Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet

kitman
post Aug 15 2011, 02:22 AM

2,691 posts

thinking of getting the transformer tomorrow - any recommendation where to get one from lowyat and best prices? i am also thinking hard cos seems like the tablet got many issues and qc problem - is this true? or should i stick to ipad2 (have to suffer being an isheep though and irritating itunes). any feedback is mucho gracias smile.gif
kitman
post Aug 15 2011, 11:39 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 15 2011, 11:00 AM)
honestly, i dun see anything as major issues... perhaps you do.

if you do... maybe you can list your concerns here for us to see? that way, you can also decide objectively if its an issue or non issue.

for most of us, its a non-issue and we're happy to have our freedom to do what we want and not be dictated. it's something that we just can't put a value on... smile.gif
ah good to hear that. just that i have seen many posting here on speakers imbalance, keyboard keys not working, keyboard not recognised, battery drain, camera apps not working, frequent crashes etc. have all these been resolved with the latest updates?

truly understand and agree on the "not be dictated" part .......especially freedom from itunes nod.gif

oh ya any recommendation on where to get this? are stocks for the 16gb readily available in lowyat or do i need to go hunting like the ipad2? many thanks.
kitman
post Aug 15 2011, 12:17 PM

2,691 posts

thanks for all the answers guys, the above issue is what i gather when i read the engadget review, but from technobuffalo review it was pretty good. i am taking the plunge to get it later today. just follow the advise and check the unit fully before buying biggrin.gif

kitman
post Aug 15 2011, 12:35 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Aug 15 2011, 12:23 PM)
well, if u are choosing between iPad 2 and this, i would need to ask, what is your main priority? if u just want games, frankly say, Android are still catching up on that, but new games on major game distro already have the same game on both iOS and Android, but still, i would say more higher quality game(in graphics and variants) are in iOS so far. as for functionality, i think iPad 2 wont be beating the TF after all, TF plays more video formats out of the box, and for most default softwares, video player, browser, music player, there are some other, better version of them on the market to improve the usage experience, however, that actually needs more digging and research. If u want something simple out of the box and easy to use, and don mind the lacking of customization and some other features, i guess iPad might be more suited for u , and as for TF, it's more suited for ppl who willing to spend some time to explore, and experiment, starters in android or not, take ur time to learn about it and discover new stuff that brings even better usage experience...

So far i havent heard of keyboard keys not working, maybe u mean key mapping issue as some other forumer mention, that was just caused by the locale setting.  Imbalance speaker is caused by one of the config file, just actually editing the file will solve that issue already, non hardware related
Battery drain is an issue with u dock ur tablet with the keyboard for some people, if u are afraid of that, just unplug it.
as for camera apps not working... i think it was some early version of custom rom and we are discussing it here, no one have any broken camera apps so far... as for frequent crashes, there are 2 reasons now. first, the apps itself. some applications are still rather buggy publish, and easily just crash and force close when u hit some certain steps, nothing we can do about it, apart from waiting for the devs to fix it. Second, Android 3.x, Honeycomb is now for tablet only and it is somewhat different from gingerbread. Most application are build for gingerbread, so we cannot expect them to run perfectly on Honeycomb. Again, nothing we can do apart from waiting for Ice Cream Sandwich update to come.

as for where to get it.. apart from avoid Evernew Mid Valley, i guess the rest of the place is cool(Pyramid Evernew is ok btw, friendly staffs)
well i have the iphone and before that winmob xperia x1. the winmob x1 was a nightmare haha. i was hook on xda and constant rom updates was tiring tongue.gif not to mention backup, restore, crash, not working this and that etc. with the iphone as usual - easy to use but boring even when jailbreak. everything is lock down which is no fun.

since i want to get a tablet, i would like to give android a try and so far i am liking what i see in the transformer with very good expansion. just that some of the qc issues found on forums makes me a little uneasy but i think most of these are resolved by updates and later batches. i don't play much games other than the usual angry bird, doodle etc. which are all available on android. i also like how most stuff are free on the android while you need to pay pay pay on the iphone and also how customisable it is. i have looked at the ipad2 for sometime but i find it to be an iphone with a bigger screen and i dun like to follow the trand haha. will dropby lowyat later. many thanks!
kitman
post Aug 15 2011, 12:55 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Aug 15 2011, 12:38 PM)
same too, i also have iPhone but i felt rather bored with the UI and all even after jailbroken, the reason i gotten this is also same as u, i wanna give android a try, and this tablet is worth its price so far...
btw, i'll try PSX emulator tonight too, just remembered that
Ok off to Low Yat. Thanks for all the tips.
kitman
post Aug 16 2011, 09:50 AM

