>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion
project-o
Nov 12 2005, 05:33 PM
Anyway colleague just got an R50e Celeron model. I had a test and I find that the build quality and housing quality is good. Also it is a silent performer. Only thing is that I find the LCD kind of dark and blur. Was trying to adjust using those settings in software and the Fn key but still looks a bit dark for me (as compared to my Satellite 2410 screen).
project-o
Nov 22 2005, 09:09 PM
In fact I also have heard other complaints about IBM Service. Last time was under Mesiniaga. Now....not sure who it is under. QUOTE(caspertheghost @ Nov 18 2005, 11:28 AM) have anyone of you encounter any problem with the warranty from IBM malaysia. coz i got one unit of thinkvision lcd. the problem is flickering and so. it takes up to more than a month to be repaired and the worse thing is that after repaired the lcd getting worst. last time still able to be use and able to read the text on the lcd, but not for now. the ibm even scratch the lcd. and one more thing, the engineer come in with 2 hands empty. no documents at all for me to sign. this is scary man. he just give me a name card, saying he is from ibm. thats all nothing else. anyone can just duplicate the name card and come in to my office and said that they are from ibm. is this the kind of service i pay to buy IBM? this is the worst ever service i ever recieve from so many IT comany (HP Compaq and dell)
project-o
Dec 4 2005, 09:48 PM
As long as the RAM is compatible and there is a free slot you can upgrade it yourself by removing the cover. If you can get 2pcs of 512 MB RAM to make it 1GB I think should be enough. Anyway I'm not sure how much difference 1GB makes on a notebook but can feel some speed gain after upgrading desktop to 1GB. Anyway my notebook came with 256MB and I added another 256 to make it 512MB so there is no problem...really. QUOTE(mghong @ Dec 3 2005, 05:52 PM) I listen to the sales girl at techdos..she said..we can't upgrade our ram and hd ourself is it true for IBM notebook ? for me 512 is not enough because i plan to put vmware for demo purpose.. Plan to get a good deal ? but budget around 3-4k only..: any model to recommend ?
project-o
Dec 26 2005, 10:35 PM
As far as I know... it only works if the original OS is still there. If it was reinstalled then the backup utility won't work
project-o
Jan 1 2006, 01:01 AM
Normally those with 3D accelerator run hot and consume more battery unless the battery is upgraded. Anyway mine is also the same. Mine is mobile Geforce 4. QUOTE(kardock @ Dec 20 2005, 04:18 AM) proud owner of IBM ThinkPad R52 (1847-PA1) wooohooo P4 M 1.86 768 DDR2 DVD Multi Burner ATI Mobility X300 just bought it a week ago. satisfied with the performance but quite disappointed with the battery. aiyoo.. tak tahan lama maa. and very hot! everything else is ok. any suggestion for IBM wallpaper download ? cool softwares ? or anything regarding IBM ?
project-o
Jan 3 2006, 09:37 PM
R51e is not a Centrino platform ? Sure ?  Hope someone can confirm. I don't see the Centrino Logo on the Lenovo Newspaper ad but there are many traders saying it is. Thinkpad is on my list. So this is of interest to me QUOTE(lgs @ Jan 3 2006, 04:10 PM) bundle with pc dos all is R51E ,some more not centrino platform..
project-o
Jan 4 2006, 06:47 PM
Thanks for the info LGS...... Looking at the 51e close up I didn't see the Centrino sticker.... So... you are right about it.
project-o
Jan 14 2006, 01:54 PM
May be an old model but the IBM X-Series is a high end model.
project-o
Jan 15 2006, 09:36 AM
Yes... IBM never seems to change the squarish Thinkpad design. Always the same look. But if you take one look you know it is an IBM.