>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

williamngwl
post Dec 19 2005, 03:38 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Dec 12 2005, 03:50 PM)
all can fit.

But if you buy Kingston Certified Thinkpad RAM ,heard that will be more faster and stable.
who say so?
williamngwl
post Dec 20 2005, 08:25 AM

3,368 posts

i think this topic have to change to lenovo thinkpad mobile computing club
williamngwl
post Dec 27 2005, 10:21 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Dec 27 2005, 09:29 AM)
harrrrr .... means lets say the thinkpad comes wit a XP home then i update it will fake XP professional then the rescue thingy all mati? ....

btw another question .... if i buy a thinkpad then go aussie to study then how do i find out where is the service center in-case the laptop breaks down? i tried to search online and they keep asking me for the serial number which i dont have and i cant find out where is the service center .... pls help out .... and i ask the techdos guy, he asked me to check online .... i also stoned d .... sad.gif
when u install p windows xp pro and u delete the hidden partition(ibm hidden it for the rescue & recovery),then u will not able to recovery using the rescue and recovery lo.unless when u install,u dint delete that partition.in your case,i think u delete liao.so if u wish to get back that,u have to sent to ibm service centre(got charge la)

u mean australia.if is australia i can only provide u the contact number for head office ibm http://www.lenovo.com/contact/au/en/
i think u should enter the type and serial number
williamngwl
post Dec 28 2005, 12:28 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 28 2005, 09:59 AM)
u can know it as it will serectly eaten up sum of ur hdd space silently punya, u can check by windows exploring it.
yup yup thats rite de..........
williamngwl
post Jan 3 2006, 11:30 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Jan 3 2006, 11:09 AM)
erm regarding the thinkpad ... when i purchase the thinkpad ... can i tell them that i dont need the XP so tat can get additonal discounts ? biggrin.gif
tak ada...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
williamngwl
post Jan 6 2006, 01:15 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Jan 6 2006, 12:09 AM)
R52 user here too, seems like lots of ppl using this model huh......cool~
I have been looking for this TARGUS BACKPACK TSB013US for quite some time, does anyone know where can I find it? 

user posted image user posted image
techdos or notebook domain
williamngwl
post Jan 14 2006, 01:22 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jan 14 2006, 01:09 PM)
aren't x31 is old model?
yup i think so!!!!
williamngwl
post Jan 15 2006, 09:37 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jan 15 2006, 09:36 AM)
Yes... IBM never seems to change the squarish Thinkpad design. Always the same look. But if you take one look you know it is an IBM.
is Lenovo ThinkPad not IBM ThinkPad
williamngwl
post Jan 26 2006, 12:15 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Jan 26 2006, 11:51 AM)
I have a question;

I own an IBM R51. I just downloaded their latest drivers and updates because my laptop has been running too slow and lagging.

I did see some changes after all the downloads but there is one BIOS upgrade which I am relatively confused.

I restarted my PC, and they prompt me a table DOS style with a Main Menu printed on the top. I did what was instructed but there was no telling whether the BIOS is being updated or anything. So I exit the Main Menu without updating my BIOS

I am curious is is necessary because it wrote Mandatory but nothing happened when I tried to update it.

Did anyone know what am I talking about and succeeded in doing it which could tell me what to do?

Another question is; do you realised the ventilation fan is very loud?! Or is it because of my laptop only?
my advice is u run the rescue & recovery to format and install back your windows.then it should be help little with the performance!!!

and dont ever update the bios via internet!!!!cause is dangerous!!!

about the fan,u can send back to the service centre if still under warranty!!!
williamngwl
post Jan 26 2006, 12:37 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Jan 26 2006, 12:24 PM)
The performance is up and running smoothly, just that the bios update caught me in confussion.

Can you tell me more of the rescue and recovery features? I know I am suppose to read it up and understand it myself but I really do not know what should I do right. If I understand your reply, rescue and recovery would reformat my entire PC? And do not upgrade BIOS online right? So I should not upgrade my BIOS at all?

OMG. Sending back for warranty is too much of a hassle. I really do not want to go there. So you are telling me that my fan is having a problem. I know the heatsink is there but I do not remember having it running so noisily when I first bought it. In fact it goes on and off quite frequentyly in an hour.

