AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

nyunyu
post Sep 27 2011, 03:57 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

Sifus,

Not sure if this is the right thread to ask but if not do let me know where I can ask.

So, I overclocked my Athlon II X4 635 from the stock 2.9GHz to what it seems like a stable 3.47GHz just by leaving auto voltage and increasing the FSB to 240MHz. I use CM TX3 for the cooler.

My question, is this the best stable overclock for daily use that I can get from my processor? what should I do next? Can I just use my PC normally? or is there something I need to do to make sure the system is truly stable?

This post has been edited by nyunyu: Sep 27 2011, 03:58 AM
nyunyu
post Sep 28 2011, 05:56 AM

His Royal Highness
1,392 posts

QUOTE(dafreak @ Sep 27 2011, 08:55 AM)
1) You shouldnt leave voltage in auto

2) to know whether it is stable or not you need to stress it (i.e. using Prime95)

3) I wouldnt recommend TX3 to anyone at all, to me is at least a hyper212+

4) one system cannot be truly "100%", you may prime all you want and get no errors but crashes may still occur depending on how you are using your PC (still depend how how do you define "stable")

5) Increasing FSB will also increase the ram speed, do watch that

I overclocked mine based on the review from tom's hardware site. They got stable oc with auto voltage.
I tried adjusting voltage but haven't found a stable one yet.
Now I decreasing it a little bit as after I ran prime95, I got bsod. Now everything is good, even can play the witcher 2 now smile.gif
Will keep an eye on this. See if it is stable enough to be used daily.

Anyone here using the same proc and oc care to share? Just for my reference.

0.0169sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:08 AM