to think & will come again next time (but I didn't come). Few days later I went to Proton Service Centre to double-check whether the 'so called' genuine white colour proton oil filters really exist or not. The workers at Proton Service Centre replied "mana ada?" while laughing at me.

From that point onwards, I bought genuine oil filters at Proton Parts Centre (or Proton Service Centre) & engine oil at petrol stations for minor service, then ask the worker at a tyre shop nearby my house to replace for me. If the tauke at ordinary workshop can try to cheat on me by selling imitation oil filter, I'm afraid that the engine oil sold at their place might also be imitation. So far I bought engine oil at Shell and BHP petrol station (all are semi-synthetic, 10W-40). In the future, I would also like to try Petron & Caltex engine oil (emi-synthetic, 10W-40).

Since the tyre workshop that i go is situated in city outskirt (Kampung Melayu Subang), the tauke only charges me RM10 for engine oil & oil filter replacement. I will consider to replace myself if the price goes higher, but I need to consider where to disposed the old oil properly (without harming the environment).

There was also 1 time I brought my own genuine oil filter (that I bought from Proton Service Centre), but decided to use the engine oil sold at the ordinary workshop. That workshop sold Liqui Moly engine oil. After replacing the engine oil, I notice that my engine pick-up became slower than usual, plus my engine sounded noisier than usual. I suspect that the Liqui Moly sold at the workshop is a counterfeit product. After that point onwards, I never go to that workshop anymore. My friend told me to try Liqui Moly again from another source to verify about this, but so far I have no idea where to purchase Liqui Moly from trustworthy sources.

Since there are too many items need to be replaced for the major service, I still send my car to be serviced at Proton Service Centre. After the imitation parts incidents (oil filter & engine oil), I don't want to take the risk of purchasing imitation parts for major service.

Beside the engine oil that are sold at petrol stations, I would also like to try the brands (semi-synthetic, 10W-40) that are sold at trustworthy seller, such as Tesco & Eneos. Some of the brands that are sold at Tesco & Eneos are:
1) Mobil
2) Castrol
3) Repsol
4) Elf
5) Total
6) Tesco brand itself
7) Pennzoil
8) Eneos brand itself
9) Bardahl
10) Eni
11) Prince
12) Q8
13) Aurotech
also got mitsubishi oil sold in Aeon, made by eneos if not mistaken.

0.0182sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:01 AM