>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

hydelai
post Aug 23 2019, 07:57 AM

281 posts

Hi Guys i just get my T580 with 1 TB hdd option.
Any sifu here can share how to upgrade it to 1TB Nvme ssd?
hydelai
post Aug 23 2019, 08:25 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 23 2019, 08:12 AM)
Inside doesn’t have extra PCIe slot for u to upgrade.
https://www.laptopmain.com/wp-content/uploa...sassembly-3.jpg
https://www.laptopmain.com/lenovo-thinkpad-...pgrade-options/
You need this to adaptor to convert the Sata 2 to NVMe ssd.
But still running in Low speed as msata
SG$ 15.42  20% Off | m.2  nvme ssd Key M Key B SSD to U.2 SFF-8639 Adapter,m2 m key adapter,m.2 nvme to sata (Non-SATA Interface)
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/omsQYjv1p

You can upgrade from normal HDD to Samsung 960 SSD.
I think that’s dead end solution, later on you can’t used it to new laptop such as PCIe NVMe slot.
Hi Thanks for your reply, so that it mean even i buy the nvme ssd the speed will be the same as 2.5 ssd drive which make use of sata3 speed?
hydelai
post Aug 23 2019, 08:28 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 23 2019, 08:27 AM)
Because of the msata speed only support as lower , unlike PCIe slot
yes i understand that, so the current hdd slot is sata3 slot not a nvme + sata3 slot?

0.0673sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:39 AM