Is it because my laptop is warm thats why it triggers the fan? If I would to put additional RAM, will it be safe then?
resque and recovery is a program that will format your whole c drive!!!u can learn more with the think vantage technologies under

http://www-604.ibm.com/webapp/wcs/stores/s...egoryId=8624514

there got alot of feature that very helpful to end user

the fan will not run non stop.it will only run when the temperature is hot.try to feel it cause i think u got two fan cooler rite?if run noisily then maybe is problem liao la!!!!
williamngwl
post Jan 26 2006, 12:41 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Jan 26 2006, 12:38 PM)
What is part num? And how do I find out my part num?

What did you upgrade and did you upgrade the BIOS too?
super macgyver geng in lenovo thinkpad 1!!!!he selling thinkpad too!!!

btw the part number is under your notebook check here

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...itestyle=lenovo
williamngwl
post Jan 26 2006, 12:46 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(gelap @ Jan 26 2006, 12:45 PM)
greetings, any know is there a way to reset the Supervisor Password in ThinkPad?  I got a T23, the #*$&@ user go play the BIOS and forgot the password.  I checked the ThinkPad manual, the Supervisor password is not resettable, you'd have to change the whole MOBO.  what worst, it locks out the HDD as well.

This is the Supervisor password, not normal password, it's not resettable by removing the CMOS battery.  So pls dont post "have to try remove the CMOS battery?".
have u try calling service centre?
williamngwl
post Jan 26 2006, 12:57 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(gelap @ Jan 26 2006, 12:52 PM)
yeah, they said have to change the whole mobo.  their technicial came over to service other machines also said the same thing.  Found some service to reset ThinkPad password on the internet, but it's all overseas and dunno whether thrustable or not.
u sent to super macgyver,he can help u!!!!!!!
williamngwl
post Feb 2 2006, 10:04 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Jan 27 2006, 04:10 PM)
Hey there, hope you are still helping me

Is my part num confidential? I hope not.

part number is not confidential la!!!is just represent what type of notebook only
williamngwl
post Feb 3 2006, 11:53 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Feb 3 2006, 04:18 AM)
which file? And mine is not from Malaysia. It is the same right?

Just wanna make sure I am doing the right thing..

Another thing I wanna ask. I am going to add more RAM into my notebook and I am using SODIMM PC333 (I think) but I was thinking of getting some other brands, it is safe? Or shall i stick to SODIMM on the safer side?

Currently I am on 256mb. If I add 512mb, it should be ohkie right? I mean, should I stick to 2 256mbs or I can have 1 256mb and 1 512mb?

If I could not have both different sizes, I can change both to  512 right? I mean, its easy to remove the current existing one I have, right?
it depend wat ram u r using and does your motherboard support it?u can use kingston,kingmax or twinmos ram if is compatible with your notebook

remove notebook ram is damm easy
williamngwl
post Feb 4 2006, 04:11 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(kyliemin @ Feb 4 2006, 04:42 AM)
right.. and how do i know if my motherboard could support it?

Sorry... I am so a newbie in this kind.. and my ventilation FAN is killing me!!!!
wat is your notebook spec?
how many ram slot u got?
williamngwl
post Mar 26 2006, 11:15 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Mar 25 2006, 09:37 PM)
yoh.... How to format R series , I found one instruction actually , but its for win xp pro -.- mine is win xp home.
same like how u install windows in your pc.if u delete the hidden partition then u will loss all the access ibm feature
williamngwl
post Jun 14 2006, 06:41 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(minimania @ Jun 14 2006, 02:30 AM)
I see...heheh...opss... Anyway anyone using model T43-2668 NA5?
u can come to our shop and i prepare 1 for u.

william

williamngwl
post Jun 17 2006, 10:28 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(parsona @ Jun 17 2006, 01:06 PM)
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...-EAPSU.html#DLP
williamngwl
post Jun 19 2006, 12:55 PM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Jun 18 2006, 12:46 AM)
both is difference?
is the same,cause futue maybe they have newer version so u still may download from lenovo website

0.0242sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:12 PM