AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V25, 990FX, Bulldozer!

makoshark
post Jul 28 2011, 01:01 AM

300 posts

i still thinking to upgrade my procs, if i want to sell it, wht is the suitable price? detail at my siggy
makoshark
post Apr 13 2012, 10:31 PM

300 posts

hi all sifu i have some question, i use asus M4A77TD Pro mobo, its support ram up to 1600(OC)/1800(OC), its mean overclock? can i use 1600 ram on it?
makoshark
post Mar 7 2013, 10:03 PM

300 posts

hi sifu, i plan to upgrade my mobo.which one is good for a lil bit oc

1. ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0

2. Gigabyte 970A-DS3

3. MSI 990FXA-GD65

Asus & Gigabyte 990 chipset is out of my budget

makoshark
post Mar 8 2013, 12:43 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 7 2013, 10:56 PM)
IMO i'd go between the Asus M5A97 or MSI 990FX..
If ur targeting just slight oc and not so high oc mebe going for the most feature pack mobo is the choice, in this case the MSI 990FX-GD65..
Its cpu support and sli support swayed me.. lol biggrin.gif
Whats ur budget anyway?
my budget around RM400 for mobo but i need to sell 1st my current mobo..any idea how much i can sell it?
i also plan to sell my current proc, FX6100 is my next target..its a good proc?

This post has been edited by makoshark: Mar 8 2013, 12:46 AM
makoshark
post Mar 8 2013, 07:42 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Mar 8 2013, 01:05 AM)
Mobo price i'm not sure, i'd guess it gotta be cheap coz its 2 gen behind mobo without warranty.. sweat.gif
FX6100? Are u gaming? If yes i rather have you going for the newer vishera base cpu like FX4300 coz it performs around i3 3220 in gaming..
Plus the vishera core cpu mostly has better oc milage compared to the older zambezi cores of FX4100, 6100 & 8150.. hmmm, just my 2 cents tho hmm.gif
The main thing for this PC is editing work in photoshop, which one u prefer? Zambezi or Vishera..quad core is enough for photoshop?

This post has been edited by makoshark: Mar 8 2013, 07:49 AM
makoshark
post Mar 10 2013, 08:33 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(pspslim007 @ Mar 9 2013, 07:14 PM)
hey , i am new to this overclock thing , i have a FX 4100 which is a default 3.6ghz , then with the guidance from my friend , i manage to overclock it until 4.2ghz , but heres the problem , i cannot manually set the base mhz myself therefore i using an auto setting and i just play with the multiplier , and also i cannot manually set the voltage also , i am using a cheap asus motherboard RM180 , so can teach me on this overclocking thing ? Thanks
Wow FX is very nice, even with cheap mobo can hit over 4ghz..
My current proc not even hit 3.5Ghz..
makoshark
post Mar 17 2013, 10:18 AM

300 posts

Before this I too thinking to get FX4300 due to limited budget but, my current proc now is quad core & FX4300 also quad core (2 logical core actually) so I think better grab FX6300
makoshark
post Mar 18 2013, 08:04 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Economics Crisis @ Mar 17 2013, 10:27 PM)
why dont get the FX8350  biggrin.gif
its a budget issue biggrin.gif
makoshark
post May 31 2018, 02:41 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Oct 9 2016, 01:22 AM)
This thread is dying. No more love for AMD I suppose. I have a Bulldozer FX8320E at 4.4GHz Prime95 2 hours stable. Can't go beyond that on my motherboard with 6+2 power phase can't handle it.

Though, at that clock it's still inferior in gaming compared to my old Sandy Bridge 2500k at 4.0GHz. Game I've tried are more geared towards CPU intensive coded game as such as Source engine games, eg: Dota 2, CS:G0 (30 players full), Starcraft 2,  MMORPG such as TERA, Blade & Soul (in town where a lot of players spawn), Battlefield 4 with 50~60 players.

I don't know why AMD chips are weaker despite having a high clock.
ryzen 2 is here now..from the youtube benchmark in term of gaming ryzen 2 performance is quite close to intel 8th gen..
the dark age of AMD is now over..
makoshark
post Jun 13 2018, 12:44 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(Vigilant @ Jun 1 2018, 04:08 AM)
My time with AMD is long over, now happily using 7700k at 5GHz beats any ryzen in gaming.

BTW you're replying to a 1.5 year old post, shows that how unpopular AMD thread is.
this AMD thread used to be so active long time ago but now cry.gif

0.0444sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:22 PM