The Official Blu-ray Thread v13, Let's sharing BD news & BD purchase. ;)
ronaldkwok
Aug 23 2011, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Aug 23 2011, 08:26 AM) Bro sKy.. i think he will feel numb if he watch 'Faces of Death'.. wtf man.. I'm so convinced already Andrew San..  Ok, back to 'money spending' .. anyone can advice if this is a good buy?  15.97 Gbp Definitely a good buy as far as value for money is concerned. After adding shipping and conversion, you get 5 movies at around RM17 per disc, almost as cheap as what you can get from Amcorp, the 25G variety. And much, much cheaper than the RM40 50G BD at Amcorp so who needs them? I got mine last month for about RM10 more so grab one set before the price moves up. I watched only Gran Torino so far and enjoyed it. BTW, you get 5 individual BDs in one big cardboard case and confirmed region free. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 23 2011, 10:19 AM
ronaldkwok
Aug 23 2011, 11:08 AM
Alamak, bro Jenn77, now you made my "heart move move" on The Exorcist. The price is not bad for 2 BD's, just hope it is really region free. Any more bargains on Amazon UK you saw worth considering before I make my move?
ronaldkwok
Aug 23 2011, 11:33 AM
OK, thanks for the confirmation. Cannot tahan a bargain, now just wait and see whose order arrives first!
This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 23 2011, 11:35 AM
ronaldkwok
Aug 24 2011, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(nazmanson @ Aug 23 2011, 09:07 PM) How about Platoon & Black Swan both GBP8.99 Thanks for the suggestion. Good price but beyond my main criteria for under RM50 per disc including shipping (for BD, DVD not counted) since I am a poor pensioner. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Aug 24 2011, 10:01 AM
ronaldkwok
Sep 12 2011, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 12 2011, 09:15 AM) Bro, I tot Planet of the Apes (UK) edition is not advisable as it lost 30mins worth of fighting scenes from one of the 'extra' disc? Anyway good haul though..  This is what I read somewhere if I am not mistaken. The US disc of the Battle of the Planet of the Apes has both the theatrical and extended version which is longer by about 10 minutes. The UK disc has only the theatrical version but it has deleted scenes of about 45 minutes presumably including those inserted in the extended version so overall it has more. Of course the UK version is without the glossy book but the cost is much cheaper and takes up very little space compared to the US version. So it all depends on what you want and how much you want to pay. Also UK version has slipcase for those interested. I opted for the UK version mainly because of the price. BTW, bro jen77, I received my UK Exorcist only on Sat 10 Sept, a record slow from Amazon UK; maybe because of the Merdeka Raya holiday backlog. When did you receive yours since we ordered around the same time? Just curious. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Sep 12 2011, 06:22 PM
ronaldkwok
Sep 14 2011, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Sep 14 2011, 04:33 PM) Really... I must hv missed out on tat bit of info.. For d price I pd, not much reason to complain.. I doubt I d be veri pissed wif de loss of half hr.. Hvnt opened it yet to confirm its rgn free.. D Don't worry bro, you actually gain a little as I replied in my earlier post - "This is what I read somewhere if I am not mistaken. The US disc of the Battle of the Planet of the Apes has both the theatrical and extended version which is longer by about 10 minutes. The UK disc has only the theatrical version but it has deleted scenes of about 45 minutes presumably including those inserted in the extended version so overall it has more. Of course the UK version is without the glossy book but the cost is much cheaper and takes up very little space compared to the US version. So it all depends on what you want and how much you want to pay. Also UK version has slipcase for those interested. I opted for the UK version mainly because of the price." Also confirm region free.
ronaldkwok
Sep 22 2011, 04:16 PM
Alien Anthology now going for GBP13.99 at amazon uk. Damn good value for 6 BDs so quickly grab if haven't got yet. Confirmed region-free. http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Alien-Anthology-Blu-ray/13623/This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Sep 22 2011, 04:19 PM
ronaldkwok
Sep 23 2011, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(dominus77 @ Sep 23 2011, 05:41 PM) Hello everyone. I'm new to blurays and would like to start collecting. I noticed quite a lot of forumers buying blurays from Amazon.com Could all sifus advise me, if I order blurays through Amazon.com, will I have problems with our local customs ? Thanks Welcome to the Club! To start your BD collection, there is no better buy currently that Alien Anthology from Amazon UK for GBP13.99 for 6 discs. http://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Alien-Anthology-Blu-ray/13623/Oops, it has just gone up to GBP16.99  but still it is a damn good bargain. The UK price includes VAT of 20% which is deducted when you purchase. This works out to be less than RM15 per disc including shipping charges, cheaper than the ahem BD. Usually, good bargains are box sets from Amazon UK as you get multiple discs in one package and pay shipping for only one item. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Sep 23 2011, 09:25 PM
ronaldkwok
Sep 28 2011, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(kayroll @ Sep 28 2011, 11:40 AM) Anyone bought Superman Complete Collection from Amazon UK? Is it still come with slipbox and digipak......  I bought in August and yes it came with slipbox (thin cardborad) and digipak. Seems the same as the one on offer now.
ronaldkwok
Sep 29 2011, 09:44 PM
Just curious to know. How do your Amazon parcels (by normal mail) reach you guys for those using home address? Do Pos Malaysia send direct to the house or they ask you to collect from the distribution centre? I encountered both and it seems not consistent. Maybe it depends on the size of the parcel or whether Mr.Posman is rajin or otherwise, or if people are in the house or not. Please share your experience. Thanks.