2,691 posts

got my transformer yesterday and all i can say is am impressed. very glad i didn't go ipad way tongue.gif .......it's a b70 built but still having speaker imbalance (which was on every demo unit i saw hehe) but can be fix by rooting from what i read. anyway i suppose i can live with it. the sound quality through headphones were very good, no bleeding at all from the screen. thanks all for helping me out ......now off to learn more about android.
kitman
post Aug 18 2011, 11:20 AM

2,691 posts

you can DL tons of ahem ebooks ....... tongue.gif or if already have a collection of pdf books etc just transfer them to the transformer and mylibrary will pick it up
kitman
post Aug 20 2011, 01:16 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Aug 19 2011, 07:03 PM)
got the transformer. thankfully am one of the lucky ones to root it even on a b70 model so that i can fix the stupid left speaker softer problem. minor light bleed noticed.

[ A ] Graphics
1. Video Capability.. am saddened that there are no good media player out there for the android honeycomb. mkv and high profile encodes play choppily/terribly whereas on the ipad2 it runs absolutely fine. yes, i've tried all the main players: vplayer, moboplayer, diceplayer & rockplayer. even then, the media players don't support all formats so you're stuck with having to install ALL of them and trying one by one to see which is the best for the particular media file.
2. Image Viewer/Playback.. again saddened by the offering of the asus transformer/tegra2. Well, at least there is a decent image viewer provided by ASUS compared to the other honeycomb releases. nonetheless, it pales in comparison to the speed for loading and manipulating high definition images (large files) compared to the ipad2.

[ B ] Processor
still quite small amount of apps tailored for the android honeycomb with tegra2 processors and already asus is planning to be first to release a tablet that will come out with the new nvidia quad processor (kal-el) soon sometime this year. this gives very little incentive for android developers to produce optimized codes to perform best based on the tegra2 cause seriously, the android honeycomb was just release early this year only.

[ C ] Sound
sound is also quite a big negative for the asus transformer both speaker wise and output jack.

1. firstly the speaker placement is bad being placed at the bottom of the screen whereby it is mostly covered where you spend most of the view time.
2. next, the default max sound volume is abysmally low. if you're in a slightly crowded environment, you won't be able to hear anything from the tablet. even if you do fix/change it via apps, prepare to run yourself into blown speakers as reported by other users.
3. think the speaker output jack will be better? nope, it has the same low max volume that isn't allowed to be changed by the user.
because of all the above, it is quite frustrating to be an android honeycomb with tegra2 owner sad.gif
I'm new with android too. Have not rooted mine. Though the one sided speaker is irritating but I love the openness and free from iTunes and apple.
As with any new system will need time to explore and fine tune. I'm sure you have considered all this before jumping into android. Enjoy .....

This post has been edited by kitman: Aug 20 2011, 01:17 AM
kitman
post Aug 25 2011, 10:12 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(wanbob93 @ Aug 25 2011, 09:12 AM)
my transformer stuck at asus logo for hours. wat should i do. yesterday was fine, suddenly this morning i try to power it on , it stuck at the asus logo for hours.

Solution: i read at xda forum that the only thing to do is wipe data and thats wat i do. damn need to install again
the cause: at xda they say some app will cause this thing. i only dwld the dual battery widget yesterday. is dual battery widget the problem?
nope - i have dual batt app running and so far, no problem at all
kitman
post Sep 9 2011, 12:31 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Sep 9 2011, 10:58 AM)
PC USB charging is very slow cause it only able to pump 500mA where it's charger pumps 2100mA that's 4x faster process. I've tried 1000mA in which it takes about 10 minutes to charge one percent.

Those who suffer light bleed & shy speaker should seek replacement or RMA it. It might not beat iPad2 speaker loudness but you enjoy stereo effect.

Btw Eee pad slider has release, I found this transformer is way better. What's your take?
light bleed and shy speaker when rma do they replace 1 to 1 new or you get a recon replacement or they try to fix your transformer? i have shy speaker but am satisfied with the screen, if send in might end up with more issues biggrin.gif .......hmm hmm.gif
kitman
post Nov 11 2011, 03:14 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Nov 11 2011, 03:08 PM)
if i m not mistaken, the TF101 is already 1 yr old.

update1:
my bad... less than 9mths old. from wikipedia:
to me the tf is still very up to date, duo-core, keyboard, usb port, sd + micro sd slot etc. the tf prime is higher model and not a replacement model.

0.0441sec    1.11    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:07 PM