This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Sep 29 2011, 09:47 PM
ronaldkwok
Sep 30 2011, 09:38 AM
Thank you bros Low, Andrew and nazmanson for responding to my query on Mr.Postman's mode of delivery.
ronaldkwok
Oct 13 2011, 08:13 AM
Anybody knows if this Stanley Kubrick Collection, Canadian edition is the same as the US edition? Blu-ray.com lists it with 9 discs for the CA while the US has 10 discs. The Canadian Amazon sites says 10 discs so not sure which is correct. Very tempting price indeed! This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Oct 13 2011, 08:14 AM
ronaldkwok
Oct 13 2011, 09:51 AM
Bro jenn77, maybe you can burn your wallet (small hole only) since apart from the Stanley Kubrick collection mentioned in earlier posts on offer at Amazon CA for CND56.99, Amazon UK also offers at GBP24.99 only. Now problem is which one to buy, the CA has 9 films while the UK has only 7 films but is much cheaper based on per disc price. Buyer's dilemma!  Any suggestions?
ronaldkwok
Oct 13 2011, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(SowYau @ Oct 13 2011, 09:59 AM) Which 2 movies UK edition left out? Spartacus and Dr.Strangelove. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Oct 13 2011, 11:11 AM
ronaldkwok
Oct 13 2011, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Oct 13 2011, 10:27 AM) Suggested go for CA edition. Thanks, Andrew but maybe I'll go for UK edition since read lots of complaints on US edition (I think the CA edition the same) where the discs can be easily scratched because of the packaging. Also the UK edition is much cheaper by about RM70 which is a lot for a pensioner! Maybe saves space also since they come in flip style casing. Anyway, hope later can get Spartacus and Dr.Stranglove during cheap, cheap sale. Meanwhile can watch my DVD copies loh.
ronaldkwok
Oct 14 2011, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(nazmanson @ Oct 13 2011, 11:28 PM) Amazon.ca deal of the day today Bourne Trilogy (Slim Packaging) CDN25.49 For those looking for these movies, the cheapset Amazon deal currently is from UK (call Ultimate Bourne Collection) for about RM85 with standard shipping. Amazon CN is about RM99 with slim packaging (same like USA) while the UK is 3 normal standard BD casings in a slip case. From what I gathered from blu-ray.com so don't bet on it! BTW, the Canadian offer will end in about 2 hours. This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Oct 14 2011, 12:56 PM
ronaldkwok
Oct 14 2011, 04:18 PM
Added on October 14, 2011, 4:19 pmQUOTE(johnbluraylover @ Oct 14 2011, 03:46 PM) AMAZON UK BOX SET is very cheap, even not during sales. However lots of buyer dislie the "nipple" on the cover & willing to pay more for a nicer looking packaging. for quality wise, most big studio are using same sorce & qiuality looks & sound a like, only sometimes AMZ UK got more subtitle. True, and it depends on individual buyer's criteria. For me it is always price and the contents. How often does one look at the "nipples" on the cover, is it not the movie that we are going to watch? (Those nipples in the movie are a different matter lah!) Amazon UK is my favourite for boxsets, not only they are usually the cheapest (cost per disc) and often the most space efficient. Not to mention the fastest to reach you most of the time on standard shipping. Anyway, to each his own! This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Oct 14 2011, 04:20 PM
ronaldkwok
Oct 20 2011, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(samuraiiii79 @ Oct 19 2011, 10:53 PM) My LOTR:EE from amazon canada got pushed for a later ship date. From 19th to between 31st-7th. I guess my trick doesn't work! Or they just dont have stocks?! Exactly the same case here for my order.  A very bad start for my first purchase from Amazon Canada, let's hope they will do better in their delivery.
ronaldkwok
Oct 22 2011, 09:09 AM
To enjoy your BD 100% you really must see the PQ and hear the AQ as they both work hand in hand (or eye and ear in this case). For those of you still not having a home theatre (either in a box or in many boxes) you are missing a large part of the fun. You don't really need a 7.1 system but at least a 5.1 system (or 5.0 for those not into the boom boom bang) to feel the ambience and immerse yourself inside the movie. You need not spend a fortune (unless you have one) and can always start with a basic one. Space should also not be an issue, just look at my setup in this thread, post #1303 and #1318. This is definitely not an ideal case but good enough for me to enjoy my BD collection.  Just my view. (BTW, this only applies to those BD with good AQ, some are just like in 2.0 only.) This post has been edited by ronaldkwok: Oct 22 2011, 09:14 AM